We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax in paradise.”
Review of Warm Earth Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katikati
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Warm Earth Cottage
Ranked #1 of 5 Katikati B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The most relaxing experience in beautiful scenery ever! Fantastic food and amazing host Jan. My highlight was soaking in the hot tub with a wine and listening to the sounds of the wildlife. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjmrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 62 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Was amazing! Outdoor bath with candles and wine! Roses outside window and sound of the river! What more can a girl ask for! Breathtaking and gorgeous! Loved loved loved staying here we did for honeymoon and we always dream of goin back. Highley recomended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

What a place, and what an outstanding host! I can't speak highly enough of how beautiful the cabins are or how well the grounds are kept. Not only that, but the food was generous and presented immaculately. In the afternoon we sat down by the swimming hole at the picturesque river and read books for hours and just relaxed. The crystal clear river water is 'refreshing'... We were very, VERY reluctant to leave. If it's in flower, I'd recommend getting up in the night and talking a walk through the Queen of the Night hedge path...I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ezo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Jan is a wonderful hostess who puts so much effort into every detail of your stay at Warm Earth Cottage. My husband and I were blessed to have been able to come and stay for one night at the very end of 2013. We were visiting from Canada and had been looking forward to this one particular night on our honeymoon. It was something out of a dream. No electricity but the means to have a warm outdoor bath that is covered so the rain didn't matter! The breakfast provided in the morning by Jan in a white basket was the highlight! We loved every minute we spent there and wish it was closer to home so we could come back more often! Thank you Jan!!
Katrina and Josh

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

There is a not enough words in the english language to express ones experience of this amazing hidden secret. The world lives on as you embrace the tranquility and peacefulness of this truely piece of paradise secluded from absolutely everything. Perhaps a taste of the Garden of Eden.
When we arrived it was pouring with rain and cold and on entering our cosy cottage the pot belly had already been lit by Jan so the warmth embraced us as we stepped out of the cold. It could rain or snow forever, nothing mattered, there was plush fur throws on the bed, flowers, chocolates, cookies on the table, and candles galore to bring it all together for a couple of days to unwind and have much R n R. There was a BBQ for cooking an evening meal if you wish, and a log cabin up the walkway where you could light the fire, make coffee and read a book of your choice from the library. To top it all off was the outdoor fire pit bath that was lit by Jan at 4.30pm each night and you could soak away under the starry night in the glow of flaming lanterns. Now for the breakfast basket - take a look at the photos and what you see there is what you get - flowers and all - an abundance of God's wonderful tasty delights !!!! Thanks Jan - and 'thanks' is just not enough. It was wonderful and we certainly were speechless.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CapriC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

One night towards the end of summer was really good but this year we went for two nights in winter's first weekend, mainly so we could enjoy the in-cabin pot belly fire experience.
We love everything about Warm Earth Cottage; the rural, secluded feel, the pampering, the breakfast and other treats, the sights and sounds, the lounge/library and ready fireplace, and the fact that for us locals we're not frazzled by driving for hours!
We'll be back, maybe for several nights next time :D
Thanks Jan and Walter, you and Warm Earth Cottage are like medicine xo

Room Tip: Either Serenity or Tranquility are fabulous, probably we prefer Serenity, and definitely recommend s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeonieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Wow!!!! This would have to be one of NZ's best kept secrets in B&B accommodation. The secluded, romantic surrounds coupled with Jan's hospitality, kindness and generosity surely will not be found anywhere else!!! Two of the best nights we have ever encountered. Make sure you grab the dinner package as well, that way you do not have to leave the premises!!!!! Jan, you are a saint!!!

Room Tip: Either room is just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaunandAdele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katikati hotels
3.7 mi away
Asure Kaimai View Motel
Asure Kaimai View Motel
#1 of 2 in Katikati
63 reviews
3.7 mi away
Katikati Motel
Katikati Motel
#2 of 2 in Katikati
33 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kaimai Country Lodge
Kaimai Country Lodge
#2 of 6 in Katikati
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Matahui Lodge
Matahui Lodge
#1 of 6 in Katikati
32 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Warm Earth Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warm Earth Cottage

Address: 202 Thompsons Track | Rd 2, Katikati 3178, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Katikati
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Katikati
Price Range: $109 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm Earth Cottage offers a unique accommodation experience, which is ideal for honeymoons, anniversaries, romantic breaks and special treats. Our two romantic cabins with outdoor bush baths are nestled in a valley in the Kamai Ranges just south of the mural town of Katikati, and north of Tauranga in New Zealands beautiful Bay of Plenty. We gladly welcome guests from around the world to our little slice of paradise. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing