We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our trip to new zealand”
Review of Katikati Heritage Museum - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Katikati Heritage Museum
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“our trip to new zealand”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

on our visit to kati kati musuem in 2010 i met ken and nancy the tour was great nancy played the old piano for my wife and i it was a classic she sang and even put an old hat on ken showed us the upstairs of the tour the bottle collection was brilliant i revisited the musuem in 2012 and ken and nancy were gone i was sad but i filmed her playing the piano and her guided tour and ken also what a classic ill never forget i will be back the ward gang sydney

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank griggsy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katikati, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great local museum”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a local museum concentrating on the history of the Katikati area, especially the original settlement by Ulster immigrants in the late 1800s. There is also an interesting collection of Maori artifacts, and an extensive collection of old bottles.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this volunteer-run museum. It is full of a huge variety of items telling the story of the lives of past inhabitants of the area. Our guide was charming, patient (because we spent such a long time looking at things!) and informative. As well as being able to view things we were also given demonstrations of how some of them worked. Really great. It is obvious that a lot of love and enthusiasm is going into making the museum so interesting. As a bonus, the on-site cafe produced delicious food.

I would definitely recommend this museum.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katikati, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love the Roast Rolls”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have been here a few times as I just love their Roast Rolls. They have a variety of different meats all roasted. You can have a full roast meal or the way I like it as a roll. The price is reasonably good. It also has a big dinning area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DuGae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

It was the Arts Festival in Katikati with a program. The Museum was on the list and getting to the place there is a Cafe. Food was terrible and you wait very long for service, No it is a failure! Will not encourage people to go there!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Plamoth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katikati Heritage Museum also viewed

Katikati, Bay of Plenty Region
Katikati, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Katikati, Bay of Plenty Region
Katikati, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing