We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marine Reserved Apartments
Reviewed March 18, 2013

These apartments are fabulous, very modern and clean, with everything you need. Very large glass doors leading out onto a balcony, parking in garage underneath the apartment.
Great location, a 10 min walk from town centre, but 5 mins away from a lovely long beach. Only 2 problems, firstly it did not have aircon (just ok for us in mid Feb but wouldn't be sure abour Dec or Jan), and secondly the mattress was a bit soft and the pillows too firm for us. Having said that we would not look anywhere else if returning to Whangamata.
The owner was also very welcoming and informative.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnandbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 54 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

I'm surprised The Marine Reserved Apartments doesn't have more reviews. We stayed there in February 2013 for 5 nights and would thoroughly recommend it.

The apartments are spacious, well maintained and spotlessly clean. They're a stone's throw from the beach and it's possible to walk into town in about ten minutes along the beach or down the road. There are two styles of apartment and we had one over two levels, double garage (with washer and dryer), bedroom and bathroom on the ground floor and two more bedrooms, bathroom, fully fitted kitchen and lounge on the first floor. Ideal for two couples who want a bit of privacy, or for a family of six. The balcony, with BBQ, gets the morning sun for those who like to breakfast outdoors. There's even an outside shower to get rid of the sand from the beach.

There's an exceptional restaurant, Argo, about 100 metres down the road, a few doors down from a good convenience store. Whangamata has a good range of shops, restaurants and bars as well as the harbour. An ideal base for the Coromandel.

Room Tip: We would recommend the apartments on the beach side. Bigger garages, accommodation over two levels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had apartment # 6, which was really spacious, modern, clean and nicely decorated. There is a garage downstairs and a large balcony upstairs. The kitchen is fully equipped and there is a separate toilet from the shower - handy for a family. The apartments are very quiet and just one block from the beach. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donegal119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have just returned to Auckland after spending 2 nights in an apartment here at Marine Reserved. The accommodation was absolutey fantastic, just spot on for our needs, travelling with an elderly parent who likes to have their own bathroom facilities does not often meet our requirements here in NZ.
We can thoroughly recommend staying here & will return again in a heart beat!!!

Far enough away from the beach front to be interesting, & such a short good level walk into the shops for an early morning coffee.

The apartment located on two levels was spotless & was on the mark for our standard which is high. Ample dishes in the cupboards, a good oven, hot plates, ample hot water.
A very pleasant outlook & a comfortable enjoyable deck to enjoy the early morning sun!

Highly recommend & we will return! By the way very good hosts, helpful & welcoming!

Room Tip: Quiet & so clean, first impressions are the most lasting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Super apartment close to the ocean. Everything you need is there in the apartment. A little out of the town but that didn't matter a few good restaurants around if you don't want to cook. This was our last stop in New Zealand before travelling onto Australia we needed some down time after all the driving couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment that doesn't face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The location is a bit out of town, but very close to the beach. There is a local restaurant nearby, but it is very popular,

The actual apartments are something else again! Ours was a 3 level unit. Garage and laundry on the bottom, beds and bathrooms on the second, kitchen, lounge, dining and balcony on the third. There were only two of us, and we could have had a choice of 6 beds - more than enough room after some of the smaller units we have stayed in. Our apartment was clean, well-furnished, spacious and airy with an abundance of seating choices. We were only there for 2 nights, but would have liked to stay longer. The laundry was put to good use - we dried our clothes on the stand in the garage during the day while we were out.

The staff were extremely helpful (overly so in one instance - we had a bit of trouble with the procedure for the washing machine - the lady actually came and did it for us).

Each unit came with a door opener for the garage - too easy.

We would definitely stay here again (especially now that we know how to pronounce Whangamata).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Marine Reserved apartments and were very impressed. The welcome from the staff was very warm but not over the top. After a quick tour of the apartment and being shown the numerous TV channels, outdoor barbeque and spacious kitchen we were left to ourselves to relax in the clean and welcoming apartment. We had a two bedroom apartment with an integral garage on the ground floor with accomodation upstairs. The weather on one of our days was particularly bad but we were more than content to spend the afternoon in the apartment and venture out to the shops and beach once the weather cleared. We would definitely recommend the Marine Reserved Apartments.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eves154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangamata hotels
1.1 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata
0.5 mi away
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pipinui Motel
Pipinui Motel
#10 of 12 in Whangamata
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surf n Stay Whangamata
Surf n Stay Whangamata
#4 of 12 in Whangamata
27 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blake Court Motel
Blake Court Motel
#4 of 6 in Whangamata
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Reserved Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Reserved Apartments

Address: cnr Ocean Road & Lowe Street, Whangamata 3506, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Whangamata
Price Range: $110 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marine Reserved Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Marine Reserved Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Reserved Apartments Whangamata, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing