We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the forest lovers only!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“For the forest lovers only!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This place is situated on the lap of a hill, blanketed with trees and bushes. If you are a forest lover and take joy in seclusion, this might be the place for you. Each apartment is a separate wooden chalet and the path leading to them is pretty steep. It rained hard when we were there and combined with the steep path, our movement was quite restricted. The staff is pleasant and helpful. The porter service comes handy on the steep pathway. The cups in the kitchen cabinet were very dirty. The rooms otherwise were clean. The beach is 5 minutes walk away and there is nothing else near the hotel except a few houses. Overall- Good place for a recluse who loves dim lights and the jungle.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Ruuli,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. This property certainly is ideal for a tranquil stay, being located in the beautiful New Zealand bush. We are pleased to heat that you received good service from the staff.
Again, we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    266
    126
    54
    29
See reviews for
114
528
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Spent two nights in the hotel

Let's start with the not so good
- little bit outdated. Looking at the other comments, refurbishement is expected in 2013
- without printing the map or GPS, hotel is not well indicated
- no wireless internet (and i couldn't see wired internet in the room)

The good
- nice shower and water pressure
- good room size
- chalet hidden in the forest. Very cool
- no internet

"town" restaurants are ok, so we didn't feel the need to try the one in the resort.

It was an Ok stay (don't expect Wow factor), and happy to come back after the improvement sin 2013.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axelgfrsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear axelgfrsyd,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park.

You are correct, a full refurbishment of this prime beachside location will commence in mid 2013. The design will be part of our resort series, typically matched to the beautiful surrounding area. The aspects of the design will be focused on achieving a New Zealand lodge atmosphere which will be captured through the central facility with fireplace and stylish furnishings; in conjunction with the use of a classic colour palette, new release bathroom furniture and fittings in the rooms.

In line with Accor’s commitment to environment sustainability all in room lighting will be energy efficient. Bathroom and kitchen tap ware will be all the latest in water efficient design and in room appliances have been reduced and replaced with media hubs to provide instant connectivity of travel technology to the in room TV.

Again, we thank you for your review and we do look forward to welcoming you back after the refurbishment is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful. The setting is in the bush, great if the weather is hot, but it wasnt that hot, still pleasant. Do need to watch for invasive weeds, jasmine is beginning to take over. Room clean and comfortable, but some signs of tiredness...a chip in the sink, the bed being a little lobsided etc. Restaurant good, very few alternatives in the locaility to eat, so be prepared! Swimming pool, spa pool and sauna great. A good distance from Auckland for a weekend away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear puka7,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed a good break. As you may already be aware, this property will be fully refurbished in mid 2013, during which all of the signs of tiredness you mentioned will be addressed.
Again, thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This resort is a big surprise in our stay here in New Zealand. After reading some bad reviews, I was really hesitant to book here but since we are APVC member, might as well use our points and see the place.

Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is in Pauanui, Coromandel. We drove to this resort from Auckland. The resort is in the hilly part of the town. There is not much resort sign to show where the resort is and we were lost on the first try looking for it.

No dramas on check-in and was given our chalet number and key. We were given chalet # 45 which was just on the front of rows of chalet and no hilly walk! The room is big with king bed and big toilet with bathtub and separate shower. It has a balcony with table and 2 chairs. What you see on their website is what we had for our accomodation! We had a good 2 nights sleep in this bush settings.

The resort have tennis court, swimming pool, sauna and spa. We tried the outdoor spa which is beside the swimming pool at night which is really good because there was no one using the pool and spa. The staff lent us towels and robe to use.

As with other accomodation we had here in NZ, internet again is a premium, no free wi-fi access, need to buy voucher from the reception. We didn't try to dine or have breakfast here, the town is just 5 minutes drive and The Lime Room pub has more food choices and cheaper.

Room Tip: ask reception for chalet # 1, 2, 45 & 46 to avoid hilly climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigas_Ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Tigas_Ko,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in particular the brand new spa.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
16.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
493 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
187 reviews
11.7 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
326 reviews
16.6 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Property: Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing