We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Nearby Hotels
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge(Pauanui)(Great Value!)
$102
$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tairua Shores Motel(Tairua)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Water Motel(Tairua)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paku Lodge(Tairua)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata(Whangamata)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre(Whangamata)(Great Value!)
$110
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakers Motel(Whangamata)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blake Court Motel(Whangamata)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (821)
Filter reviews
821 results
Traveler rating
326
281
129
55
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
281
129
55
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspuka park resortgolf cartmain buildingmiha restaurantsteep hilltree houseunderfloor heatingnative bushbreakfast and dinnerbush settingtennis courtsbird lifenew zealandcoromandel peninsulaspa poollong weekendbeautiful beach
Filter
Updating list...
548 - 553 of 821 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

As a local that has dined here many times over the years, and had a great family wedding at Puka Park. we were extremely disappointed in our visit to the restaurant last night.The quality of the meal and the lack of service was poor to say the least. The staff were courteous but lacked knowledge on service. We will not be recommening Puka to anyone at the moment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent dining experience at the Resort, we are very disappointed that you experienced such poor service and did not enjoy your meal. The Executive Chef Rhys Thornton prides himself on the quality of the food and has reviewed your feedback with the team to ensure that no one else has this experience. Rhys has had some difficulty with replacing a key staff member in the kitchen but has now employed a Chef whom he is confident will provide a product that reflects his high standards. There has been additional training with our front of house team to ensure that they are consistently providing a high level of service to our guests.
We would love to have you return to dine with us so that we can provide you with a much more enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying and hosting friends from the US. We stayed in the Royal Puka Suite. Nothing Royal about it but it served our purpose. The check in was very cold and impersonal, tall foreign woman. We then went up to the bar for a Martini, where their expertise was non existent and again foreign. We were wondering where the Kiwi staff were and then our experience changed. We met Jason & Luke from Housekeeping the first day - very jovial and honest - service plus with a smile and joke, The next day we met Jaymie and Tylah again excellent wit and information. We observed this team throughout our stay - laughing loudly, yelling out and greeting us by name and them introducing us to their other colleague. They were instrumental in us touring Lost Springs, Thames Market, eating in the Miha Restaurant and which staff to ask for, what to order. This then changed our view on the Restaurant. Breakfast was a hit and miss but Jason told us change of Chef - excused. They took time out of their schedule to walk us around the Resort. Spa not working, pool on the colder side, Sauna great. They say it comes from the top and so I asked to meet with their Manager? You should be very proud of your staff. He was a fine gentleman with an infectious smile that transfers to his staff. I am so pleased that we were able to leave them all with a small gift of our appreciation. It was all of these people that changed our perception of Puka Park. It is truly worth a visit if not only to meet these ambassadors for a Resort they are proud of and so eagerly awaiting their update in March - April 2013.

Room Tip: I would prefer to have been on the higher, drier side of the Resort.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trotted_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Loved the Chalet we stayed in only thing was that the light was not on for us on arrival so had to feel our way to a very dark door not really knowing it was the right one until thankfully the door opened with our key. Loved the fact that the chalet we had we totally separate and as they are scattered in bush like surrounds they are very private ...Chalet had all the comforts of home including a very comfortable bed.Staff were lovely and friendly but also very proffesional and always interested in our day. The food was great but being there for 7 days a little limited in the choices... The spa was out of order during our stay and the pool far to cool to be tempting in late winter. Over all a very restful enjoyable holiday..

Room Tip: As parking is all at the front of the resort and our unit was almost at the top of a steep hill. It was quite an uphill hike back to our room each time we went out. Also it was raining for a few of our days and not nice trying to rush up the hill in the rain. Not for the unfit or disabled. HINT....Maybe ask for a chalet at the bottom of the hill.....
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniC957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear JenniC957,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted to hear that you loved the chalet, and that you experienced good service from the staff. Apologies for the spa being out of order. We are in the process of getting this repaired.
Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Thanks to Jay he helped to make our stay enjoyable because he was polite,helpful and friendly.
We were disappointed that the spa was out of order.
We have stayed here several time over a few years and we think it is in need of a make over. It is looking a little tired.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007retreater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear 007retreater,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. It is great to hear that Jay made your stay enjoyable. We apologise for the spa being out of order, we are currently making arrangements for this to be repaired. This property will undergo a full refurbishment in mid 2013 which will address the comments you made regarding the resort looking a little tired.
Again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you yet again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is one of the most wonderful places I have stayed in.
The rooms are fantastic, beds are so soft and comfortable, breakfast is great, definately have dinner the food is superb.
wonderful heated pool, sauna, gym, walking distance to the beach, bike hire, all in all a great stay.
this is a resort for taking a breather and just enjoying walking down the beach and relaxing, would def stay again

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippaandtitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear pippaandtitch,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your room, the resort facilities and surrounds and the food at the restaurant. This property certainly is in a beautiful part of the world. Again, thank you for posting your review, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews