We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old property, rooms are better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

When we arrived at this hotel it has the look of days gone past.. Very old reception and grounds, we were hesitant and looked at the rooms which are in the forest like cabins. These were recently updated and updated well. We loved the room and the garden only staff was less helpfull and the food is not up to par.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mentrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear mentrop,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are sorry to read that your stay was let down by the restaurant food and staff. Your comment has been escalated to the General Manager who will take this up with the staff directly. The refurbishment of the chalets is now complete, and the public areas will be refurbished by the end of this year.
Again, we thank you and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 751 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

The chalet we stayed in was very clean & tidy.The experience of being secluded in the trees gave the time there a great atmosphere.The staff were very helpful & the dining experience was amazing & well worth having, along with happy hour which was well enjoyed. We would definately stay again for a weekend retreat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Tania R,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank emerae
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment that had recently been refurbished (still smelt of new carpet) to a very high standard. We were staying on a timeshare exchange and the accommodation was certainly at the high end of the timeshare scale. The bathrooms (we had 2!) were beautiful and had space for putting things away, hanging towels, robes etc. Bed was really comfortable but as someone else mentioned there are no bedside lamps, these would be a very useful addition at minimal cost. Kitchen facilities were good although we had to buy ourselves some mugs as the teacups were too small!! The resort is pretty hilly so wouldn't be any good for anyone with mobility problems but we found it good to walk off some of the food. Restaurant was nice and the staff all really friendly. Location is a bit off the beaten track but there are some lovely walks around beach and its only a short drive to Cathedral Cove/Hot Water Beach areas. You definitely need a car here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Alan H,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in this wonderful part of the world. Unfortunately the supplier of the bedside table lamps was unable to get them to us on time. We have since sourced an alternative locally.
Again, we thank you and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My last review of the Chelmswood Motel in Taupo was a poor one. And left behind a very bad feeling about NZ hospitality. Thankfully this lovely spot in the world has renewed my faith in our ability to get it right. The staff were really friendly and helpful across the board dealing with a variety of guests with really delightful efficiency,grace and a genuine desire for everyone to feel carefree for and special. I was a busy weekend the hotel was full and one large group in had the potential to be noisy. The design and privacy of the chalets meant that we heard nothing just birds and the trees moving in the breeze . The facilities
are ample and well presented. We were weary as on reading recent reviews we wondered about the state of upgrades. Our room was finished as were all others they did still have a table to replace and beside tables but bathroom,bed,tv ,carpet ,tiles etc all brand new.A few quirks, the jug is difficult to fill due to shape of new basin and the lighting is quite sparce. These are minor details given the lovely new upgrades and unique environment of puka park. The restaurant is pricey so beware.

Room Tip: The chalets are all private and tucked away. Ours was well up the hill good for the fitness. Just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Tracey H,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after staying with us at Grand Mercure Puka Park. It is so good to hear that your stay restored your faith in NZ hospitality. Our staff do go above and beyond to ensure that all guests enjoy their stay. They will be thrilled with your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

It is not the easiest of resorts to find, because it is well hidden amonst the trees, but it didn't help that the road sign at the entrance was lying on the ground. The next impression was the carpark area with lots of damaged tarseal and very poor (amateurish) repairs. Then there was the concrete roading, a lot of damage evident and the broken pieces just left lying, along wit the dead tree prunings just left lying. The Hotel's own 'utility and maintenance' area is not a good look either, if it must be located on a foot traffic route it should at least be screened a little better, I felt like I was wandering past somebody's untidy back yard. Not a big deal, but not what you'd expect from a Accor property. Our Chalet was newly renovated, but the deck was weather stained etc and a quick clean or treatment with a long lasting self-cleaner would have made a difference. The DVD player was missing from our chalet and we notified that immediately, but the room checks post/pre occupancy should have picked that up. Again first impressions, the number on the chalet door was new but a cheap 'stick-on' where it could be seen that a much better type of welcome had previously been in place. Despite the renovation, the bedside tables were missing much of their top finishing (too many hot cups and water spills), but had swapped sides so the undamaged area was close to the bedside. Whatever they were thinking, it didn't work! Another surprising omission was bedside lights. It was necessary to leave a light on in the bathroom all night as it was pitch black without it and wandering around an unfamilar chalet could see an elderly guest taking a tumble. These are criticisms of material things only, and hopefully constructive, so moving on to the staff, they were all friendly and attentive, the restaurant was excellent, and breakfast options and quality should please anybody. We enjoyed our stay, and saw past any negatives, but if the 'Hotel Inspector' called, she'd give the management a real good kicking. Deal with the first impressions folks, it would not be costly, and you'll be on a surefire winner.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winston018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Winston018,
We thank you for taking the time to post your review, and are delighted that you did enjoy your stay despite being underwhelmed by the first impressions Puka Park left you with. As you mentioned, the whole resort has been going through a total refurbishment and there has been some materials and work equipment around the resort. All of your comments have been raised with the General Manager to be addressed as soon as possible.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

The place is extremely private away from the hustle n bustle of the usual towns
However for those who like to be in the centre of the town - tairua pacific harbour lodge would be a better option
None the less puka park had amazing staff - including Pablo his fiancé joselyn , amba ... Extenely cooperative and helpful staff
Dinner menu is a little less varied but the food served is tantalising -really yummy
Must visit for couples who are looking for some private space

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Saadsalim29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Saadsalim29,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. Congratulations on your wedding! What a wonderful place to spend your honeymoon.
We look forward to welcoming you again next time - maybe for your anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
16.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
506 reviews
16.9 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
81 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
334 reviews
16.6 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range: $156 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing