We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Visited for lunch after a poor experience last year. This time the food was delicious, BUT where we sat there were dead flies on the window ledge the seats were badly stained and the table was not clean with debris under the mats and the table had not been wiped down. Basic cleanliness would be a good start. Not a good look for a hotel in this beautiful location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Patricia B,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your visit to Miha Restaurant. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your lunch. Upon speaking to the General Manager, he is aware that there was a problem with the flies at the time of your visit. The staff were cleaning the ledges three times a day in an attempt to resolve the issue.
We are so sorry that the cleanliness was lacking, and can assure you that this has been addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 744 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

Lodges were nice but not as upmarket as expected.
Staff very helpful.
Restaurant was good, breakfast a bit hap hazard at times with under cooked eggs, missing bacon and a continental smorgasbord that was unexciting.
Facility generally looking tired and in need of an update.
Lodges position in the trees was excellent combination with nature.
Cocktails and bar happy hour very good but cocktails taste different depending on who made them.

Room Tip: All rooms are well positioned not all rooms have full cooking facilities should check when booking i...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noreen958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Noreen958,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are sorry to read that you very disappointed with some aspects of your stay. Your comments regarding the breakfast has been escalated and addressed by the General Manager. The refurbishment of all chalets has now been completed with the public areas expected to be finished by the end of the year.
Again, we apologise for the disappointment caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank diana w
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

When we arrived at this hotel it has the look of days gone past.. Very old reception and grounds, we were hesitant and looked at the rooms which are in the forest like cabins. These were recently updated and updated well. We loved the room and the garden only staff was less helpfull and the food is not up to par.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mentrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear mentrop,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are sorry to read that your stay was let down by the restaurant food and staff. Your comment has been escalated to the General Manager who will take this up with the staff directly. The refurbishment of the chalets is now complete, and the public areas will be refurbished by the end of this year.
Again, we thank you and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The chalet we stayed in was very clean & tidy.The experience of being secluded in the trees gave the time there a great atmosphere.The staff were very helpful & the dining experience was amazing & well worth having, along with happy hour which was well enjoyed. We would definately stay again for a weekend retreat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Tania R,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank emerae
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment that had recently been refurbished (still smelt of new carpet) to a very high standard. We were staying on a timeshare exchange and the accommodation was certainly at the high end of the timeshare scale. The bathrooms (we had 2!) were beautiful and had space for putting things away, hanging towels, robes etc. Bed was really comfortable but as someone else mentioned there are no bedside lamps, these would be a very useful addition at minimal cost. Kitchen facilities were good although we had to buy ourselves some mugs as the teacups were too small!! The resort is pretty hilly so wouldn't be any good for anyone with mobility problems but we found it good to walk off some of the food. Restaurant was nice and the staff all really friendly. Location is a bit off the beaten track but there are some lovely walks around beach and its only a short drive to Cathedral Cove/Hot Water Beach areas. You definitely need a car here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Alan H,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in this wonderful part of the world. Unfortunately the supplier of the bedside table lamps was unable to get them to us on time. We have since sourced an alternative locally.
Again, we thank you and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
16.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
16.9 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
79 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
330 reviews
16.6 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range: $156 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing