We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect B&B”
Review of Pacific View B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pacific View B&B
Ranked #1 of 12 Whangamata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Perfect B&B”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have just returned from NZ and feel compelled to write about the wonderful B&B we discovered in Whangamata on the beautiful Coromandel peninsula. From the moment we were greeted by our hosts, Kathryn and Peter, it was clear we had come across something special. After showing us to our room, which had a wonderful view of the town and ocean beyond, we were invited to join our hosts for pre dinner drinks on the balcony, where we were able not only get to know about the area but also about Kathryn and Peter themselves. The next few days they could not have been more attentive, giving us loads of ideas about how to spend our time - with spades, deck chairs, cooler box etc always to hand for the day ahead. It is hard to put into words what a special place this is - from the little goodies awaiting us in the room each evening to the homemade muesli, jams and cooked breakfast to Peter's taxi service to the town each evening - Kathryn and Peter are the ideal hosts, with the ability to make us feel like friends, not guests! We would recommend the Pacific View to any visitors to the Coromandel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill-Ian029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
194
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed with Kathryn and Peter over Christmas and truly enjoyed it! It was perfect - Kathryn is an amazing cook and her breakfast and Xmas dinner was fabulous! They pay a lot of attention to details - complimentary port wine and brownies in the room, complimentary wine before dinner, land artisan soap in the bathroom. The rooms were spotless and the views absolutely stunning.
And on top of all that, Kathryn and Peter make you feel as if you were staying with old friends. We even got Christmas presents!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErwannJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed at the Pacific View B&B last week, whilst on a four day trip to the beautiful Coromandel Peninsula.
Peter and Kathryn are exceptional hosts, and deserve every ounce of praise that comes their way from these TA reviews.
Our room was the "Coromandel Room" on the ground floor, from which we enjoyed stunning views of the Whangamata harbour entrance. Our room was extremely comfortable and we loved the generous extras like the port and Kathryn's delicious home made baking- cookies and chocolate brownies.
We had a choice of what we would like to eat for breakfast. We were totally spoilt for choice and enjoyed every mouthful of Kathryn's cooked breakfast.
We felt very welcome and at home with Peter and Kathryn and would love to stay with them again one day.
This is an exceptional Bed & Breakfast and is run by exceptional hosts.
Do go and stay there, you'll have a wonderful time. It is indeed " a special place "
Andrew & Val jackson.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacko05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn O, Manager at Pacific View B&B, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you Val and Andrew for such a wonderful complimentary review. To you and all our guests who have written reviews this year we say a BIG THANKS for all the nice things that have been said. We love the B&B life of hosting people from all over the world. It never ceases to amaze us how lovely the people are who choose to stay with us at Pacific View. We feel blessed and honored to have met so many wonderful people many of whom have continued to be good friends.

We look forward to your return visit Val and Andrew and to some good fishing!

Kathryn & Peter
Pacific View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had the upstairs room with a million dollar view! We were so comfortable it was hard to leave both the home and the hosts! Kathryn and Peter gave us so many tips on where to go, what to see and where to eat and never missed a beat as everything was terrific and fun. Our breakfasts were delicious and plentiful with a table set with beautiful linens and family heirloom china. We had a fabulous time and all the tips we received helped make our few days in Whangamata filled with great adventure. A beautiful place to stay with wonderful people who made us feel so much "at home" in their own.

Room Tip: The upstairs room with king size bed and porch has a lovely view! There is an elevator so don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverMomasita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Very pleasant stay here in Novemember, we had a downstairs room which still has a view of the sea. Excellent breakfast but it is their local knowledge and extras like the home made cakes that you come back to , that it made it a memorable visit.

Room Tip: Choose the balcony King room if a full sea view is important to you to make the most of its fabulous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We toured Australia and New Zealand and without doubt Kathryn and Peter are the best hosts, and their breakfasts are the best. Terrific welcome, and so much help on chosing a restaurant for dinner, plus Peter took us and collected us. While we ate, he even compiled a list of places of interest for us on the next stages of our tour! They just could not do any more for their guests...
The house is terrific, with great views - our only regret was that we hadn't booked early enough to have dinner with them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renfrewshire_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Our first night in New Zealand was one that we will always remember because of the great location, extremely comfortable room, delicious homemade cookies and breakfast and warmly welcoming hosts. Kathryn and Peter gave us much helpful info about the local area and our next stop in Rotorua. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
1.6 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
183 reviews
13.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
1.5 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 11 in Whangamata
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
14.9 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 5 in Waihi Beach
256 reviews
17.4 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific View B&B

Property: Pacific View B&B
Address: 125 Pacific View Drive, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Whangamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific View B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific View B&B is a small boutique B&B offering quality accommodation for discerning travellers. Located at the top of the highest hill in Whangamata on the Coromandel Peninsula it has spectacular views out to the Pacific Ocean. Clad in a luxuriant subtropical rainforest and fringed by a necklace of sandy beaches, the Coromandel Peninsula is your PURE New Zealand experience and Pacific View is the perfect base for a 2 or 3 day stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pacific View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific View B&B Whangamata, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing