We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of Turks and Caicos - VERY nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Parrot Cay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best of Turks and Caicos - VERY nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2006

When you arrive at the airport and begin your trip, you will be glad you chose this resort, especially when you pass the other resorts along Grace Bay. They all look the same and are very close together. None compare to Parrot Cay.
After a 40 min. boat ride, we arrived at PC. We left Charlotte on a direct flight at 9:30am and arrived on the island around 1:30pm. After being shuttled from the boat dock by friendly staff, we walked into the main building and were directed to the upstairs Terrace bar inside to wait for our introduction. There wasnt much of an intro - we were taken to our room, a garden view, steps from this main building. I asked for a map and they said they would give us one later. It would have been nice if there had been a better initial orientation and maybe a tour. We never felt like we had a complete idea of the whole resort/island.
We changed clothes immediately and found our way to the beautiful pool. The zero-entry, infinty pool is spectacular. We had lunch pool side, from the adjacent Lotus restaurant menu, which was delicious. Be prepared to pay much more than normal here. A coke and an orange juice approaches $16 when it is all said and done. And yes, its true, a hamburgers and fries really does cost $26. But everything is very tasty, the poolside service is terrific, the view from the pool deck is perfect -- a favorite spot the whole trip.
The resort has only two dining options: The poolside Lotus restuarant (lunch and dinner), and the Terrace Restaurant (breakfast and dinner). We ended up ordering room service dinner the first two nights because the 2 restaurant menus were so limited. The room service menu offers much of what is offered for lunch at the poolside Lotus restuarant. There isnt really enough American fare for dinner and the resort would be great with one more dining option and maybe a snack bar or night-time casual grill. WARNING. Bring any snacks your family cant live without there is NO place to buy snacks here. There is an overpriced mini-bar but it doesnt have much food in it. The dinner menus finally changed after a few days.
Breakfast at the Terrace is very good with some good choices on the menu and a small buffett of bread, fruit, and cereal. Again, there is only one lunch option (poolside at the Lotus)and the menu did not change the week we were there. It seemed like we ate a lot of fries.
The beach is gorgeous like the pool, but the water is colder compared to other places in the Caribbean, because the beach faces North and directly faces Atlantic waters. The sand is so nice and white and there is hardly anyone on the beach! Very private. There is no shortage of chairs here or on the pool deck. Upon arriving poolside, very friendly attendants bring you cold water, fresh towels and popsicles in the afternoon around 2:00. That was a nice touch.
There is NO evening entertainment and dinner menus have only a few entrees (4 or 5). Prices range from $38-60 per entree. Sides are extra. For all meals, they offer bottled water for two (7$ per split). They have free bottled water the rest of the time, and they dont recommend you drink the tap water.
The resort also features a small exercise facility, which is very near the pool and beach access. The small room contains 2 or 3 treadmills, an out of date stair climber, two stationary bikes, one eliptical, a full set of free weights, and various other pieces of equipment. An upgrade would do wonders.
The resorts fleet of boats/ferries are not on a regular schedule, particularly the "from Provo to PC" leg of the journey. These were scheduled based on arriving passengers only. We went to Provo one night and you will probably end up going to, wanting some supplies that aren't found in the meager gift shop or some variety in food. We took a 3:30 ferry, shopped in the two small shopping areas, ate 7:00 dinner at Anacaona at Grace Bay Club and left on the 9:00 ferry. Note: Most of the shops (across from the entrace to Grace Bay) on Provo close at 5:00pm. Grace Bay is also expensive but not nearly as nice as Parrot Cay.
While at PC, we really wanted to leave to get souveniers for our son and some friends. The gift shop at Parrot Cay has some overpriced resort wear and bikinis and thats it. Oh, and $18 bottles of average sunscreen. There are hardly any PC items. None of the usual things you'd find in a resort shop. This was our biggest complaint and something that should really be fixed immediately. The resort needs a shop where you can buy essentials that you forgot and souveniers to bring home with the PC logo. There is nothing for children. We bought T-shirts at Mama's at the Ports o Call shops across from the Grace Bay Club.
The spa, though also expensive is beautiful and worth a visit and a treatment. I only needed a manicure and it was worth it just to be there for a few moments.
We didnt take any snorkel or boating excursions because they seemed awfully expensive, and weren't promoted as a worthwhile experience. Much much more expensive than any other resort we have been to.
Next time we will probably book a trip with Silver Deep...they seem to be very popular and have a shop at the leeward ferry docks of Provo.
Overall, PC was great and so beautiful. We loved the pool and everything seemed so clean and well maintained. Our room was great, it doesnt seem worth it to pay for anything but a garden view....the beach villas and views are not even right on the beach. The room service is great and they come by all the time.
We missed having a great gift shop and wish there had been a few more activities and dining options. It is very peaceful and everyone was so friendly. We even saw a few big celebs :) There is a nice library and many computers with free internet to check email. You can also rent dvds and cds, also a nice touch.

As this great resort continues to mature, we would definitely come back again - and probably will soon.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank HollidayE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    141
    50
    25
    16
See reviews for
143
535
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2006

We just returned from 3 days in paradise. The boat ride to the island was fun and comfortable. Rooms are not the greatest, not much water preasure in the shower and not really luxurious. We had an ocean view room, which may not really be necessary because the beach is not easy to see (see picture). The service is friendly and helpful. Beach is beautiful and private. Pool is great and no problem getting lounges or chairs on the beach. The food is not the greatest, hamburgers are $26. The spa is staffed with experienced people - treatments were great. This is a great place to go to relax and be at peace.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Neil-from-Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2005

Our honeymoon started out a bit late by a small delay in Charlotte, NC. But as it turned out, it was just perfect as we caught the boat to the island just as the sun was setting (See pics) for an amazing arrival to Parrot Cay. Transfers to and from ferry/airport went smooth and were good.

Upon our arrival the hotel manager greeted us and drove us up to check-in via golf cart. Our room was upgraded to an Ocean view and they were clean and beautiful (See pics of bed, bathroom, etc…) with amazing views of the island and beach. Our room had a four post bed with mosquito nets and a lovely veranda with a great sofa type couch to sit on. TV/DVD player which surprisingly was used to watch a few movies. A/C worked fine - plenty of clean towels. Also nice amenities bottled water, great smelling toiletries, well stocked mini-bar and fruit tray.

We had signed up for the inclusive deal package for breakfast and dinner, along with a free massage for the two of us at the Spa and an excursion trip too.

The breakfasts were great; eggs, French toast, omelets to order and gorgeous buffet of fresh and tasty fruits and cereals and bread. The wait staff every morning greeted us with smiles upon our arrival with choice sitting of inside or out. The staff is very efficient and ready to serve you promptly. Also waiting for us each morning was an 8-9 page copy of the New York Times.

Dinner there was two options; the Terrace Restaurant (Same location as breakfast) and the Lotus Restaurant - the Asian restaurant. The resort recommends making reservations for the place you choose to go, but we would recommend trying to view the menu for each in the afternoon before deciding; getting reservations was no problems. However, Lotus has a BBQ every Saturday night and we would recommend it for that night.

Meals at both places had generous portions. Desert was excellent, pictured is the baked Alaska we got one evening at Lotus.

The Spa was gorgeous. We arrived for our appointment early, about 30 minutes, changed into our robes and flip-flops. We would recommend arriving early since this enabled us to wait in the hot tub overlooking the other side of the island. After our couples massage, we walked around the spa area and had a nice cool glass of tea while soaking in the great view. After changing we signed out bill for tips and bought some products from the store.

For our excursion we choose the secluded lunch in our own villa. We ordered our meals the day before and walked over to a gorgeous table for two with couch and mosquito nets. I ordered Prawns and a sandwich and my wife had a salad, plenty of water was provided!

People mentioned it in their reviews about mosquitoes, but we didn’t have any issues with this at all. Many nights we would keep the veranda doors open late for the cool air to come in.

The only downside of the trip was check-out, but things were handled so smoothly and without problems or hassle. Our bill was incorrect, some items billed twice, etc… but it was no issue in correcting these mistakes.

Some side notes:

I would not recommend buying anything from the Spa, they turn down your room twice a day and give you free products in your room, stash those away for replenishment.

Drink plenty of water, each night we would get 2-4 waters and we would place them into the mini-bar to keep cool and to collect them.

There were a few families with kids, but not noticeable at all. The resort does a great job of making you feel like you are the only ones there.

Alcohol is expensive, about $15 for a glass of wine.

This was truly the first vacation that we both have gone on together and have wanted to stay longer. We would love to be able to come back again soon!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2005

Overall a really beautiful place and we had a great time. The beach and ocean are absolutely gorgeous.

Service: the service at both restaurants was outstanding, housekeeping was great and the beach/pool service great. but....the guest services, front desk and management could be alittle more attentive and friendlier attitudes.

Food: breakfast was great as was dinner at both restaurants, Just had lunch once. Portions were huge,especially sides and could have often shared rather than each have one. Atmosphere at lotus restaurant in evening was incredible. Of course cocktail were pricey but we knew that going in and didn't turn out to be toom much of issue.

Room: we were in 2, more later on that.
our first room was garden view and we loved the location, further away from main areas and had a great balcony. A/C worked fine - plenty of clean towels and bed was fine. Also nice amenities bottled water, great smelling toiletries, well stocked mini-bar and fruit tray. But.... somewhat noisy, staff is constantly on truck and golf carts zooming around and started very early in morning which was annoying and also when we were enjoying happy hour on our lovely balcony - distracting. Need to invest in electric vehicles. Rooms are by no means five-star luxury and bathrooms are somewhat dated.
2nd room: we awoke the 3rd morning to the very loud talking of an almost 2 yr old on balcony above us, around 6:45 am, followed by her running laps on the wooden deck with shoes on. We returned from breakfast and more of same. So we requested a move. We were accomodated (someone else had already complained) and moved to oceanview room which had great view but.... didn't like location near as much as first room, bathroom was much more worn than first room, a/c didn't work as well, and the room was somewhat fly invested. We killed at least 6 each day and could not figure where they came from. We never left anything open and did not have any in the other room.
I know they accommodated us fairly by giving a oceanview room(upgrade) but it still was an inconvience. By not having a "no children" rule at this resort I don't have too much room to complain but it would have been a nice gesture to get a bottle of wine/champagne or something as it was a pain and then room wasn't in a as good condition as our first and we weren't as happy. It was surprising to see some young children there as there is not much for children to do and dining is certainly not geared to that. From a noise perspective I feel children should only be allowed in villas. Frankly if the resort was full and we could not have been moved our trip would have been ruined.

Other facilities: We did not use spa but went to see it and it looked amazing. The library and computer access/free internet was great - there were 5 computers. Our bill was totally correct at checkout and checkout was a breeze-no issues.
Transfers to and from ferry/airport went smooth and were good. We loved the layout of resort and the view from "boardwalk" on way to beach and from the pool.
So the only somewhat negative was the room situation and everything else made up for it. Grounds were kept nice and beach cleaned daily. Again loved service on beach. It was very relaxing (except for child) and absolutely gorgeous/romantic. We especially enjoyed long walks on the great beach and view from pool. I will definitely plan to return but try to save enough $$ for villa to avoid the noise situation.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank nanorran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2005

WOW! Just returned from five nights at Parrot Cay and I was totally blown away. I went in with somewhat low expectations - based on some of the reviews here and on what a friend had told me - but this resort exceeded my expectations and is my new favorite vacation location. Here is a rundown of the resort:

Beach - Amazing! Perfect turqoise water and powdery white sand. I went to hawaii earlier this year and this beach compared favorably to all of the beaches I visited in Maui and Kauai. They even have cold face towel service and ice pop service at the beach just like the four seasons.

Pool - Amazing! The most comfortable chaises I have ever sat on and the view out to the ocean from the infinity pool is breathtaking.

Food - Amazing again. I only had one meal that I thought was "so so" and that was at the Mediterranean restaurant. Lotus - the Asian restaurant was excellent and the couch like chairs were so comfortable I never wanted to leave the table. I highly recommend the Saturday bbq at Lotus - they grill tons of fresh seafood and I think they sometimes have a band, although they didn't when I was there. Breakfasts were also unbelievable - all you can eat and very healthy. I especially loved the freshly squeezed juices. They even have a great spa menu that you can order from at either of the restaurants. Alcohol is very very expensive here. If you need to have your tropical drinks by the pool, but you have a limited budget, this might not be the place for you. The lowest price bottle of wine was $60, but most bottles were in the $80-$120 range. I brought a bottle with me and they gave us a bottle of Moet with our package.

Spa - There are no words to describe. This was hands-down the best spa I have ever been to and I have been to some nice spas. The views are spectacular from the spa and I recommend booking your treatment at or around sunset to take advantage of them. I got the Lurlur Bath and reflexology - both therapists were topnotch and I would do both again.

Rooms - Beach chic. Four poster beds with mosquito nets and a lovely veranda with a great sofa type couch to sit on. This is not the four seasons though. If you want marble baths, plush furnishings and opulence - this may not be the best place for you. All of the bath products smell amazing and they provide you with service twice a day. My only complaint with the room was that the bed was a little hard.

Service - Terrific. This isn't the four seasons, but that being said everyone makes an effort to know your name and they bend over backwards to help you. Check in and check out could not have been smoother, and contrary to what others have complained about we did not have any problems with extra charges on our bill.

Activities - There is not much to do on this island, but this is exactly what makes this place wonderful. If you have to have lots of activities, don't go. If you want to bring children, this is probably not the resort for you. I think kids would have to be really really well behaved for this place, since there were almost none there and the ones that were there definitely stood out. If you just want to relax on the beach, read a book, eat great food and enjoy a wonderful spa, then go. They have a pretty good gym and I loved the yoga pavillion, although the classes were a bit challenging.

Mosquitos - This was the one major downfall of this place. People mentioned it in their reviews, but I don't think I truly appreciated how much of a nuisance they would be. They provide you with repellent but it is the very heavy kind. If you would rather something light, like Avon's skin so soft you might want to bring it with you.

Overall - go with someone you love or someone you love spending time with. If you need lots of action, gambling, nightlife, booze, shopping, opulence etc., then maybe you want to look elsewhere. If you are lucky you might even have a celebrity sighting or two, we did. I am already thinking of planning my next trip.

Helpful?
19 Thank beachbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2005

My wife and I satyed here for our honeymoon. We stayed in room 801 which is near the main restaurant and was really great. It had a beautiful terrace overlooking the grounds and had a view of the ocean. This is a first floor room. The food is very good, asian/indonesian/fusion cuisine with french and american undertones. I highly reccomend the lotus restaurant, by the pool for lunch and the terrace restaurant for dinner. When asked if you want bottled water, you can save yourself some money by going with tap water instead which had lemon in it and was fine. We had room service the first night, which was great(Try the Prawns). We also went on three excursions that were nice. The reef fishing was a fun half day trip, the private picnic was very romantic and nice at the end of the island(Bring bug spray as the fly's can get annoying) and the snorkle trip was not woth it due to the choppiness of thw water.

There is a private pool along the road to the shambala spa that we used more than the main pool. It is a little smaller, but has a more private feel to it as well as locker rooms with hot tub, sauna, steam room and bathrooms with shower. This pool also looks out at the mangroves and other side of the ocean. There are also free yoga classes and a very nice gym.

The spa is a very beautiful and tranquil place, and my wife and I highly reccomend that you take advantage of a treatment. I had a mud efoliation followed by a massage, that left me feeling like I had just melted into nothingness. Plan this late in the day so you can enjoy the beach and pools.

The staff are really great and will be able to accomodate your every need. We would definitely return to this beautiful place.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2005

My husband and I stayed at Parrot Cay for 4 nights in September. We are very picky about vacation spots since time away from home and work is few and far between. We were very nervous about staying somewhere where the website is very vague and nobody we knew could give us a first hand referral. To cover all bases we decided to book 4 nights at Parrot Cay and 4 nights at the Four Seasons in the Exumas. Right choice.

Overall we enjoyed Parrot Cay, but in comparison to the Four Seasons in Exuma...there is none.

The rooms were probably the biggest disappointment of all. We don't spend a lot of time in the room, but here we did all we could to stay out of the room. We booked an oceanview room as part of a three day package and then added on an additional night. The room was "cute", but when you looked closer and saw all the mold in the bathroom it was a total turn-off. The bathroom was small and moldy, definately not the palce to unwind and take a bath. The bed was so soft, we just rolled into the middle and considering the air hardly worked in the room, the last thing we wanted to do was touch each other. The beds are covered with a mosquito net, but that was no help at all. The mosquitos are all over the place!

I agree with other reviewers that the food is excellent! It was the best lobster I've ever had! The BBQ on Saturday was well worth it! Breakfest is very limited. Unfortunately I was bored with both restaurants by the 4th night. All beverages are way overpriced. They do not reccommend drinking the tap water, so if you want water you have to buy it with breakfest and dinner for $8 a bottle. A diet coke is $6. The wine list starts at $60. Any type of frutiy drink at the pool is $16. Just be prepared!
Also beware...there is this incessent bass pounding music morning, noon and night. It feels like you are at a night club any time you are in a restaurant or bar area.

The beach was by far one of the BEST beaches we have ever been too! It was really beautiful! The water is crystal clear! Just walking along the beach you see tons of bonefish and we even saw a stingray. We took wine down to beach a few time to watch the sunset!

The spa was just average for me. The treatment was excellent! The massage therapist was perfect and truly a specialist. The problem was the lockerroom, or lack there of. We were immediately taken to our treatment room right from the lobby. No changing into a robe or preparing for your teatment, just right to the room and when we were done we changed right back into our clothes, massage oil and all and then were we led out. On the way out I asked about a locker room and the attendent pointed to a door. Wrong question...I should have just gone back to the room to shower. The locker room was beautiful...if you overlooked the missing ceiling and horrible smell of mold and the attack of mosquitos. It felt like they were hiding the disrepair of the locker room instead of just telling us it was closed.

Overall the location was beautiful. I think we were expecting more based on the reputation of the resort and felt let down. It has so much potential, but it is just not there yet!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
40 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parrot Cay
13.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
12.4 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
14.5 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#5 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Grace Bay Club
Grace Bay Club
#8 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
13.7 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
12.6 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#7 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos

Property: COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos
Address: 164 Leeward Marina, Providenciales | British West Indies, Parrot Cay
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Parrot Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Parrot Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Cay by COMO in the Turks and Caicos is the northern Caribbean’s preeminent private island. It combines nature—1000 unspoilt acres, a mile-long powdered beach—with relaxed luxury and the multi-award-winning COMO Shambhala Retreat, which offers a range of holistic, Asian-inspired therapies as well as yoga and Pilates with world-class tuition. Accommodation, comprising whitewash interiors with chic teak finishing, includes beachside houses and villas. The island also features private residences, offering absolute privacy away from the main resort. The island’s two restaurants serve gourmet and easy dining as well as healthy COMO Shambhala Cuisine. Watersports, diving and island adventures complete the Parrot Cay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Cay Providenciales
Parrot Cay Turks Caicos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing