We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical night in the gully”
Review of Warm Earth Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katikati
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Warm Earth Cottage
Ranked #1 of 5 Katikati B&B and Inns
perth
1 review
“A magical night in the gully”
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Wow. I knew this place was going to be incredible & it was far far more than that. The gully was magical at night & absolute peace during the day. I have never in my life slept so peacefully & the romance just amazed us. We will be back again & again in the coming yearsm to relive the beauty & bathe under the stars. Thank you Warm Earth Cottage.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelgiraldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Our experience of pure bliss and money well spent is hard to put into words. I will never forget our stay at Warm Earth Cottage, beautiful, tranquil, friendly owners, romance at its best. From the beautiful and remote location of KatiKati New Zealand, the majestic land that the cottages are on, the local food provided, the outdoor tub heated by a warm fire underneath. No detail has been left out of the planning of a truly romantic get away. The owners talked of selling the property which I found truly heart breaking and last I talked to them they were in final negotiations with someone from the UK. I only hope the new owner leaves Warm Earth Cottage just as it is and takes just as much care to provide a little slice of heaven on earth to it's customers. I almost hate leaving this review, due to the fact that of all the places I have ever stayed, I'd like to keep this place my little secret. Alas, I just can't keep such a place from others and I highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tauranga
2 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2010

What more can you ask for than to be by your self with great food, great environment and My lovely wife. We could not have been morimpressed from the minute you are greated to the fine food prepared.
We look forward to teh next visit and will be telling all our friends triple A+.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pestorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2009

An experience so idyllic and memorable, I had to write a review as well as my wife. From the first greeting, which felt like we were visiting old friends, being invited in to sample home brew liqueurs to take a bottle to the cottage with us.

A gorgeous peaceful cottage, embedded in the most beautiful valley next to a river, candle lit and with an outdoor bath, heated by fire underneath.

On top of the complete tranquillity the service, attention to detail and special touches made the stay a fantastic memorable experience.

If you have a special occasion (ours was our 3rd wedding anniversary) and you are looking for something completely unique, this is it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robs_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

By far the stand-out accomodation of our two week trip to NZ, the cottages are a must for any couples on a special occasion or treat. We had our two year old with us and it was still a relaxing and wonderful experience. A friendly welcome, lovely food and extra touches, along with an amazing location and gorgeous cottages. If you really want to get away from it all, warm earth cottages are the way to go.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boro_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katikati
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2009

From the moment we arrived at Warm Earth Cottages, our hosts Anne and Bert were the most perfect hosts. They made us feel welcome and we felt that nothing was too much trouble.
The accommodation was perfect, private, immaculately clean and welcoming. Our experience at Warm Earth soaking up the solitude, having time to totally relax without any interuptions, and enoying fantastic food and atmosphere, will stay with us for a very long time. We cannot wait to get away from it all and visit warm earth again as soon as we can!
Thanks for a lovely break -

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanna1katikati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morzine
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We stayed at Warm Earth Cottages for one night at the end of a 3 week trip to New Zealand visiting family, and it was the perfect end to a fab holiday. The setting is wonderful; totally secluded and could be anywhere on earth ... the two cottages are also totally seperate and private from each other. When we arrived we were ushered in to the house to choose a liquer each - which was a lovely start to a great 24hrs. The cottages are decorated beautifully, and as we were the first to arrive we had choice of either so we had a nose around both - they're both as good as each other. The cottages have everything you could need, and the BBQ etc are all well stocked. Breakfast the next morning was yet another pleasant surprise - we went up to the house after having a BBQ for dinner, and it was wonderful....very luxurious and more than we could ever eat! This is an absolute gem and i'm glad we found it. I only wish it was nearer home to visit more often!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorzineWineandDine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katikati
3.7 mi away
Asure Kaimai View Motel
Asure Kaimai View Motel
#1 of 2 in Katikati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.7 mi away
Katikati Motel
Katikati Motel
#2 of 2 in Katikati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
6.3 mi away
The French Country House
The French Country House
#1 of 45 in Tauranga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Matahui Lodge
Matahui Lodge
#1 of 5 in Katikati
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Warm Earth Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warm Earth Cottage

Property: Warm Earth Cottage
Address: 202 Thompsons Track | RD 2, Katikati 3178, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Katikati
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Katikati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm Earth Cottage offers a unique accommodation experience, which is ideal for honeymoons, anniversaries, romantic breaks and special treats. Our two romantic cabins with outdoor bush baths are nestled in a valley in the Kamai Ranges just south of the mural town of Katikati, and north of Tauranga in New Zealands beautiful Bay of Plenty. We gladly welcome guests from around the world to our little slice of paradise. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing