We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (947)
Filter reviews
947 results
Traveler rating
400
317
141
58
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
400
317
141
58
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews puka park resort golf cart main building steep hill underfloor heating miha restaurant restaurant staff native bush breakfast and dinner tree house surrounded by trees wine list new zealand coromandel peninsula spa pool beautiful beach stayed longer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 947 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2019

From the time we first arrived until we departed 3 days later, we found ALL the staff at Puke Park both friendly and helpful. Whilst we did have an issue with the lack of handrails and access to reception lacking disabled access, we have been assured that this will be looked into. Our unit was comfortable and well maintained during our stay, the food was good and ample quantities. Overall, the staff made the stay special!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gordon3638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2019

Dear Gordon3638,

Thank you so much for your review and in particular the great team we have which is music to my ears. We plan to provide further handrails around the property and look at how we provide improved disabled access.

With best wishes
Andrew
General Manager
Email:gm@pukapark.co.nz Mobile: 027 459 8000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019

This place is amazing!.All apartments are nestled in the natural bushland .. The beds were super comfortable and the bathrooms were fantastic.Apartment no 50 which is a 3 bedroom apartment was brilliant.It has a large outdoor and indoor entertaining area, a full kitchen,two bathrooms and laundry facilities.The upstairs master bedroom has a bath in the room and a shared ensuite with a double shower. The resort is built on the side of a hill and therefore a bit steep but there is a golf buggy service that will pick you up and drop you off whenever you need.The staff here are wonderful.Special thanks to Carlos,Adam.Victoria,Chanelle,Ruby and Vera who constantly delivered great service with a smile.Breakfast everyday was delicious.There is a good choice of a la carte breakfast options to cover most tastes and a basic but good continental breakfast option .The evening meals were good but I feel they were missing the WOW factor.There is a wonderful herb garden but I did not taste any of these in the food that I consumed.We were there for 10 days and the fish of the day did not change and sadly was not a great dish.For a resort of this class the food was lacking imagination.There were no asian fusion options ,curries and a lack of pasta dishes.I am not a food critic but having stayed in several Accor Hotels and resorts I feel that I am somewhat qualified.We loved our stay but the menu definitely needs an overhaul.Overall though a wonderful place,amazing staff and good food.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank H4788SXpetero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2019

Dear H4788SXpetero,

We really appreciate your recent detailed review. Thank you.

The Puka Suite that you enjoyed is for the exclusive use of the Accor Vacation Club members. This is a membership that is highly recommending. With properties in NZ, Australia and Indonesia whereby members can enjoy wonderful holiday destinations for a fraction of the price of owing a holiday home with the flexibility to move to different and superb locations.

Since your review we have changed the menu and have had great feedback. Included in this is the popular Coromandel Seafood Platter for one or two along with a curry of the day.

Thanks once again for your feedback.

With best wishes
Andrew
General Manager
Email:gm@pukapark.co.nz Mobile: 027 459 8000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2019 via mobile

Lovely retreat if you don’t mind a steep climb to your room. Buggies are available if you do. Lovely hotel but the beds are terrible. Breakfast and dinner were nice but the service a little slow. There was an event on the one evening we went out. Would have loved to stay if we knew about it. All the staff had told us was that the menu was changing that evening. Who knew it was a special occasion with the proceeds being donated to charity. Would recommend but they have room to improve.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2019

Dear Mark W,

Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review. I am concerned that you found the beds terrible, we get so much positive feedback about how comfortable our beds are so if you could email me you room number. As always I encourage guests at the time if they are unhappy to let us know as the time of their stay so that we can fix any issues. We did let all our guests know about our charity dinner whereby we launched our new winter menu with 100% of the food and drinks revenue going to the Christchurch tragedy. we raised $3,349.

Thanks once again for your feedback.

With best wishes
Andrew
General Manager
Email:gm@pukapark.co.nz Mobile: 027 459 8000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2019

We enjoyed three nights stay at Puka Park. We live on the other side of the harbour from Pauanui but we could have been a million miles from home! Lovely setting, great hosts, and loved the Accor Plus benefits. Thanks team for your friendliness and helpfulness! I'm sure we'll be back!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Wander46953755281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2019

Dear Wander46953755281,

So pleasing to read a local staying with us. Do hope you enjoyed the new dinner menu which is proving very popular indeed.

Do please return.

With best wishes
Andrew
General Manager
Email:gm@pukapark.co.nz Mobile: 027 459 8000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019

My wife and I had a great time at Puka Park for a long overdue relaxing weekend away. The quiet bush setting, very comfortable rooms, great facilities, cozy lounge and restaurant fireplaces, tasty food and excellent service from the staff (especially Adam) all added to a very memorable trip. We'll definitely be back!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Coastal39194586357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2019

Dear Coastal39194586357,

Such a wonderful review, many thanks indeed. We are a great property to get away from the rat race and relax. We have such great value packages at the moment.

With best wishes
Andrew
General Manager
Email:gm@pukapark.co.nz Mobile: 027 459 8000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews