We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of The Point Lodge

The Point Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katikati
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Point Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Katikati B&B and Inns
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I spent two blissful nights in The Point Lodge to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We booked to stay in the Turret Room, however Kerry and Anne gave us a complimentary upgrade to the Chardonnay Suite, as they thought it would suit our needs better! A special surprise was an anniversary card and chocolates in our room from Kerry and Anne, which was a lovely gesture. It was a lovely spacious light filled suite, with a full kitchen and ensuite. We loved the bifold door which opened right up to allow an uninterrupted view over the vines to the sea. The bed was comfortable and the linen was 5 star. The location is superb, very quiet and relaxing, with great views.
Kerry and Anne are the most welcoming and generous hosts, inviting us into their home to share coffee and home baking, as well as a complimentary wine tasting. Their food/winemaking knowledge and extensive travel history make them excellent and informative conversationalists, and we enjoyed their company very much. Breakfast was an occaision each morning, with freshly baked bread/croissants, fresh seasonal fruits, homemade jams, freshly squeezed juice and homemade yoghurt to delight our tastebuds. Lovely touch was the fresh flowers in the room, and on the breakfast tray.
We can unreservedly recomment The Point Lodge as a wonderful place to stay, and you will not find nicer or more generous hosts than Kerry and Anne. Thanks for making our stay special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, Owner at The Point Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Carolyn
I think Anne should be responding to your wonderful comments. Anne is the romantic that wants everything to be special and especially for wedding anniversaries! So pleased that you enjoyed the Chardonnay Suite – it has character and style that makes it rather special.
We love The Point and certainly get a real pleasure in sharing the property with guests – hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I spent two days here in November 2012. The place is at the end of the road in a quiet part of Tauranga harbour, close to Tauranga and the Coromandel peninsula. We had our own terrace but we enjoyed being invited to the owners main house as well, from where you have a great view over the bay. We loved the breakfast and you can tell that they are used to giving 5-star treatments. What a great way to share a unique location and life experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, Owner at The Point Lodge, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Our real pleasure to host you at The Point and to share with you our slice of Paradise. may thanks for your wonderful comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and i enjoyed our stay with Kerry and Anne at The Point and plan to return as well as recommend it to our friends. Everything about the stay was five star. The location is beautiful with lovely rooms. The main house is perfect with views of the bay.and nothing was a problem

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, Owner at The Point Lodge, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Five star personal service is what we want for ourselves when travelling, and we always aim to provide our guests with the best we and NZ can offer. Wonderful to have your comments that we have truly delivered satisfaction. We will love to have you back and your recommendations to friends is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The three of us enjoyed our stay with Kerry and Anne at The Point and plan to return as well as recommend it to our friends. Everything about the stay was five star. The location is beautiful with lovely rooms. The main house is perfect with views of the grapes growing to the water. The hosts are experienced, intelligent and warm. We arrived late and had not had dinner. They gave us a glass of wine and Kerry whipped us up a delicious meal in less time than any restaurant would have. It's a central location to see the Coramandal, Rotaroua and Tauranga and yet more relaxing. We'll return Anne and Kerry. Thank you for all of your help.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and Anne will steer you correctly for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antiquealexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, Owner at The Point Lodge, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
What wonderful comments and it was really our pleasure in hosting you at The Point. And yes we do agree with your coment that the Point has a great location for touring.

Look forward to having you back of a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The Lodge is hosted by Kerry and Anne and they get the highest possible marks for their help during our stay. Throughout our seven weeks in New Zealand we met many wonderful hosts; in fact all were special people who worked hard to make their guests welcome and comfortable. Kerry and Anne were outstanding even amongst all these wonderful people. First Kerry is a superb chef and the meal he gave us the first evening was remarkable, the initial toast and self-caught mullet roe with his splendid mistelle wine on the terrace, the mussel starter and then the self-caught flounder for the main. We also enjoyed his own wonderfully ripe Pinot Noir. Then on the second evening as we were about to leave for dinner at the restaurant Anne had booked for us, we found a tyre was flat. In no time Kerry had changed the tyre and early the following morning Anne took the tyre to the local garage and we picked it up mended and back on the car before breakfast. On top of this, the lodge is in a wonderful location at Tuapiro Point with fantastic views and a great walk along the beach. Katikati is a marvelous town with gift shops, and the Karahangahake Gorge and Waihi Beach are close by. And we also took away a bottle of Kerry and Anne's olive oil, pressed from their own olives.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrettonGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2012

After days of hyperactive holiday-running, The Point was a terrific refuge to recover and adjust our remaining time in New Zealand. The Point turned out to be the most restful and luxurious stay we had. The view is fantastic; the balcony window overlooks the vineyard and the suite is terrifically appointed with home preserves, homemade wine and great attention to every detail - like the heated towel rack, and daily baked breads. Anne and Kerry are great resources for local information and have tremendous influence with local restaurants and businesses.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and we stayed in the Champagne suit - spectacular views in two directions
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Lodge for our summer holidays this year and hopefully get a chance to repeat the experience again very soon. It was one of the most relaxing and peaceful holidays I have ever had. Anne and Kerry went out of their way to welcome us and make our stay pleasant and enjoyable. Waking up every morning to freshly baked bread, wine tasting in the evening to even bottling my own vintage port. We had access to all the information we needed and nothing was too difficult. Amazing big room with beautiful views. If you get a chance to experience "The Lodge" and Kerry & Anne please do not hesitate. I have recommended this place to all my friends and family.

Room Tip: Chardonnay Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyMani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katikati hotels
4.9 mi away
Katikati Motel
Katikati Motel
#2 of 2 in Katikati
32 reviews
4.9 mi away
Asure Kaimai View Motel
Asure Kaimai View Motel
#1 of 2 in Katikati
62 reviews
6.9 mi away
Matahui Lodge
Matahui Lodge
#1 of 5 in Katikati
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Lodge

Property: The Point Lodge
Address: 444 Tuapiro Road | Rd1, Katikati 3170, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Katikati
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Katikati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury vineyard lodge accommodation on the Tauranga Harbour in a quiet private setting, just two hours from Auckland, and ten minutes from Waihi Beach and between the Coromandel and the Bay of Plenty. With a wonderful climate, lifestyle and activities, the region retains its rural charm and coastal attraction.Private king & queen bedded suites with en-suite bathrooms (one self-catering). Wine tasting and vineyard tours. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing