We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My other half treated me to a night here for my birthday, my only disappointment was that we were not staying longer! We booked a queen room, which was a little chalet, which from the outside didn't seem very big, however inside is very spacious! The room had a small kitchenette which had everything you would need for a few nights, a spacious bathroom, living area and deck. The kitchen, bathroom and room was decorated to a very high standard with huge TV, sound system with docking station and a modern fire place.

The swimming pool, spa pool and sauna were lovely, very clean! We ate in the restaurant at night which again was lovely, my only grumble as a vegetarian is that there wasn't much choice, however the risotto was yummy so got over it quickly!

This hotel was at the top end of our budget but it was well worth it, will definitely be back again in the near future. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 38 which was fairly close to reception/restaurant, not too much of a walk if your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Sam D,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We are so pleased you enjoyed your short stay & appreciated the property's facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 769 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Overpriced and deep fried crap. The only mitigating factor is the staff are very attentive and friendly. The menu is poor, expensive and the ingredients cheap.

The standard is slightly below what I would expect of an average pub.

This place used to be good.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We needed to use some points so snuck away to visit Puka Park again. Much work has been happening in the refurb of the accommodation and we were very happy. Recently had both knees replaced and still managed to get up and down the hill, not very fast I admit. Bed was a pull down from the wall type but it was very comfortable, if a little close to the floor. Some part of the deck was in the sun the whole day which was just lovely. Staff very professional but willing to join in with a joke and a laugh. Finish one meal and start to think about what you will eat next. Not because we were still hungry but because we loved the meals. The pool and spa was enjoyed every day - once we had removed the wasps in the water. Know that wasps are a big problem everywhere this year! Can't wait till we get back to Puka again. Oh! That will only be a few weeks away. Yeah!

Room Tip: Yes the site is on a hill but the staff run people around in the little white buggy. Ask if you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear papgal,
We are pleased you enjoyed the refurbished rooms at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay & particularly the cuisine offered. We look forward to welcoming you back in a few weeks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We saw an incredibly cheap rate for this lovely resort on Wotif and stayed there for 3 nights in a Tawa chalet which had a king bed, plenty of space and an ultra modern refurbished bathroom.. The tree top chalets are private, secluded and have a lovely deck for relaxing with a wine late in the day. It's a steep walk up to the units and no adjacent carparks, so elderly or infirm people may have problems with that.
The normal room rates are quite expensive so we were surprised there were no bedside lights, nor adjacent switch for turning off the ceiling light. However a phone call to reception resulted in a helpful staff member finding a bedside light for us.
The restaurant food was great, and our Advantage plus card meant we got good value. Dinner prices without this discount would be expensive however. The breakfast buffet and hot dishes were great and sitting outside on the large restaurant deck in the morning sun having breakfast was a very pleasant experience.. We would particularly recommend the lunch menu. This was inexpensive, high quality food and the daytime views at lunchtime are lovely.

The Pauanui area is special. Great beach and coastal scenery and nice walks. You need a car here and we would particularly recommend a day trip north to Hahei, Hot water beach, Cathedral cove, Whitianga ( plenty of shops , cafes and a supermarket here), and on to Coromandel town. Come back on the unsealed route 390 and stop at the waterfall and Kauri forest glen.This is a 300km circuit and on a nice day the scenery is spectacular.

Room Tip: If walking up a steep hill is a problem for you, ask for a lower level chalet. Check there are beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CliveP-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear CliveP-T,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review for Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We are so pleased you enjoyed the privacy of the tree top chalet, together with the deck late in the day. It's always special to enjoy breakfast on the large restaurant deck in the morning sun as well. We hope you can return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

When we booked this hotel, I was not sure what to expect! It was secluded which was nice and we hardly saw anyone. When we checked in we were pleasantly surprised by how nice the room was. It was more of a cabin than a hotel room. It had a small kitchenette and wonderful bathroom. The bed was a Murphy bed and was more comfortable then I expected. I slept very well here despite the lack of air conditioning. That is probably the only major thing I did not like. Also, we took the suggestions of the staff and fell into some attractions we were not planning on seeing. Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear hellison,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your secluded luxury at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. It's always nice to be pleasantly surprised & glad you got to experience the local attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of a tour group. The hotel is quite isolated and a good half hour walk to a fish and chip restaurant in the nearby village. A great welcome at reception and once checked in we were shown to our chalet, one of the closer ones to the reception block. The chalet was set on stilts looking out into the tree canopy with all its indigenous plants conserved as they had been growing for years. We just stood there looking out of the French doors saying "Wow".
The room was large with a comfortable lounge area and 2 large beds. There was a ceiling fan for cooling. We found nowhere to put the suitcases on other than the floor and there was only a reading lamp for one bed.
The bathroom contained a bath and washbasin and had glass walled shower and toilet cubicles at one side. The wash basin was one of those shallow boutique affairs that was too shallow for a proper wash.
WE had looked at the restaurant and bar menus before we arrived. The restaurant served the usual Grande Mercure "foodie" menu - too complicated and expensive for us. The bar served a limited and unappealing number of items that were really nibbles rather than snacks. Fortunately we had eaten a good lunch and just had coffee and biscuits in the room.
The next morning, having been woken early by rain pounding on the tin roof of the chalet, we put on our raincoats for breakfast in the main building. The breakfast buffet was very good.
On departure the reception staff came onto the coach to say farewell and thanks for our visit.
This hotel was truly an experience we will remember for a long time.

Room Tip: Rooms are spread out on the site and mostly uphill so unless you want to make use of their free golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tynes1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Tynes1der,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review for Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We are so pleased you found the property "unique", and enjoyed the chalet & the tree canopy surrounds. We'd love to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
16.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
517 reviews
16.9 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
88 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
189 reviews
17.3 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
68 reviews
17.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range: $148 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing