We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort(Pauanui)(Great Value!)
$190
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tairua Shores Motel(Tairua)(Great Value!)
$80
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Water Motel(Tairua)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paku Lodge(Tairua)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata(Whangamata)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southpacific Motel & Conference Centre(Whangamata)(Great Value!)
$110
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blake Court Motel(Whangamata)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
167
68
7
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
68
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandseparate bedroomguest laundrypush bikeshot water beachstayed here years agoshops and cafeswhistle stop tourfree laundrysemi detachedequipped kitchenself cateringlovely placerooms were spotlessswimming poolwithin easy walking distancelocal sights
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 247 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Only stayed two nights but we were really impressed by the helpful, friendly owners for whom nothing was too much trouble. Not sure what to do in the area? Don;t worry you will receive a plethora of ideas. We really enjoyed out time here and would love to go back.
Ken and Marie Jones UK

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Barry offered us a warm welcome on a stopover that was to end in Auckland before heading on to Fiji and then returning home to Scotland. He also helped us plan the route into Auckland to make it as easy as possible for us.

The cabin was comfortable with all the amenities near at hand which made for a
very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisandpat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

The units at the Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge are cabin-like and are adjoining. Our unit had a spacious living room, kitchenette, average size bathroom and modest size bedroom. The bed was small, but adequate and comfortable. The decorations and furniture were tastefully modern. Everything was clean. The television was smallish and the channels were all local. The kitchen had a microwave and a burner top, but no oven – which we found to our dismay, when we bought a takeout pizza and had to fix heat it in the microwave, with less than satisfactory results. The kitchen had a small refrigerator and a supply of dishes and utensils. There was supply of instant coffee and coffee cups. The pressure in the shower was very low, which made taking a shower a lengthy process. The toiletries consisted of a small piece of soap and a small supply of shampoo in plastic envelopes.

The Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge is located in what closely resembles a middle class retirement community, except many of the residents did not appear to be retirement age. There was a small shopping center across the street that contained several restaurants and a modest-sized mini-mart that closes at seven in the evening. While we do not golf, there is a golf course next to the motor lodge. While our hiking days ended long ago, there is nature hiking in the very interesting looking surrounding terrain.

There was no internet access in the room or in any common area. However, the owner very generously let us connect our laptop to his internet connection for free. He also let us use his washer and dryer to do our laundry for three dollars New Zealand (.7 U.S. dollar), including soap. The last hotel we stayed wanted five dollars to wash a pair of socks. So, we were quite pleased with the arrangement at the Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge.

The Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge is a very nice place to stay. The management there is especially friendly and helpful. We do recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoneColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

Spacious and comfortable room. Nice and relaxing setting. Very friendly service and great advice for the local area. Beach great and nearby.

Slightly out of the way - not a problem if that's what you're looking for, but not a huge amount of shops/facilities nearby, but basics covered - supermarket, restaurant, chippy. Tiny swimming pool, not at all as big as the picture on the leaflet makes it look.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexExoticTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, Barry and Robyn during the week we stayed here. They helped us plan our daily activities by sharing their local knowledge and tourism expertise of the Coromandel Peninsula. This area is full of scenic beauty, history and culture. The list of things to do is endless with easy access to beaches, rivers, forest, tennis, golf, fishing, old gold mines, restuarants and natural wonders.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenslandWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews