We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dinner out”
Review of Archies - CLOSED

Archies
Cuisines: New Zealand
Restaurant details
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“dinner out”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Being the time of the year there is no choice on where to eat.......everything closes about 4 but Archies was open every night and turned on beautiful food. The young Chef is to be congratulated, I hope he continues in this profession.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Dining”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

In such a small place as Pauanui with limited eating establishments, we chose the only restaurant open on a Monday in May. With no knowledge of how many customers there will be on any one night, it must be difficult to judge required food and staff. This night there was two staff and 13 customers. The young chef and his assistant literally ran all night, but what wonderful meals they produced. Amongst the four of us, we had shrimp cocktails, mussels, filet steak and Surf and Turf, which was the same steak with prawns on top. The meals were so delicious that we went back for more the next night - with the same wonderful results. There were also two other couples who returned on the Tuesday because of the quality of the previous night's meal. That young chef has a great future ahead of him.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Undoubtedly the best food in Pauanui !”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

So... I had the fish of the day. A choice of schnapper or gurnard.
My schnapper arrived in a very light, almost tempura, batter with fries and a very fresh salad. A beautiful taste.

My wife's lamb was perfect with couscous and salad.

The atmosphere is basic , the service average but the food is superb and well priced.

Helpful?
2 Thank Beavan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
183 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fresh ingredients, helpful staff”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Have eaten here a few times over the last 12 months or so, the atmosphere is a little bland, but food quality and presentation is very good. A good choice of reasonably priced wines and beers (but no Shiraz or Syrah?? yet??). We've had breakfast too, and that was great. And have purchased goods from the cabinet too, all very good. Will be going again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BMLNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Odd opening times - best to check!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The service was great & the food very acceptable. It was closed on two occasions when we tried to visit which was a pity or we would have been more often.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archies also viewed

Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula
Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula
Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula
Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing