We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very pretty resort set in native forest. Rooms are individual chalets which are spacious, well-furnished and plush (if a little chilly). We were lucky enough to stay in one of the refurbished rooms and it was clean and well-equipped with a luxurious feel. Ample parking although areas of the resort are steep and vehicles cannot park near the chalet entrances - guests can however make use of a luggage shuttle service to take bags to their rooms. Service was friendly and helpful. Would recommend Pauanui as a great little place to explore the Coromandel region slightly off the beaten track, and this is a great place to stay whilst doing do.

Room Tip: Try and request one of the newly refurbished rooms as they are well worth the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zproud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear zproud1,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We agree - a beautiful setting for this unique property. Coromandel is such a great place to explore with lots to do.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 781 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a nice get away, very quiet and peaceful. Perfect time to go here is in the Summer so you can enjoy the beach area as place is a little bit isolated. Restaurant was abit pricey. Its a very beautiful place though. There's not many shops available. Therefore if you are planning to stay in a self contained unit and prefer to cook your own food you might want to take a few things with you as the local shops are little pricey. I have read through some of the other reviews and I do agree that this can be a bit of a struggle for the unfit as some of the lodges are located on a very steep road. Apart from this I have visited the place twice and it is always a relaxing environment to be in and great to get away from the city life.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding our property. As you mention the property is very peaceful and the perfect place to come and spend time in a beachside location. The property is set in an environment where the rooms are nestled into the hillside amongst the bush which adds to the feel of seclusion. We are nearing the end of an extensive refurbishment which has included additional rooms with cooking facilities however we do cater to all by having an award winning restaurant at the property. We have been monitoring our guest feedback and because of this we will soon take delivery of a golf buggy which will allow us to transport guests who are less mobile around the property. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We recently had a stay at this lodge and considered it in need of some serious attention. The narrow and exceptionally steep road could reasonably easily have some minor off road parking constructed to alleviate the need to park vehicles some considerable distance away from units necessitating a walk up exceptionally steep hills. The roadway is very narrow and as work is taking place to upgrade some of the very tired units the workers vehicles block the roads completely for considerable periods creating major difficulties.
The units constructed inside the hillside tree envelope spoil to a very large degree what could have been a magnificent view if the massive trees had been attended to and trimmed a little. Due to this enclosed cover the accommodation saw no sun whatsoever creating a damp and poor smelling environment which was unpleasant and would be very difficult to be rid of.
On the plus side the food was of a very high standard however breakfast at $27.00 appeared some what over the top. Not that this concerned us but there is very little for a family to do at this site. The pool is good but that's about all as the complex is completely constructed on the side of a very steep hill.

Room Tip: Try to get one near the lower section of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pericles200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding the property. The resort is nestled into the side of a hill overlooking Pauanui in the beautiful Coromandel peninsula and although steep in places there are mostly level tracks from the driveway to the rooms. During our refurbishment process we have tried to minimalise the impact to guests and thank you for your feedback and hope that you will return to see how fantastic the finished product is. The property was designed to provide privacy and seclusion for guests staying with us and each room is surrounded by natural bush which after 25 years is well established. At different times of the year as the sun moves there are some rooms that limited hours of sunlight and because of this as part of our refurbishment we have included under floor heating. In addition to our pool we do have bikes available as well as a tennis and bocce court on site for families to enjoy and the surrounding area is a family playground. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the high quality of food we serve and this will be passed onto the kitchen team. I hope you will return to the property soon so that you can experience the amazing transformation that has been made to the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just had a weekend at Puka Park on a very good Wotif deal. We loved it here and found the room, the service and the meals all great. I had hoped we would be allocated one of the newly refurbished rooms as I had heard they are gorgeous ( all rooms in the process of a complete overhaul) however we were more than happy with the one we got. Every chalet is set among the trees and each one seeming so private although they are in pairs.. They have such a rustic charm we found really appealing after the usual nondescript hotel room. My only gripe was the pillows, both types synthetic and feather were too flat for our liking. The spa was lovely and clean as was the swimming pool.( Robes and towels provided) It was tepid only, but was good for a dip after lying in the loungers on a really warm Spring day. We enjoyed our breakfasts and dinners which were part of the deal though on looking at the menu I'd say they would be pretty expensive if you had to pay the regular price. As others have mentioned it really is a steep although quickish climb up to your chalet if you happen to be in one the ones further up the hill as we were. This didn't bother us as we are reasonably fit and thought it a little beneficial after indulging in those delicious meals! Would definitely like to return here in the future.

Room Tip: If you are elderly or very unfit ask for a room near the bottom, it will still be in the trees. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillyflower5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments both regarding the property and Miha Restaurant. We take pride in using local produce as well as providing a high level of service and food quality. To be able to be supplied with fresh Whangamata scallops from the ocean out the front and other seafood is unique to this area. Next time you stay with us we would love you to call in advance and advise us of your preference for higher pillows so that we can ensure these are available for you. We look forward to you visiting again and sampling our new menu when it arrives in time for summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This our second stay here. We stayed in the same room as last time, a bush chalet, only this time it has been refurbished.

It is honestly like staying in your very own luxurious tree house!!! We loved it. The gorgeous bathroom with super deep freestanding bath tub and rainfall shower head is just outstanding. The toilet is not so private.. Being behind a frosted glass door with no ceiling.. But no problem there, as long as it's not your first weekend away with your loved one! Lol.

One of the many highlights of this place is Amba at the front desk. She is a real asset to this place. Nothing was too much trouble and she has looked after us so well from our booking to our check
out!!

We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becksandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic comments both about Amber on the front desk and our fantastic resort your feedback has been passed on to the team. We pride ourselves on service and the staff are always willing to help guests requests and since your stay with us we have had sliding louver doors installed in the bathrooms to add a little more privacy for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was a very nice resort/hotel. The chalets were very private and very peaceful. They were surrounded by trees. The gym was sufficient, there was also a tennis court and pool. The dining and bar area was relaxing and homely. We went in spring, i would imagine the outdoors section would be lovely in summer.

The location was great, close to the beach and the small town centre. There are a few nice walks in the area.

My only compliant would be the food. My main meal was barely warm. The dessert menu was limited.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear david h,
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
16.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
521 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
192 reviews
11.7 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
75 reviews
16.9 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
89 reviews
17.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range: $145 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing