We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2009

This was the first time we had stayed in New Zealand and it was most relaxing. We were a bit disturbed about a previous review, but I can only comment on our experience. The place was great and the staff were some of the most attentive that we have come across anywhere in the world. We arrived early in the morning after a long flight from LA and they made our room up so that we could move in straight away. The food was also very very good, so perhaps they had changed the chef since the review that had worried us.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinandJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    252
    122
    52
    28
See reviews for
106
492
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2009

This hotel is different to anywhere we have stayed before. All rooms are treehouse chalets spread around in the grounds of the hotel ( no rooms in main building). Our chalet was lovely, very comfortable and clean. Meals are served in the main building and if your chalet is a distance away you will be picked up in a mini bus to save walking. The resort is very hilly and you cannot take your car to your chalet.
Food was beautiful and good value. There is a swimming pool and hot tub, gym, tennis court and bicycles for guests use ( no charge).
The village of Pauanui is very quiet most of the time as most homes are holiday homes for Aucklanders and there are no restaurants or shops in the village.
Sightseeing trips are available from a short drive away.
Go here if you are looking for tranquility.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2009

We booked for 4 nights since we saw the resort at their homepage. It looked really nice with a lot of facitilities that we liked as spa, gym etc.
We upgraded us to a Bushchalet it the room was all dark even if it was clear sunshine, it smellde so badly like it was mould in the walls!!!! There was a lot of spindelnet on the balcony and totally the rooms need to be refurnished to have 4 stars.!!!
The pool was all dirty with a lot of sand in it, the spa and gym was a joke...there was just one room also in a cellar dark and ugly.

We have travelled a lot both in Europe and now for 2 month in Australia and New Zealand and we have never been so disappointed before! The hotel has not a 4 star standard!!!
We told rhe manager that we couldn´t stay cause of the mould smell and also cause of the standard was not as expected. We had driven for 45 hours to get there so we were not happy to need to find another hotel.
Well the manager said that we had to pay for the first night and if we stayed one night he would compensete with a bottle of wine. We regretted that and took our things and found anothere place in Pauinini for less price and higher standard! It was even worth to pay for not staying one single night at Puka resort!!!!!

Don´t go theres if you want a clean and updated hotel!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliwenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

We have stayed at this property twice in the last 2 years and had nothing but excellent service. The location is a great place to unwind, relax, slow down and just enjoy the peace and tranquility Puka Park offers.
The Gym, Tennis, Pool & Spa as well as Sauna, Bikes and Spa Treatments can be an added bonus. Although we havent used all the facilities, just having them there is great.
We have dined in the restaurant both stays and have enjoyed the meals both times. Yes it can take a little time sometimes, but when you are relaxing and not in a hurry, I dont think this is a problem.
Staff are extremely friendly and don't mind chatting with you and socializing.
They also offer a Happy Hour later afternoon a good way to unwind.
We will definitely be unwinding at Puka Park again in the near future.
With ongoing improvements since our previous stay, we see Puka Park improving with age.
Keep up the good work and hope to see you again soon.

  • Liked — Location, Room, Bush
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank muzzanz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2008

This was the first stop on month long NZ tour and I have to say, it put me well into the holiday spirit. The room was fantastic (Treehut chalet) very clean and bright, the reception staff very helpful booking and investigating possible activities and the food was wonderful (steak was done to perfection).
The only downside I could find was the steep hills and steps to the room, although this gives wonderful privacy it can wear you out!

  • Liked — The rooms, views and helpful staff
  • Disliked — the steep hills
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Loves-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

We have stayed in many quality hotels through out the world and what a disapointment this place was.
The smallest plasma screen tv we have ever seen.
Thousands of ants crawling all over the toilet seat and vanity the next morning.
My husand got food poisoning from the salmon at dinner.
Our hire car was side swiped during the night due to the fact there was a fashion show on and the parking was very limited.
The service at dinner was so slow.We waited an hour for a main.
One person at check out the next morning which took forever.
What a waste of money this experiece was.

  • Liked — nice location
  • Disliked — most things
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traveller_3015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2008

This is a very quiet and peaceful place. The chalet was lovely and warm with top quality fittings and a wonderful king size bed. It was perfect for a quiet getaway. Pauanui has a few shops and cafe and a great beach. The hotel restaurant was excellent, the staff were very good and I think the breakfasts were the best I've had anywhere. Highly recommended for a long weekend of quiet luxury and good food.

  • Liked — Private and so comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbied4763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
16.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
11.7 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
16.6 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Property: Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing