We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matahui Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katikati
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matahui Lodge
Papamoa, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Such a lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at Matahui Lodge and we didn't feel like guests we felt like friends popping into stay. Trevor and Kay, were such lovely hosts. We felt right at home and really enjoyed chatting to them and spending the evening with them. The food was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G, the lodge was gorgeous, the surroundings were beautiful and the neighbors were friendly. I would have no hesitation recommending a visit to anyone who wanted to get away from it all and enjoy some good conversation over a great food and drink. If you have an interest in wine making (or drinking) then you'll really enjoy looking over the grapevines and visiting the cellar. Lovely people, lovely place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our last stay in NZ was at the Matahui and so we certainly had a hard time leaving. Kay and Trevor are excellent hosts and the room was so beautiful and ultra clean. They have a little slice of heaven which they share with their guests. the food was delicious and the wine keeps flowing. Loved every minute.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Amazing location, fantastic hosts, lovely food. With views overlooking the bay, Trevor and Kay very soon make you feel at home and part of the family. We spent a Fantastic couple of days spent here and highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LDPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Gorgeous property, aesthetic accommodations and gracious, attentive hosting cannot begin to capture the delights of Matahui. Beautiful views of the lovely grounds and sparkling bay from your room, balcony, or the much utilized patio will restore your senses. Relax with free flowing, complimentary wine and enjoy gourmet dinners accompanied by relaxed conversation and good spirited camaraderie. Kay and Trevor, the exceedingly charming hosts will not only wine and dine you in great form, but help with everything from travel plans to personal laundry. We left relaxed and restored, with the fondest of memories and new friendships.

Room Tip: Merlot room on the second floor with private balcony was superb. Gorgeous views, comfortable bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We arrived at 5pm in time for drinks with the neighbours. What a wonderful introduction to the outstanding hospitality we enjoyed throughout our stay. Superb meals, a stylish and comfortable room, wonderful views from the deck, strolls through Trevor & Kay's boutique vineyard and tastings of their own wine. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CherieMarlborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Matahui, Trevor and Kay are fabulous hosts. Their property is absolutely beautiful, everything has been thought of in every respect. We loved it so much that on the way back up from the South to Coromandel we stopped and stayed again at the lodge. Perfect! We absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raluca13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

if there was such an award I would give it to Trevor and Kay they are fantastic hosts who make you welcome from the moment you pull up outside their beautiful home. You would be wise to book in for dinner as the food is delicious and the wine is free flowing ( thanks to Trevor who has a dislike of empty glasses, so be warned!!!) The rooms are also very nicely decorated and despite the bad weather we still managed a dip in the hot tub !!
A truely memorable few days in great surroundings and exeptional company where we definately left as friends
Andrea & Stephen Rose

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepoppits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katikati
13.1 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
5.1 mi away
The French Country House
The French Country House
#1 of 44 in Tauranga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
11.7 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in Waihi Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Papamoa Beach Resort
Papamoa Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Papamoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
3.4 mi away
Asure Kaimai View Motel
Asure Kaimai View Motel
#1 of 2 in Katikati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.3 mi away
Katikati Motel
Katikati Motel
#2 of 2 in Katikati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matahui Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahui Lodge

Property: Matahui Lodge
Address: 187 Matahui Road, Katikati 3181, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Katikati
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Katikati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matahui Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matahui Lodge is situated in the privacy of six acres of manicured grasslands and vineyards with tranquil inner harbour views. Architecturally designed to make the most of stunning harbour views, and elegantly furnished to provide maximum comfort and relaxation, we offer superior accommodation, whatever the occasion. Tarriff includes Continental and/or full breakfast as well as a complimentary mini bar in each room and pre-dinner drinks. Spa, gym, library, golf driving range all included. Order a delicious three course dinner created from local ingredients by your hosts. Wine is included in the price of dinner. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing