We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful rest”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised this resort was walking distance to town and beach. Great location and lovely bush setting. Ate at restaurant on Saturday night and lamb was amazing. Decided to treat ourselves again during the week and were very disappointed. Definitely think we had a different chef and wait staff were also not as good. Dryer in room didn't work and light on path was broken. We stayed 5 nights and although I advised of the broken light and danger at night this was never fixed. The room/chalet was large and very comfortable and staff happy to drive us up the hill when it was raining. Great base for travelling around the peninsula but needs to ensure things are fixed when advised.

Room Tip: Ask for chalet at the bottom of the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairemcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Clairemcf,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments regarding the restaurant and broken light have been escalated to our Senior Property Manager for his immediate attention. We apologise for the disappointment caused.
Again, we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    254
    122
    54
    29
See reviews for
108
503
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Beautiful setting. Rooms are quiet & relaxing. However, we had a couple that we knew next door, which was good as the rooms have an adjoining wall....we stayed in the Treehut Chalets, which were grouped in two units.

Cute balconies, clean & tidy rooms.

My only complaint was that we had to haul our own suitcases up to the room.....very steep stairs. Also, the car park is a bit of a walk from the rooms. I guess this is the 'cost' of a secluded hideaway.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank N_Sammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear N_Sammi,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The staff are always happy to help guests with their luggage. We also have a golf buggy which can be used to take guests and luggage from the car park to the pathway to their chalet.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were happy with our stay at Puka Park Resort. The staff were helpful and welcoming. We had meals at the restaurant and, while the food wasn't of a high standard, the service was good. It was a bit expensive in relation to value, but would recommend it if you want a quiet time away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Mac1961_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Mac1961_13,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with your stay, Your comments regarding the standard and cost of the food in Miha Restaurant have been escalated to our Senior Property Manager who will investigate further.
Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My partner and I spent three nights in a "bush chalet", which was spacious, private and clean. The elevated setting was amazing - it felt like we were almost in the tree tops. The downside to this, is the steep walkways to the chalets, which would be difficult for mobility-impaired individuals - they do, however, have a golf-cart service.

The staff were courteous, friendly and efficient. Housekeeping did an immaculate job.

Suggestions to management: * I found the mattress very soft and sagging towards the middle of the bed, maybe they could flip them over? * How about free wi-fi in the chalets - most similarly priced establishments offer this.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the chalets closer to the main building (46-48) or suite 50, not as far to walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mala1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear mala1972, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. A full refurbishment of this property will commence mid this year. The current internet provider is being reviewed as part of an overall project and will be considered at the same time. The beds will also be replaced at the same time. Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed 7 nights at the hotel and had a great stay. The staff were all very friendly and only too willing to help. Due to availability we spent the first 3 nights in a 'Bush Chalet' until we could move into a 1 bedroom apartment for our last 4 nights. The transition was seamless. The staff asked us to notify them when we were packed and going out for the day and they would transfer our luggage; this was a surprise as I assumed I would have to do that. When we returned in the afternoon, our luggage was in the new apartment and they had even put our cold stuff from the cooler bag into the fridge. Excellent service. Ate at the restaurant on 3 occasions, and although the menu stayed the same always found something to eat and the food was excellent. Service was also friendly and efficient. We had a great stay, with the only slight drawback being the steepness of the site to get to your rooms. if you are elderly or have mobility issues, this should be considered. That said, the staff were more than happy to transport you to and from your room in their electric cart, it only takes a phone call. We will remember our stay fondly.

Room Tip: Be aware of the steepness of the site, as the rooms are all separate to the lodge building and parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Wayne L,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your week with us. All staff at Puka Park take a great pride in going the extra mile for all guests. They will be thrilled with your comments.
Again we thank you and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Puka Park Resort can best be described as a quiet and peaceful bush retreat. The staff were both friendly and helpful. Dining choices in the resort are limited to about 10 options which are changed only with the seasons. Lunch and dinner are the same menu. Breakfast consist of the usual fare. Having said that all food and service we experienced was of a high quality in all aspects. Most mains were priced at about $40 NZ. As an Accor Advantage plus member the dining discount of 50% was good value.

You do need a good set of legs and level of fitness to make you way from the car park and/or restaurant to the chalets (ladies no heels).

The room/chalet was clean the bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated.. We did have some incidents with a glass shelf falling and battery failure in the electronic room safe these issues were immediately attended to by the staff but highlight the need for improved maintenance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear bill b,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, in particular your chalet and meals at Miha Restaurant. It is good to hear that the issues you encountered were addressed quickly by the staff.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I like the resort itself. The log cabins in the trees are a bit tired but remind me of some great vacations in Colorado and Virginia. The hills are a steep walk and the trees, now well established, block the view to the sea. Despite this, the resort offers something different to the usual concrete clone resort. That said, here comes the cons. Puaunui Beach is remote, with limited dining options (there's a good takeaway and a cafe). The resort has a restaurant with possibly the rudest maitre'd outside Paris. This is actually what happened: we walked in (2 of us) at about 6.15. The place was empty. "Have you got a reservation?" Did we need one? He looked at his sheet for about a minute; there were 3 names on it, there are about 30 empty tables. "Come this way" We followed. "Is this table alright?" Offering us a cramped table at the back of the empty room. No, we'll have this one by the window, looking over the sea thanks. After that, we were left with the menu. My wife is dairy intolerant, but everything from the grill was not dairy free(!) because they only offered potato dauphinois as a side. A little negotiation substituted roast potatoes from another dish, at a cost of deep sighs and disdain from maitre'd. After that, the service was handed over to a junior waiter who was excellent, and the food was good. By the time we left, there were two other parties there, a family and a couple. The couple had the table we had refused, so presumably they had failed to book too. My advice, stay somewhere with more dining options, but if you are a fan of Fawlty Towers, have a meal here and enjoy the closest thing to a Basil Fawlty impersonator you will experience.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnotherEnglishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
16.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
11.7 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
16.6 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Property: Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing