We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of TheLimeRoom - CLOSED

TheLimeRoom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, New Zealand, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Lime Room is a friendly restaurant & bar located just outside of beautiful Pauanui on the Coromandel Peninsula. Previously we could be found in the Pauanui Town Centre but now we have moved to the beautiful Lakes Resort Pauanui. We have an extensive menu which changes seasonally and caters to all tastes including allergy friendly foods. We have a wide array of beers, wines, and spirits. We are now able to offer a location for corporate functions & private events (i.e. weddings). Join us on your next night out in Pauanui, we are sure you won't be disappointed.
Nsw
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were holidaying in Pauanui for 10 days and found this fabulous little restaurant just 2 nights before we were due to leave - we wish we had discovered it earlier!! The food was amazing and the service was fantastic. Really nice couple who own and operate the restaurant, and we had a lovely time chatting with them at the end of the evening. Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrschalky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    28
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
227 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Loved it !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We visited the Lime Room twice in one week. First time we were a bit dubious as Pauanui is a very small town so we weren't expecting much. We ordered the chicken stack, the steak stack and seafood platter. From memory they were all about $22 each. The seafood was excellent and had snapper, calamari and prawns with chips and salad. Both the chicken stack and steak stack were perfectly cooked and deliciously different to the usual chicken and steak dishes, they each had an excellent complimentary sauce too.

For drinks we had Kingfisher beer - on tap ($6.50) and 2 cruisers being ($5 each). When we ordered we were told that it could take up to an hour, but we were comfortable and in no hurry. Our meals arrived after about 20 minutes so we were pleasantly surprised. The owner said that they warn people it could take awhile so they aren't disappointed if there is a delay.

We finished with excellent coffee.

The second visit we brought some friends along and we all ordered the steak stack, cooked in various ways. The quality of the steak is first class and they were all perfectly cooked, again our meals arrived after about 20 minutes and it was a busy night, being Valentines Day.

We live in Sydney and wish the Lime Room was a local for us, I'm sure that the management will go from strength to strength with their top quality and innovative menu, fantastic and keep up the good work!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank letsgosydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“We were impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Finding a place to eat that has a couple of GF options is one thing, but finding somewhere that has standard GF options (and other allergies) was a delight. Having tasted average food and also food that is made with complexity, skill and passion, we found this food to be up there in terms of quality and taste. The starter chicken nibbles were a taste explosion in our mouths and plenty for the both of us - superb. Steak and chicken cooked to perfection. The drinks were made spot on and the iced coffees the following day were sublime on a hot summer's day. You can feel the genuine "niceness" of the people who work here, going out of their way to make you feel important and looked after. Having read some of their Facebook notices to customers, you can tell they have a great work ethic but also value their families and how can you not admire that. It makes one want to be part of a place like that. We noticed how well the staff were well looked after too and that says something about the management - management who got in there and helped serve, clear tables and take orders when it was busy. And busy they were! Various seating arrangements to suit couples, groups, families etc. We were never rushed but someone would intuitively arrive to clear and take our next order. It truly made our holiday memorable. Thanks guys, we will tell our friends to come see you if ever in your neck of the woods.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

The menu was vast, so big that we had to go back twice as we couldn't decide!!
The service was relaxed & friendly.
The food itself was really delicious & good value for money. You would never leave there hungry!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Some of the best food in the country! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

I have been to this restaurant a few times now and I have to say that it has some of the best food I have tasted in NZ!! Great owners who happen to be the chefs and its because of their hard work and lack of holidays that this restaurant is just excellent. Any wait is definitely well worth it!

Awesome food,
Awesome service,
Awesome restaurant! :D

Helpful?
Thank Zane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TheLimeRoom also viewed

Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula
Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula
Tairua, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing