We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of Pacific View B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pacific View B&B
Ranked #1 of 12 Whangamata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

A one-night stay was not enough. Kathryn and Peter are excellent hosts and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. My room was very comfortable with a balcony and great views down to the sea.
Breakfast was lavish and Peter was very helpful in providing information and tips about special places to see in the Coromandel.
I thoroughly enjoyed staying there and can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter1naples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
192
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

The very best wonderful hospitality best of everything fit for royalty that's what you felt like
Kathryn and Peter were wonderful hosts a pity we were only there for 1 night best accommodation we have ever stayed
Wonderfull view gourmet breakfast you were made to feel very much at home nothing too much trouble you would not find better anywhere else in NZ

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PUMPKIIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We only stayed for one night, but I have to say it was the best accomodation we stayed in out of our 2 week NZ trip. The hosts Kathryn and Peter were very welcoming and thoughtful. The view from our upstairs room was beautiful, as was the room itself. We decided to stay in for a home cooked meal, and were glad we did. Kathryn's cooking was delcious and both hosts were very lively and entertaining dinner companions.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirandaAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Skåne Län, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We're so happy everything else was booked when we were looking for accomodation during easter. Even though we thought it was a little too expensive at first, it turned out to be well worth it. We got the most beautiful breakfast (both musli and your choice of cooked food(!)). The hosts were really friendly, they made you feel like you were a relative visiting. They were also very helpful when we forgot a jacket there. They even called the boat-company (that we were going om a trip with) to let us know we forgot the jacket. They help arrange so we got the jacket without going back. The house a 15 minuten walk from the beach but has great veiws, well worth it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had an extremely comfortable room, with lots of little extra touches together with great views. Kathryn. and Peter were wonderful, knowledgeable hosts. The only downside was stay was too short both with them and in the area. Definitely a place to revisit. Branwen & Terry

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Branwenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

If there was anything at all to complain about it was that our stay was much too short. I am sure that Kathryn and Peter would have rectified that as well if they could have done. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they put themselves out in every way to ensure that our stay was one of the most memorable ones on the whole trip.
The accommodation was superb and top quality with plenty of thought devoted to the personal touches which really makes a difference.
Breakfasts were plentiful and wholesome and I would recommend the evening meal also if you get the chance.

All in all, what all B&Bs should aspire to. I would recommend it to everybody.

Room Tip: We had the best room in the house with magnificent views, so I would definitely recommend this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHANGAMATABANDB, Owner at Pacific View B&B, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Martin & Jill,
Thank you so much for your review and telling us about your experience at Pacific View. Your complaint about your stay being too short is the same complaint all our guests make however you had a very hectic schedule and we understand all our overseas guests wanting to pack in as much as they can. We have had a wonderful summer - our busiest year to date with many wonderful guests like you both who have truly enriched our lives.
Kind regards
Kathryn & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Kathryn & Peter are excellent hosts who help make a stay here a special experience. The views from Pacific View are super, breakfasts were the best we had on our trip and the local knowledge Kathryn & Peter provided proved invaluable. Added to which the evening meal with fellow guests was a very social and enjoyable experience. We will certainly stay here if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libraryfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
1.6 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
182 reviews
13.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
1.5 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 11 in Whangamata
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
14.9 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 5 in Waihi Beach
256 reviews
15.1 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 8 in Tairua
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific View B&B

Property: Pacific View B&B
Address: 125 Pacific View Drive, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Whangamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific View B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific View B&B is a small boutique B&B offering quality accommodation for discerning travellers. Located at the top of the highest hill in Whangamata on the Coromandel Peninsula it has spectacular views out to the Pacific Ocean. Clad in a luxuriant subtropical rainforest and fringed by a necklace of sandy beaches, the Coromandel Peninsula is your PURE New Zealand experience and Pacific View is the perfect base for a 2 or 3 day stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pacific View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific View B&B Whangamata, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing