We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing eggs benedict!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TheLimeRoom - CLOSED

TheLimeRoom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, New Zealand, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Lime Room is a friendly restaurant & bar located just outside of beautiful Pauanui on the Coromandel Peninsula. Previously we could be found in the Pauanui Town Centre but now we have moved to the beautiful Lakes Resort Pauanui. We have an extensive menu which changes seasonally and caters to all tastes including allergy friendly foods. We have a wide array of beers, wines, and spirits. We are now able to offer a location for corporate functions & private events (i.e. weddings). Join us on your next night out in Pauanui, we are sure you won't be disappointed.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing eggs benedict!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Arrived, and were warmly greeted by the polite, and well versed staff.

Recieved excelent HOT coffee, exactly to our liking.

Had the VERY best Eggs benedict we have both ever eaten.

The most devine sauce, perfectly cooked eggs, if I was allowed too, I would have licked my plate!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcs1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    28
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lime Green on St Patrick's Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We walked into the Lime Room on St. Patrick's Day and wondered if the owners were Irish. When the wife of the owner, and the house chef came out in a green lassie's outfit we knew.
We skipped the Guiness, but the chicken and scallop kebabs were excellent. They were placed on a salad whose dressing was lime and coriander, a unique flavour that was wonderful.
We drank the wine, encouraged them to play the Irish music, and were offered an after dinner cocktail that was green and free.
A lovely couple, friendly, serving above average pub food in a relaxed atmosphere that included sports TV.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jdarcyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Terrible choice for my Birthday”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We chose the Lime Room for my birthday on 2 March 2013. This turned out to be a terrible mistake. We arrived to a relatively busy restaurant so thought the food must be of reasonable quality. We should have realised this was not the case when the owner advised us that "there are no refunds if you don't like the food" he went on to explain that "a lot of people return the pizzas cos they don't like them". We proceeded with our order as very little else was open in Pauanui that evening. The result was the worst pizza I have ever eaten. Oily, flavourless ingredients on a burnt base (we ordered 5 pizzas and they were all equally bad). Unfortunately it seems the owner hasn't taken those previous complaints onboard.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NZFoodGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauanui, New Zealand
1 review
“Love the place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

In the area for a weeks vacation and just been for our second visit as it was so good first time.

Food and drink, service and atmosphere are great and we will certainly return when next in the area.
The pizza, which has been mentioned in another post, was superb and probably one of the best we have had. We travel extensively throughout the world and have eaten pizza in lots of lovely places.
Internet access is a big plus.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLimeRoom, Owner at TheLimeRoom, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your fab review. It was a pleasure serving you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sub standard food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We ate at this restaurant this weekend on our first visit to Pauanui encouraged by the good reviews we had read. The service was excellent in that the serving personnel were most friendly and accommodating. However, serving a drink in a glass cracked from top to bottom is not a good look.
Food was served in good time, with a smile, and was reasonably priced. We had prawns and fettucine and a meat injection pizza. The pizza earns the title of the worst pizza I have ever eaten. Not only was the base burnt black around the edge the thick combination of sauces and pineapple rendered the meat impossible to taste. The fettucine similarly suffered from a citrus sauce which was inappropriate. We did notice another table with a pizza left almost untouched.
There is not much choice of eateries in Pauanui so maybe this is why the takeaway bar next door was so extremely popular. I do not know whether the cook is in a 'sweet taste' phase or an experimental phase but our limited experience would suggest it is not working.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JackAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLimeRoom, Owner at TheLimeRoom, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
It is with deep regret to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We work hard to ensure an all round pleasant experience and reading your review comes as somewhat of a shock. You mention the cracked glass; we would never intentionally serve a drink in a cracked glass. If you recall I did replace your drink immediately and at our cost.
Our pizzas are cooked in a traditional Italian stone base pizza oven that runs at 350-400 degrees. It is perfectly normal for the cheese on the edge to be burnt a little and I know for a fact that it was not the entire base. In fact no pizzas were returned, one customer requested to take the remaining half pizza home for the next day.
The Prawns & Asparagus fettuccine is advertised on our menu with a citrus sauce so it would be inappropriate to not include it. We actually have many requests to purchase the sauce individually.

Again we are sorry we did not live up to your expectations. We hope that you visit us again and try our other delicious dishes, and please note that if you do not like any ingredients we are happy to accommodate changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TheLimeRoom also viewed

Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula
Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula
Tairua, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula
Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing