We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt we had traveled much further for our relaxing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I wanted to take a short break between jobs so booked 2 nights at Puka Park in a "tree top chalet". Drove from Auckland with my daughter and arrived quite late (so it was dark). Very pleasant service (which was consistent throughout our stay) and we soon collapsed in our room.

The time flew by and we had a lovely couple of days. It felt much more like an offshore resort that somewhere just 2 hours from our home in Auckland.

The rooms are a little tired and there were other parts of the hotel that looked like they could do with a bit of renovation (pot holes in the road for example) but we understand that they are closing for upgrades later in the year so I am sure that this will be fixed.

Rooms are definitely on wooden piles and in the treetops. We could peer through the foliage and see a glimpse of the beach- very relaxing.

We really didn't mind - we kicked back and relaxed. Enjoyed the spa and had a swim in the pool. Walked to the few shops (underwhelming but you don't go to Pauanui for the shopping!) and had a great run along the beach.

We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant - food was good and service very efficient.

All too soon it was time to head home - easily could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Annabel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Annabel L,
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review after you and your daughters stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted to read that you had a relaxing stay before starting your new job. We shall indeed be fully refurbishing this wonderful property this year, and yes the pot holes caused by the underground spring will be attended to. The staff will be thrilled with your comments as they strive very hard to exceed all guests expectations.
Again we thank you for your review. Good luck in the new job!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 766 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Many years ago this was the place to go. It now needs a bit of work and have to wonder why this resort was built at all. Some thermal hot pools in the bush further up the hill would be a great attraction. There is no view of the beach and the only appeal would be for overseas visitors to get a close-up stay in the NZ bush. Our house seemed to have a mouse or other creature climbing up the inside of the wall during the night - that is not to say that the place was dirty and this can be expected since surrounded by native bush. However, maybe the operator could close off the gap where they are getting in?
Our evening meal in the restaurant was a big disappointment. Eye fillet which was smoked and then covered with more smokey chipotle sauce - should an eye fillet be treated like that ?. Our risotto had large, gnarly chunks of diced carrot in it - no tasty summer vegetables ?
Meal and accommodation too pricey for what was provided.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abbycatx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Abbycatx2,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are sorry that your were disappointed with your stay. You comments regarding the dinner at Miha Restaurant have been passed on to the General Manager who will look into the matter with the chef. As you may be aware, we shall be commencing a full refurbishment of this unique property in the middle of this year. We are certain that this will again be "the place to go" once again.
We appreciate your review and again apologise for the disappointment caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were very glad we had chosen a room near Receptionas quite a steep climb to some rooms..Set in trees..very attractive. .excellent chef and good wine list. Would recommend Puka Park as the place to stay when touring around the Coramndel Peninsular

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank pnandwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear pdandwag,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, in particular the award winning Miha Restaurant.
Thank you for the recommendation - we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a tired and worn out hotel this was. The chalet rooms are quite comfortable, but the state of the resort leaves a lot to be desired. The woodwork on the outsides of the chalets was peeling, with some pieces of the veranda missing. The carpet at the entrance to the very expensive restaurant was threadbare. The big mirror in the restaurant was cracked right across. The gardens needed a good tidy up, it looked as though they had not been touched for ages. The driveway up to the chalets had lots of pot holes. The seats on the buggy that took us up to our chalet were split. And they insisted on $100 deposit when we checked in, whereas ALL the other hotel we stayed in only required $1, or nothing at all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGM2444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear DGM2444,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are sorry to read of your disappointment and apologise for any dissatisfaction and discomfort caused. This unique property, with a prime beachside location, will be fully refurbished this year. The concrete slab area of the driveway is being fixed on Monday. The holes you refer to have been caused by an underground natural spring. This problem will be addressed during the refurbishment later in the year.
Again, we thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I thought I would write a positive review after reading so many negative ones, as our experience was great. We had a "grab one" deal and I feel we had value for money. Our chalet was quiet, private and everything you would expect in a hotel of this standard. Everyone was very friendly and the service great especially the reception staff. My only negative would be the fact that there was not one single kiwi on the staff, everyone working there was from all corners of the earth all speaking with an accent... which saddens me when so many NZ'ers, and especially our young people, are finishing school are out of work and desperate to find some employment.
Good luck with your refurbishments!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaySBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear JaySBee,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, in particular the great service you received from the staff. 50% of the staff at Puka Park are New Zealanders. Being in a remote area away from major cities we do find it difficult to attract staff when positions are advertised. Please be assured that we only hire staff who demonstrate excellent work ethics and attitudes regardless of their nationality.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for a short break in early March 2013. A beautiful setting amongst tree covered hills.
A bit of a climb to our room/cabin but a great way to burn off a little of our delicious dinner from the resort restaurant.
We found all staff helpful and attentive and rooms clean and inviting. Resort is in a very quiet location
so if you want action and night life perhaps not for you but if you want a quiet, relaxing stay this fits the bill perfectly.

Room Tip: if you sruggle with fitness, request cabins close to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slasha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear slasha2,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in this wonderfully unique property. We agree - it is a great spot for some peace and relaxation.
Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I bought deal online for 2 nights, bush chalet upgrade if availability with free breakfast and late check out.
My partner and I went to this resort couple of years ago for dinner when i was in Tairua, the place looked really nice but the price of the room where to expensive for us. So the online deal was a bargain !
We stayed for 2 nights and had a free upgrade to the bush chalet, i rang for the reservation and the girl didnt send me the confirmation by email so i had to ring them again... we went with our baby girl and they offer a baby cot free of charge.
When we arrived it was raining... you cannot park your car in front of your chalet so my partner had to empty the car and then bring to the lower car park.... which wasnt really convenient especially when you have a baby with you...
The room was nice, clean and spacious but to be honest the price they ask for the room was expensive for what it is!
We dine at the restaurant, food was good but sometimes the service was lack... on the first night i had to always put my hand up to ask something and the manager on duty (an indian guy) was giving better service to the old couple .... we are in our mid/late twenty so i dont think this was fair!
You cannot take your pram if you go with your baby to the restaurant as there is no lift, so not disabled friendly either.
On our second day we wanted room service for lunch as baby was sleeping went to the reception and talked to the food and beverage supervisor which was very nice, we had our food delivered to our room, service and food was good! On the same night the supervisor was working and offer us amazing service !
The breakfast was ok do not order the waffle, the presentation and taste was ridiculous. However the pancakes and omelette were good.
In my opinion the room are way overprice....

Room Tip: the tree chalet doesnt really make a difference with the bush chalet. you just have the bath tub and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rei88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear rei88,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are sorry to read of the disappointment caused by the service you received during your first visit to the restaurant. We are pleased that your subsequent service was a vast improvement. This property will undergo a full refurbishment which is due to commence in the middle of this year.
Again, we thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
16.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
513 reviews
16.9 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
85 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
188 reviews
17.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
337 reviews
16.6 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range: $150 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing