We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, fantastic, Just what we needed”
Review of The Point Lodge

The Point Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katikati
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Point Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Katikati B&B and Inns
sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow, fantastic, Just what we needed”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

If you want a relaxing or adventures holiday this is the place to do it.
The accommodation is very clean. We had a different delicious breakfast every morning & to be able to eat on the patio looking at the most fabulous views that you could not ever get bored with. The sunrises & sunsets are stunning.
Kerry & Anne are so friendly & make you feel so much at home. They could not do enough for us. We were greeted with coffee & home made mince pies, which were lovely. There was a bottle of wine waiting for us in the fridge. We brought some of Kerry's lovely wine.
Kerry & Anne suggested places we could visit that we had not thought of. We were shown on maps where the places of interest were & the best way to go. We really enjoyed & still have the wonderful memories of such a lovely holiday.
We only have one regret & that is, we wished we had stayed for much longer, we did not want to leave. We spent 5 wonderful days there, yes we will go back when next visiting NZ. Saving up our pennies! :-) Or we might emirage, which we would love to do, then we could go there for our holidays anytime! ;-)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Montrose Suite & adjacent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miniandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

We stayed with Anne and Kerry for the second time in February. We found it in 2008, and on our second trip to NZ, we had to go back to The Point. It was the only repeat stay we had, just to show how terrific it is.
We echo the other reviews on this site - fabulous room with a great view, wonderful food (take the option of having them cook you a meal), attentive and detailed service, and warm, friendly hosts. Their involvement with the wine industry is an added plus for their guests, and their own olives are superb! You can't do better anywhere for the price.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

In our opinion no visit to New Zealand would be complete without a stay with Kerry and Anne at the Point..we stayed 3 nights but next time will do at least 5 nights..the Chardonnay suite is perfect..everything you need in there (careful with the shower as the door is not water tight and I flooded the bathroom the first night!!) and you are in the middle of the fruit and vegetable country so everything is fresh and ripe. Our hosts, Kerry and Anne are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble for either of them...Kerry makes his own wines (our window overlooked some of his vines as well as the bay) and we were invited down in the evenings to try them..nibbles are provided but we tried to bring some to show we were not complete free loaders! It was one of the highlights of our 30 nights in NZ and we could not recommend it more. Kerry is a real expert on wines and for the past 15 years or so he and Anne have been spending 5 months a year in the French wine country. For golfers there is an excellent course 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank begley85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Arrived to be greeted by Anne and Kerry, and a welcome pot of tea and biscuits. After explaining about the Point and all the local attractions, Anne kindly gave us the key to the Chardonnay suite, which was on the 1st floor with the most amazing views over the bay, made even more special by the huge folding windows. The suite was huge, and contained all you need for a nice relaxing break - very comfortable bed, kitchen area, sofa, table and chairs and a lovely bathroom with huge shower and an expansive collection of towels, and lots of other useful bits and bobs.

Anne and Kerry kindly asked us to join them for drinks early that evening (and the following evening too), and we we treated to nibbles made by Kerry and some of the products from their vines - their Mistelle chardonnay was especially interesting, and a bottle of this made it home safely to the UK, and is now in our wine cooler!

It is the little touches that make The Point such a welcome and relaxing place to spend time - the pots of homemade yoghurt, the homemade hot bread awaiting us every morning outside the suite, the little extras in the bathroom, the little sprigs of lavender, and not forgetting Kerry kindly washing our car the morning we left and removing a great selection of squashed flies with ease!

The attention to detail at the Point is what we picked up on the most, and if we were not already married, we both said that the intimate weddings they host there, would be beyond perfect for a wedding!

Many thanks to Anne and Kerry for help making out NZ experience totally memorable.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We had a marvelous stay with Kerry and Anne. Their daily cocktail inviataion is a great way to sample Kerry's wines served with his tasty hors d'ovres. Anne makes sure you have the necessities then adds beautiful details. We stayed in the Chardonnay suite to be delighted with an extensively equipped kitchen where we enjoyed cooking local food and produce. The suite is not sparse, but has a large open area in the miidle of the room - great for dancing to the wondeful CD collection while overlooking the lawn out to the bay. Peaceful space....

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaCanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We stayed here on a recent trip to New Zealand with my daughter and her husband. Kerry and Anne - the owners could not have been more helpful, and payed huge attention to detail. It is an incredibly relaxing place to stay with excellent food and wine. We were well looked after and their rooms are lovely. I would highly recommend staying here if you want a relaxing break by the sea!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeclear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
300 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

We were amazed at the value that this place offered as Kerry cooks a very creative dinner and serves some great local wines. He is very knowledgeable on New Zealand and wine from across the globe. Anne is long suffering as he is a whirlwind of energy!

The setting is beautiful and the peace was fantastic. We found the room furnishing to be a little less impressive and we felt that had more been invested then the reward for the guest would be greater and the innkeepers could and should charge more dosh....thus a happy result! The whole place is very clean, and Kerry insists on giving your car a complimentary wash in the morning before you leave....which to our knowledge is unique in a B & B!!!!

The whole stay was delight but as mentioned we think the furnishing needs some work, the bed was very comfortable, but the room felt sparse, even though it had a fridge, little kitchen area and a TV and CD player.

We think The Point is going to alter its business very soon to longer self catering stays, and if it does the facilities offered will be more than adequate.

If you want an individual stay with hosts who are genuinely friendly and professional then stay here. They also have two great dogs!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidbignose!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katikati hotels
4.9 mi away
Asure Kaimai View Motel
Asure Kaimai View Motel
#1 of 2 in Katikati
62 reviews
4.9 mi away
Katikati Motel
Katikati Motel
#2 of 2 in Katikati
32 reviews
6.9 mi away
Matahui Lodge
Matahui Lodge
#1 of 5 in Katikati
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Lodge

Property: The Point Lodge
Address: 444 Tuapiro Road | RD1, Katikati 3170, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Katikati
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Katikati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury vineyard lodge accommodation on the Tauranga Harbour in a quiet private setting, just two hours from Auckland, and ten minutes from Waihi Beach and between the Coromandel and the Bay of Plenty. With a wonderful climate, lifestyle and activities, the region retains its rural charm and coastal attraction.Private king & queen bedded suites with en-suite bathrooms (one self-catering). Wine tasting and vineyard tours. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing