We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They'll rip you off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Whangamata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

They don't have a cancellation policy online. They don't send you a cancellation policy when you book. I cancelled two months in advance of their busiest time (ie they will get replacement bookings) and they charged $130 to my credit card while I was asking them to point me to their cancellation policy. Rip off merchants.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank S3875EGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachedAsBro, Owner at Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

I am sorry that you feel this way, our intention is always to be fair, we do this with the understanding that our clients will also understand that we have a business to run and cannot afford to absorb costs associated with cancellations.
This charge has been explained to you, you have been treated fairly and respectfully all through this process and you will find we do in fact have our cancellation policy written clearly with all booking agents and on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 78 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked this place at the last minute, given that it was Labor Day weekend. We thought that given the short notice, we would have to take second best in whatever accommodation was still available in the town. We were wrong. Although it does not look much from the outside, we were charmed by the cutest little first floor apartment, which even had a separate bedroom. Everything was modern, fresh and immaculately clean. It was one of our favourite places to stay during our three week tour of New Zealand. The owner even helpfully recommended eating at the RSA across the street, which was good advice as we had a great meal there.

Room Tip: Even though we were on the end of the building by the main road, traffic noise was not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandC428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachedAsBro, Manager at Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thankyou so much for your wonderful review. we wish you could have stayed longer, it was a pleasure to meet you and we hope we will see you again sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

After Hectic week moving house it was great to relaxe in such comfort, nice and clean, and real close to all shops and Restaurants and close to our Friends Place as we could walk to their house and Parks The weather was cool but fine but the heating in the room was excellent would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms on the South side for quiet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachedAsBro, Owner at Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thanks for the great review, it is always a pleasure to have people come and be happy with the place, we put in alot of effort and this acknowledgement is very satisfying for us.

We hope you have a great summer and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were recommended the SouthPacific by family members who live in Whangamata, who we visited over the weekend for a family reunion. We booked three rooms, the wheelchair unit for my parents, a double for my sister and husband and a single for me.
The units were scrupulously clean, the beds comfortable, the heat pumps very effective, as were the electric blankets. The host couldn't be more helpful attending to our needs. We enjoyed beautiful breakfast of omelettes, attractively presented. We stayed two nights, and were pleasantly surprised that the units were fully serviced on Saturday, which we did not expect.
It was great to have the large lounge facility to meet with extended family.
We had dinner at the RSA straight across the street which has a great Thai restaurant with mains for $18.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All three rooms were great. Wheel chair access room on ground floor, my sister and I in rooms upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenP51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachedAsBro, Owner at Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thankyou so much, we really appreciate the effort you make in placing the reviews and makes our job seem all the more worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We enjoyed a comfortable Friday and Saturday night here. Bed great, all lovely and clean and very private and quiet. We stayed on the street side so the sun first thing which we hadnt seen for a few days in the NZ winter!! Well thought out kitchen, we could have cooked if we had wanted. Had an excellent breakfast both days at the Cafe that has been newly opened inhouse - mainly to accommodate conferences. Scrambled eggs with creme fraiche and bacon and delicious coffee at a smidgen of the cost it would have been in town. Free paper and very friendly and hospitable hosts. Really enjoyed talking to them and they were very helpful and knowledgable. We will definitely be back! Friends were staying in homestays where they had to take their own linen and clean up afterwards..... why would you bother when it was a short break and we had more play/relax time - walk in walk out. Plus, the weather was COLD, and they had no electricity all weekend as there was a problem with the electrics!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachedAsBro, Owner at Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Hi Karen,

A bit delayed in the reply but I remember you and your partner well, what wonderful people you are!!....I certainly remember discussing the waste of time spent organising, cleaning, arranging deposits etc etc when hiring a bach so we quickly figured out who the smart ones were!!! hahaha.
Anyway I sincerely hope we see you again sometime!! It was an absolute pleasure for us as well!!

Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night recently and found the room really clean with modern décor and the service was friendly. After driving for hours it was nice to be somewhere so comfortable. 1 min drive to restaurants etc..We will stay again next time we are passing thru.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachedAsBro, Owner at Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thanks for the review and thanks for coming to stay with us, we very much appreciate it!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We found this motel to be fantastic: Clean and warm, with nice décor.
It was easy to find, and the host Lindsay was very approachable, even lent me a large soft top surf board so that I could join my partner for a surf.
It was lovey to see organic shampoo and soap for us to use.

We only had a coffee at their onsite café; the cooked breakfasts looked fantastic!

Lindsay's love of surfing was a great conversation starter with my partner.

The South Pacific is a lovely place to stay in Whangamata, and i'm sure we'll be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSmithNZ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
0.3 mi away
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata
0.8 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
189 reviews
12.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
192 reviews
14.1 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
152 reviews
18 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre

Address: 249 Port Road, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Whangamata
Price Range: $92 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"2014 CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE WINNERS" Contemporary units superbly located within easy walking distance of town centre and beach. Quiet, clean and comfortable rooms with Air con, SKY TV and FREE wireless internet. On site licensed cafe serving the best coffee and food also a Spa and large BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre Whangamata, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing