We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view and clean facilities!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papamoa Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Papamoa Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papamoa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and clean facilities!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Incredible view across the ocean, close to local shopping centre (grocery, petrol and homeward stores) and fantastic free facilities! A must for people staying the night! One of our favourites. The staff were very friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zanedavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapamoaBeachTop10, Receptionist at Papamoa Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
It’s so lovely to hear that you had such a great stay with us! It’s positive feedback like this that motivates our staff to aim for an even higher level of customer satisfaction.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    55
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
113
89
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devonian
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Went for this because of the location - right on the beach, and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the facilities. The kitchen is a decent size, with eight high powered rings, and opens onto a really nice inside/outside dining area. The showers are a decent size and power, while the toilets were both plentiful and clean. The star of the show here is the location however, with a great beach right in front of the site, body boards and fishing rods can both be hired fro. Reception, which is great service. Just behind the site are a couple of shopping malls complete with takeaways and supermarkets, very easy to walk to. Drive a bit further and there are a couple of decent sized towns to look around with plenty of shopping to keep you amused. Only slight niggle was that the BBQs could be a bit cleaner, and no cleaning materials were provided, which I would have expected at a site of this quality.

Room Tip: s9 is the site to go for, panoramic views of the bay, if not try the 'v' sites, a little fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapamoaBeachTop10, Receptionist at Papamoa Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review about your stay with us at Papamoa Beach TOP 10.
It’s nice to hear you had such a positive experience with us and we agree, the site S9 is the best spot!
We take pride in having high standards of customer service and providing a quality product to our guests.
Our BBq’s are cleaned twice daily and paper towels are provided to encourage guests to clean up after themselves, along with dishwashing liquid which can be found in all the kitchens.

We look forward to having you come back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in a tent on a large site overlooking the camping grounds. There are loads of things to do for the kids and all the facilities are excellent. Next to the awesome surf beach which is patrolled. Some of the best surf we have ever experienced. Very very strong current at times which made standing up difficult but the drag was along the beach rather than out to sea. Very friendly staff throughout the park. Lots of BBQ's and pristine washing facilities. The cabin accommodation looked to be top notch. There was a bit of a security issue with some locals entering the site from the beach next to the site but the problem was quickly dealt with by the park staff.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank calderhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapamoaBeachTop10, Receptionist at Papamoa Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We are happy that you had an enjoyable experience with us at Papamoa Beach TOP 10.
It’s great to hear that you felt safe when you were enjoying our beautiful beach.
We do our best to provide a safe and secure environment in our Resort and are constantly keeping our eye out where we can at the perimeter of the grounds.

We hope to have you come and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorrua
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent to amazing nights in the beachfront rooms, The whole park has access to the beach in many area. We cannot wait to come back again. Our two sons loved the kids activities, at night kids in bed wife wanted to watch a movie, i did sneak away and saw they were playing the rugby from their amenities (which I had noticed on a sign earlier) so that was delightful as well.

Would recommend this to anyone

Room Tip: Spend that little bit extra for the two bedrooms you won't regret it. They have a great restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapamoaBeachTop10, Receptionist at Papamoa Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Papamoa Beach TOP 10.
It’s lovely to hear that you had a nice family holiday with us in one of our Beachfront Villas. We aim to provide a positive family experience to all our guests and we are so pleased to hear that we are maintaining our goal.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in a 2 bedroom garden villa. The location of the park is fabulous, right on the beach, no road to cross. Big supermarkets & shopping mall 200 metres away. Surf club next door for dinners. Fish & chips & bakery across the road. The Garden villa was located right next to the playground and jumping pillows, so our kids were within eye & ear shot and kept well entertained. The villa itself was very modern, very clean & spacious, with all the extras for "glamping in a camping resort" They get serviced daily. You certainly get what you pay for - Being high season too. It is so safe for the kids, they can ride around on their bikes, scooters...cars drive very slowly in the campground. The Kids club is worth a mention, as this time of year, they were fabulous, with water slides, amazing race, face painting, jumping castles, competitions etc...definitely would go back here...highly recommend :))

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapamoaBeachTop10, Reception at Papamoa Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
This is what we love to hear! We are so glad that we made your summer holiday a memorable one.
It is stories like this that motivate us to providing an even more enjoyable experience.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay with us here at Papamoa Beach TOP 10 and we hope to see you back here in April for the school holidays where you can save 30% off your stay if you book before the 10th of Feb.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

With great weather predicted we decided to head to the beach, the beach villas at papomoa top 10 looked magnificent right on the water it was not peek season yet so the park was lovely and quite .The tariff was quite high for a trailer park but the pictures on the website looked lovely so we booked and arrived next day . The check in staff were friendly and polite it's when we got to our villa we become a little disappointed .With the tariff we were paying we expected to be getting a little bit more luxury then two wicker chairs . The mattress was hard and thin the light in the bathroom didn t work the toiletries were in large pump pak bottles encased in a plastic cube fastened to the shower wall .There is two villas side by side in one building so at night it is quite easy to hear the noises in the next door villa .Yes the views are magnificent but the rooms are just cheap .If you are going to charge top dollar upgrade the bedding better sheets better duvets better mattress individual toiletries so you don't feel like you are on school camp

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Francois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapamoaBeachTop10, Reception at Papamoa Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you felt this way. Here at Papamoa Beach TOP 10 Holiday Resort we aim to provide a quality product and service to reflect our beautiful location and the surrounding environment.

We take pride in being environmentally friendly and the use of high quality soap, shampoo & conditioner dispensers aids us in minimising packaging waste that is normally generated from the individual toiletries you see in many hotels/motels. The product used in these dispensers is of a high standard and displayed in what we feel is a clean, crisp & modern-looking dispenser.

In regards to the light in the bathroom, providing the key tag had been correctly fitted into the slot as advised upon arrival, the light should have worked. However had the bulb have blown we would have replaced it as soon as we were advised. We take pride in our high standard of maintenance and prompt reaction to urgent fix-it items upon being advised.

It is disappointing to hear that you were not happy with the bedding. The beds that we use are from a top quality NZ manufacturer (namely Sleepyhead and Design Mobel) and are regularly upgraded. The bedding we use is also from a well-known multi-national fabric supplier & manufacturer (namely Warwick fabrics) –even in our more basic cabins.

We feel that the photos on our website are 100% accurate representation of our accommodation and are in no way misleading. Our tariffs are reflective of the season, the location and the facilities that we provide in our Resort which we aim to ensure remains value for money.

Thank you again for reviewing your stay with us at Papamoa Beach TOP 10 Holiday Resort and we hope that you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

This park is amazingly situated right on the beach, the views are spectacular and the rooms are modern, clean and very well appointed. Would definitely recommend for families as there are great park facilities and shopping centres closely.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kashdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapamoaBeachTop10, Receptionist at Papamoa Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Papamoa Beach TOP 10 Holiday Resort.
It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in our Beachfront accommodation. We take great pride in the fact we are a very family friendly and are lucky to be in such a fabulous location.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papamoa
6.4 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beach House Motel
Beach House Motel
#2 of 2 in Papamoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pacific Palms Resort
Pacific Palms Resort
#3 of 5 in Papamoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
7.4 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papamoa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papamoa Beach Resort

Property: Papamoa Beach Resort
Address: 535 Papamoa Beach Road, Papamoa 3118, New Zealand (Formerly Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Papamoa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papamoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Papamoa Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only real beachfront complex in sunny Papamoa, Papamoa Beach Resort provides everything you need for a fantastic New Zealand beach holiday. Come sleep on the beach with us and wake up to the sound of the waves. Papamoa is the perfect location for swimming, surfing, fishing and strolling along miles of white sandy beach. Staying with us means relaxing and enjoying the spectacular panoramic sea views in the best possible way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Papamoa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Hotel Papamoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing