We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eugenia private home rental was terrific”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pine Cay
Reviewed March 12, 2006

Our adult family group of 7 just returned from a one week's stay at Eugenia, a 4 bedroom 4 bath private home on Pine Cay. We took all meals at the Meridian Club dining room. Although described to us by the rental agent as "rustic", the Eugenia was very comfortable and the layout gave 3 couples and a single plenty of privacy and a great gathering space for all. Although farther from the beach than anticipated, we could easily take our golf cart down a nearby path nearly to the edge of the beach. We were entertained by the resident iguana and by the daily feedings of ghekkos by the mother kestrel to her baby on our roof. This was a wonderful and casual place to stay and we all hope to return.
Meridian Club staff is outstanding - genuine and friendly. Food cooked by local cooks was truly superb each and every meal. The men in our group enjoyed fishing but were slightly disappointed that there were not more boats available for bonefishing excursions. They did enjoy fishing from shore and at one point the staff dropped them off for wading on their own. Shelling and snorkeling trips were easily arranged at no extra charge. Although we had read about problems with bugs on previous Trip Advisor comments, we encountered relatively few bugs.
Meridian Club was a great find!

Stayed: February 2006
7  Thank Kathleena54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 148 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2005

The perfect gettaway to connect reconnect or stay connected to your lover.
And.....the fishing at the aquarium is a blast. Violet rocks as an advisor.
Two miles of beach all to yourselves.
As beautiful as Vermont but much warmer.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 54mainstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2005

We just returned from The Meridian Club at Pine Cay. We chose this hotel based on its many favourable reviews and its promise of seclusion and no children.
It is true that kids aren't allowed but that needs to be clarified as this rule only applies to paying guests. If you are one of the island's many omnipresent homeowners the rules do not apply to you. Perhaps if it had been one or two quiet children we wouldn't have been bothered. When it's a group of kids squealing and screaming as they learn to waterski on a motorized boat feet from your beach chair, it's another story. There were also kids running up and down the beach with their dogs, searching for 'treasures' on the beach with metal detectors (!) and commandeering the pool everyday with an array of bright plastic pool toys. If we were at a 'Sandals' or 'Beaches' we might have expected this, but not at a supposedly secluded, private resort that charges high-end rates without offering the high-end benefits.
In terms of service, the staff is friendly when you can find them. The front desk is often empty - no staff, no note, no service. The bar is often empty and/or the bartender on break. If you're planning on relaxing with a fruit punch mid-morning you're out of luck - and there are no minibars in the rooms even though there are empty working fridges. There is a commissary that sells food and drinks but, like everything other 'service', it was closed more often than open.
Then there's the "privacy". We have never done so much "socializing" in our lives. Typical scenario for a meal: find a 'dressed' table (hard to do as they only set up a few of the many on hand), sit down with a drink and your food, start to talk and eat and have a family of four (homeowners) come up and say, as they are sitting down at your table, "mind if we join you?" Many times we did mind and a lot of the people were very nice, but this was our getaway and we wanted to savour it on our own. So keep in mind, when they say it's a club it is very much a club, you are just a guest and not, in the island's argot, a "belonger".
The food was fine but we did find standing in a buffet line everyday for breakfast and lunch a bit like a depressing assembly line. Little details like having a reading light burnt out in our room all week were irksome but overall the biggest problem with this resort is that it is about the homeowners and not the guests. If you are willing to pay rates like these, try the truly secluded Petit Saint Vincent or Peter Island.
The only thing The Meridian Club has going for it is its beach - breathtaking! The most beautiful blue water and soft sand (watch out for the sand spurs!) but given all the other problems we didn't feel this was enough to make up for it. The beach is spectacular and this dinosaur of a club is coasting on it.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank wooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2005

We just returned from our 15th wedding anniversary and couldn't have picked a better way to spend it than on our own private beach with a gourmet chef. The views, water, and sand on this little island are spectacular. When we arrived for our 7 night stay, another couple, returning the the M.C., came on our LITTLE flight. When we arrived, Junior happily greeted us, drove us to the front desk on his golf cart (no cars are on the island), gave us lunch, showed us around, and informed us that we four now made the guest number rise to 12. Yes, 12 guests! Junior was also happy to answer any question and perform any request, "no problem". We had reserved the Sand Dollar Cottage which is away from the other 12 rooms. It is a cute little room with a huge shower, screened in prorch, and views out to the crystal clear water. We later discovered that all the staff referred to our room as the "love shack" instead of just room 13. They laughed when we said our room the first few days. We joined in the complimentary snorkeling trip four mornings, twice we were the only ones going. Raymond was a terrific boat captain and took us to some beautiful spots. We got to stay out as long as we wanted. Floyd and Bang-Bang were always cheerful and chatty in the bar and restaurant. The one restaurant, which rings a bell at the scheduled dining hours, was superb. The chef, Brett, was amazing. The food was to die for at all times. The front desk board always listed arrivals/departures and high/low tide. Low tide is a good time to go to Sand Dollar Point and look for sand dollars. We went daily and found many. This hotel provided the feeling of being deserted on an island all alone. We never saw anyone on the beach, and with no tv's, radios, or phones, never heard anything either. However, the mosquitos are large enough in number to carry someone off. The rooms are un-airconditioned and we were bite MANY times, regardless of how much Off we used. Mosquito nets over the beds would be very very helpful. And the new "magnet" sytems could not be used enough. The nightly fogging was very little deterant. But we loved it here, and will definately return, when the mosquito bites heal.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank cristip_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2004

As with most, life is hectic and stressful, so we are not unique, but were feeling the stress of life.....so we wanted a quiet, peaceful resort for a short getaway to de-stress. My husband, our daughter and myself left Thanksgiving morninhg.......A 3 hour non-stop flight from JFK, and a 7-minute flight in a small 6-seater plane, put us on what we felt like our own private island! There is a new management team -- a great young couple, Brett, a wonderful chef, and a man of all trades, and his lovely wife, Julie. They have only been there 3 weeks, yet seemed to have things under control. The food was excellent and accommodating to everyone's tastes. 3 meals a day, plus high-tea, plus at 6:30 p.m. guests are invited to go to the upstairs club bar room where you can get drinks and delicious complimentary hors deurves. We did mingle with some of the home owners, Sally and her two daughters, Patty and Sally particularly, made us feel so welcome, as well as guests like ourselves, who were very friendly. We play tennis, and there is one court -- although, not great, it is playable -- and note -- no lights for night play, which was disappointing. However, during our time there, it was cool enough to play in the morning without feeling too hot. Other than tennis, and lovely beaches and sand pathways to walk, there is not much else to do. If you like to fish, there is good bone fishing and deep sea fishing that can be arranged. They also offer snorkeling every day right off their beach, and diving can be arranged. We heard that golf can also be arranged by taking a 20-minute boat-ride into Provo. But, be advised, don't go there if you expect any sort of interraction after 11:00 p.m. or any nightlife! Everyone retires early and falls asleep reading their favorite book -- there are no TV's or telephones There is even a "no cell phone" policy on the island. New this year, is one small room with one dial-up computer which only sometimes worked. The latest we stayed up one night was to play Mexican Train -- dominoes -- with a lovely couple from Virginia who taught us how to play, and hope to meet them again someday. This domino game seems to be a trademark for the club and was great fun! Our beachfront rooms -- only 12 of them -- were roomy and clean, and serviced well. Lots of towels, and the beds were very comfortable. Any requst we made seemed to be honored. Also, nice screened porches in each, and a private outside shower in each which was lovely. However, the rooms were not as upscale as we had thought they should be. Bathrooms need to be redone and made more upscale. There is also no air conditioning which we were very nervous about. However, during our stay over Thanksgiving, the ceiling fans did an adequate job of keeping us cool. But I am not sure if I would come at peak season when it gets hotter. They should consider putting in air conditioning as part of becoming more upscale. One other drawback were the mosquitoes -- apparently after the bad hurricane season this year, the mosquitoes were quite bad the 5 days we were there. We were told that this was not normal and that the week before there had not been any -- or very little. I would check somehow on this aspect before going, especially if sensitive to bites. On the best note -- it is one of the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen! The sand is like baby powder, and as you wade in to swim, it is a gradual incline of powdery sand with little to no shells or rocks....no Teva's necessary! (but do go to Sand Dollar Point to find some shells -- ask Sally for hints and to point you in the right direction!) And, I hate shoes, so I loved going barefoot everywhere, even to dinner! They have a "no shoes necessary" policy everywhere! The dress is even more casual than what is described, but to keep with their preference, my husband adhered to long pants and a collared shirt at dinner, while my daughter and I wore summer skirts and twin sets. Pants are OK as well for ladies. Please note -- we really liked the privacy and the extreme peacefulness of the resort, so we would not want much to change. But we would want a bit more upscale features in the rooms. Even so, we would return at some point because it provided much serenity and peace. We definitely caught up on sleep and were ready to face the world again even after only 4 nights. We do recommend The Meridian Club highly!

15  Thank paul867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Charlottesville, VA
123
Reviewed December 18, 2003

The review Ohio dated February 24, 2002 is very thorough. We go everywhere and stay at the very finest the location can offer. During our trip to the Turks and Caicos, we also stayed at Parrot Cay in a detached beach villa. While the amenities (especially fitness and spa) at Parrot Cay are superb, we left the Meridian Club much happier and in a much better frame of mind.The rooms on Pine Cay are simple but your every need is taken care of in advance. Thinking is not required.
Wally, Bev and the staff do it all. If you know how to slow down and really relax, this is the place.There are only two drawbacks my husband and I can possibly dream up--the first being the lack of air conditioning which may be uncomfortable during the warmer months--or at least take some getting used to. In December, however, at times during the night we were actually chilly sleeping under the ceiling fan. The second possible drawback is the "no children under the age of 16 rule" at the hotel (except for the month of June.) As the parents of four, we do appreciate the pros and the cons. Be advised that children can not use the island's only swimming pool except in June--although entire families are welcome on the island at any time if they rent a house.
Travelling without our children this time, we very much appreciated this rule! However, the place is so idyllic and safe with the best and cleanest and most pristine beach we'd ever seen so it's the kind of place where you can imagine bringing the whole family. Bev and Wally are the best managers of any property large or small that we've encountered anywhere in the world. (Our personal travel resume is impressive by almost anyone's standards. ) Not only do they take good care of their guests and the homeowners, but they have done a masterful job of taking care of the staff. The staff was friendly, seemed very happy (not the case at Parrot Cay). It appears they appreciate being treated as a key ingredient to the island's success. This is rare. By all accounts, the homeowners on the island are incredibly wealthy and yet are not prone to showing off. There are no trophy houses and no indications of this wealth--except the most telling fact that they have been able to resist the urge to over develop this island and have the funds to keep it the way it has been for decades. This may sound a little wacky, but it's the kind of vacation that reminds your fondest childhood memories--a time when the world felt much safer. It makes you want to A) turn back the clock and wish that you and your children could permanently inhabit that world and B) never leave. In the Caribbean we have done Bermuda (several times), Barbados twice including Sandy Lane, Caneel Bay, Atlantis, St. Kitts, Anguilla (Cap Juluca and Temenos), St. Maarten/La Samanna, Mustique (four different fabulous houses including L'Ansecoy, Les Jollies Eaux and Hibiscus), Puerto Rico, Casa de Campo in the Dominican, Nevis Four Seasons. And some great ones we have yet to try. However, there is something special about Pine Cay that we think will be hard to find again.

23  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 23, 2002

I promised that I would write a trip report when we returned from our weeklong stay at the Meridian Club on Pine Cay in the Turks and Caicos. Here it is:

This was our first visit to the Turks and Caicos, although we have traveled fairly extensively in the Caribbean. We spent the first two nights of our trip at Point Grace (see separate posting) before we transferred to Pine Cay for the next 7 nights.

Pine Cay is a private island (about 2 miles long) and is owned by the approximately 40 homeowners on the island. The Meridian Club is a small 10 room resort with two bars and one very good restaurant. In addition to the ten rooms, there are also several houses that are available to rent when the owner is not in residence. We opted to rent a house as they did not have two rooms available for the time of our visit.

You arrive at the Meridian Club either by boat or very small plane Global Airways). The resort will tell you how you will be transferred prior to your arrival. They make all of the arrangements for you and the transfer is free with a stay of at least 7 nights. If you don't stay seven nights, the transfer is charged to you and I believe it is about $145 each way.

Anyway, we arrived by a small plane and landed on the 2800' runway. We were met at the plane by the island managers: Beverly and Wally. We were given our two golf carts and they led us to the house that we were renting for the week. The house overlooked a freshwater pond and past that there was a view of the ocean.

We rented a house called 'Still Water'. It had two bedrooms and a pull-out couch in what could be a third bedroom. There were three full baths and a laundry room. There was a fully stocked kitchen and there is a commissary on the island where you can buy supplies.

Transportation around the island is either on foot or via golf cart. There are no cars on Pine Cay. The houses each come with two carts and guests staying in a room can rent a golf cart if they so choose.

The restaurant was excellent. Breakfast and lunch were buffet style with hot entrées cooked to order at breakfast. You placed your dinner order at lunchtime and there were always three entrees to choose from. The food was excellent! There was always lots of fresh fruit and the desserts were worth dying for. Wednesday night they have what they call 'native night' where they serve food in traditional Caribbean style and the have a 'beach BBQ' on Saturday nights. Dress is casual during the day and men wear collared shirts and slacks at night. Shoes are optional at all meals. There is usually a visiting chef who helps keep things new. The meals are included with a stay in the guestrooms, but are an additional $90 pp per day if you are renting a house and choose to get on the meal plan. We thought this was money well spent. The only negative comment I have ever heard was that a guest requested crème brulee and they did not prepare it for her. They served it several times during our stay.

I cannot say enough positive things about the staff. They were extremely friendly and welcoming. They quickly learned your name and went out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

There is a nice pool and there are endless white sand beaches. It is possible to lay on the beach and go hours without seeing another person. The water is clear and light blue and it is usually very calm due to the protection of the nearby reefs.

The ten guest rooms have recently been remodeled. There are very nice outdoor showers with bamboo screening. The guestrooms are not fancy, but they are bright and cheerful and are designed to take advantage of the almost constant breeze. All ten ground floor rooms are beachfront. I was told that the rooms were very quiet even though they are built in duplex fashion

There is only one telephone at the Meridian Club and it is located in a remote outhouse looking building. The phone may or may not work and nobody seems to really care. There are no televisions and only occasionally does an arriving guest bring a newspaper with them. The office does have a fax although I heard that it was very expensive to use it. You are truly cut off from the outside world and this seems to help the guests relax and focus on their beautiful surroundings.

The typical guest seemed to be a very financially secure and well-traveled person nearing or in retirement, although there were some guests in their thirties. The guests were all very friendly and down to earth and most gathered for cocktails before dinner. We were the only first time guests during part of our stay, but this did not prevent us from interacting with the other guests, many of whom had been visiting annually for more that ten years.

There were daily snorkeling excursions to the reefs that surround the island. They also offered trips to Little Way Cay to feed the iguanas and to a local island called Ft. George. Hobie Cats sailboats and Kayaks were available at no charge on the beach.

In my opinion this resort is ideal for someone who enjoys reading, snorkeling, walking on the beach and relaxing. There is no nightlife or wild parties. There is simply sun, sand, and good food.

We had a great time and we are eagerly looking forward to returning as soon as possible.

As a final note, getting to the Turks and Caicos is currently a little challenging. American Airlines has four daily flights from Miami to Provo and four flights a week from JFK to Provo. Miami Air (the planes looked OLD) also flies from JFK. Delta had service from Atlanta, but discontinued it after 9/11. They are expected to resume taking reservations this spring with service starting next fall.

38  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Cay
7.3 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,466 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
464 reviews
9.5 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#4 of 44 in Providenciales
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos
8.7 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
6.4 mi away
The Tuscany
The Tuscany
#1 of 44 in Providenciales
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos

Address: Pine Cay
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Pine Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pine Cay
Price Range: $1,034 - $1,565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meridian Club is a private island hideaway resort in the Turks & Caicos islands of the Caribbean, with two miles of deserted, pristine white-sand beach (just 90 minutes by air from Miami). The property is environmentally sensitive and ideal for those seeking an unspoiled secluded retreat. Founded in 1973, the Meridian Club offers a Caribbean experience the way it was before the appearance of big hotels and condominiums, jet skis and beach umbrella communities. No crowds, no cars, no noise - a step back in time to a simpler, less hectic life. 12 beachfront/premium rooms and the Sand Dollar Cottage are set among sand dunes, sea oats and sea grapes, fronting on the beach. Some of the privately owned homes that share the island are also available for rent. Soothing trade winds ensure comfortable temperatures and low humidity year round while the surrounding waters (averaging a pleasant 75° - 80° Fahrenheit) teem with marine life. Underwater visibility often exceeds 100 feet and there are miles of coral gardens within a five minute boat ride. Ashore, Pine Cay remains a pristine natural haven, a private secluded island with vast open space and seven freshwater ponds, a perfect habitat for the abundant local fauna and flora. Winner of several awards from TripAdvisor, Andrew Harper, Caribbean Journal and Fodors honored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Club Hotel Pine Cay
Meridian Hotel Pine Cay
The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos Turks And Caicos/Pine Cay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing