We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort(Pauanui)(Great Value!)
$156
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tairua Shores Motel(Tairua)(Great Value!)
$97
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Water Motel(Tairua)(Great Value!)
$87
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paku Lodge(Tairua)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakers Motel(Whangamata)(Great Value!)
$123
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata(Whangamata)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre(Whangamata)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blake Court Motel(Whangamata)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
167
68
7
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
68
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandseparate bedroomguest laundrypush bikeshot water beachstayed here years agoshops and cafeswhistle stop tourfree laundrysemi detachedequipped kitchenself cateringlovely placerooms were spotlessswimming poolwithin easy walking distancelocal sights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 247 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The beautiful pine lodge is very clean with modern fittings and is very comfortable. Kitchen is equipped for cooking (pots, plates, cutleries). Our host, Barry, is friendly and suggested places for us to visit as well as guided us on the best routes to take to reach our destination.
The lodge is conveniently located across the street from a mini supermarket and a few restaurants. It is also about 5 minutes walk from the Pacific Ocean.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pez_zeezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Myself and my 14 year old daughter stayed here for 2 nights in the April School Holidays. The unit was immaculately clean and the beds very comfortable.
For our trip to Hot Water Beach on the second day, Barry even sent us off with a Spade to dig with and 2 x extra Towels!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed at the lodge in February as part of our trip which was organised by a tour company and found it very relaxing. The accommodation was very comfortable and the views spectacular. Our host was very helpful. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast at the cafe in the shopping centre. We just wish we could have spent longer than one night there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Clean, well presented chalet with everything necessary for a relaxed and comfortable stay. The bed was extremely comfy. Very handy for the local shops and restaurants. Nice stroll down the hill to admire the wonderful waterfront homes or slightly longer to the great beach. There is a small swimming pool but I did not try it out as I swam in the ocean. I particularly enjoyed the warm friendly welcome and the helpful advice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJock_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

When we researched this stop we came across a travel magazine that described it as a hotel. Once you reach the town it can be readily seen that it wouldn't be big enought to support an accommodation type hotel. The accommodation can be best described as the type of cabins found in caravan parks with a dividing wall in each one. The cabins themselves are quite sufficient with a lounge/kitchen area, roomy bathroom, bedroom and front verandah. Our request at the time of booking was for a quite location without being disturbed by external noises or neighbours. The cabin we had was in a group of about 10 or more, with the front verandah about 2 metres from the edge of the tennis court. On the other side of the tennis court was a private golf course. I was concerned when on the Saturday a wedding party arrived and almost filled the remainder of the cabins. Fortunately upon their midnight return they weren't noisy but the potential was there all the same. There wasn't any outlook as the front has a bushy hedge between it and the tennis court. I don't know how hot they get in the summer but there wasn't any air conditioning that would cool things down. The town itself is very affluent with only about 250 houses occupied year round and the remainder 'holiday homes' but it isn't particulary well located to any attractions in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanMcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauanuiRobynG, Owner at Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2012

Hello Dean
I've been waiting for your comments.
I agree we are not a hotel, neither do we promote ourselves as one.
You booked directly online through our website and from the it you would have known exactly what you booked before you arrived here. You would also have seen an overview of our entire property.before you left home.
You did request s quiet room and that is what you got. The wedding group you were concerned about were nine in number and were all elderly, as you claim you are. The likelihood of noise at midnight was very slim. There was also potential for rain on your roof, but that didn't happen either!
The climate here is not as hot as you have at home, so there is little need for airconditioning. The windows do open and there is a substatial pedestal fan kept in the wardrobe. You may have noticed it there.
If there was no outlook, how did you notice the tennis court and the golf course behind it?
There is no one accommodation property that is close to all the attractions on the Coromandel Peninsula, but on a good day out most of our guests find plenty to do. You were back here by early afternoon.
However, I hope waiting for all the potential misfortunes to occur did not distract from your enjoyment of your holiday in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews