We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic, repeat visit a must”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pine Cay
killeen,tx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic, repeat visit a must”
Reviewed March 15, 2011

arriving at provincials(capital city) we were met by the manager beverly plachta and immediately taken to the dock for a 25 minute ride to pine cay. the meridian club is on a private island with a 13 room lodge and what they call the homey moon lodge. the rooms ate decorated in very tasteful pastel colors. you have showers inside/outside, seperated dressing,sitting rooms, enclosed screen patio with immediate access to the beach. the view is spectacular with the aqua blue water and broad clean beaches. the ability to see the stars at night with out ambient city lights has to be seen to be believed. i could go on and on. the staff were spot on with service and very friendly. the chefs outdid themselves though i understand this is the norm. this is a definite repeat visit. a perfect place to decompress. highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brucer522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    9
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
103
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2011

My girlfriend and I spent the New Year's Holiday (Dec. 28, 2010 - Jan. 4, 2011) in the Turks and Caicos. Specifically, we stayed on the small, private island of Pine Cay at the Meridian Club. We received the highest level of service, often executed invisibly, in the most relaxed atmosphere I can conjure.

The club is the primary accomodation on the island with just 12 beachfront rooms and a separate cottage available. Our room right on the beach was luxurious and enormous with four fully indepedent spaces: the sleeping area, sitting lounge, screened patio, and dressing/bathing room. An outdoor shower and private tiki shade a few steps closer to the water completed the suite.

We stayed in one of the rooms closest to the main club building but hardly noticed any disturbance thanks to the separated architectural layout. Our room and the adjacent made up a duplex structure separate from the next. The only other structures on the island are some private homes, staff housing, and related operational buildings.

Golf carts are the primary mode around the island. They, and the lack of telephones and televisions, help to maintain the incredibly peaceful and "removed from the world" relaxation.

Included with a stay at the club are delightful meals prepared by a masterful kitchen from fresh local ingredients as well as continental favorites. The offerings each evening were problematic only in that we could not enjoy them all.

While there, the New Year was celebrated with a special Titanic theme complete with a twenty foot-long sinking ship in the pool! Guests were invited with reproduction tickets to board the White Star Cruise Line and dress for the theme. The popular event attracted hotel guests, homeowners, and off-island guests for well over one hundred attending the well-produced, highly-detailed evening. The event added a bit of welcome excitement for my restless self and stood out at a resort where relaxaion is provided so thoroughly, one is literally able to do nothing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chester_stacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

The isolated location (minimal noise, beautiful beach) is the sole reason to seek the Meridian Club out. Also working in its favor are the attentive resident managers who work at be efficient, helpful and warm. HOWEVER, it's Ground Hog Day revisited in the mood and daily routine of the complex. Not under management's control, is the high rate of repeat customers who just can't get enough of the place or seemingly each other. There's a real clubbiness to the evening 6:30 cocktail gatherings and although people do make an effort to chat up the new-bees one can't help feel that you're either 20 years too late or that your visiting a plush nursing home. This place is not for those who like to loll about on vacation - breakfast ENDS at 9:45 am - just about when we barely roll out of bed...and the staff, courteous, maybe friendly but also extremely officious, starts sweeping your dishes away before you've even touched your coffee @ 9:30. No food is served until lunch again - when the bell rings (at once, I sympathesized with my cat! ). However, as we were boating back to the mainland on our departure, another guest mentioned that for sleepy heads room service can be ordered...we did not realize that - ah well. Lunches were passable and just fair - and while there was always a salad much of the food was heavy stews and creamy broths (also evident in the tummies of the attending crowd - meow!). Interestingly, if you didn't grab your dessert from the get-go there most likely would be none when you returned after the main meal. Those big-bellied (BB) guests took multiples leaving none for others - the kitchen leaves out a designated amount - but we soon caught on and balanced multiple buffet dishes through the line - although in the end we probably shouldn't have eaten it in the first place so as not to eventually become BB-ed!!!. DInner however was another story; quite good - a choice of 3 entrees, your preference. i.e. you inform the cook at the start of the lunch line what you expect for dinner. The 'commissary' where groceries can be bought is open 2-3pm every day. Since there are no more than 12-15 guests at any one time, rooms are made up early in the day and extra white towels are made available, which is nice. The rooms themselves however are what one might call 'original Caribbean' - adequate and camp-like but not 'fancy'. Effort however, is made to keep the grounds and beaches well groomed. In the end, since we just wanted to rest 'n' read on the beach, which was white and gorgeous - the vacation was by no means a disaster.....BUT would we go back? - probably not...we'd like to find place without the boarding school regimentation, yet still be efficient, lighter fare to eat and with an overall air of rustic sophistication. The search continues.....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank knitbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

My husband and I went to Meridian Club in late January. We had been to T&C before but never Meridian Club. Well, it was truly spectacular. The beach was OURS!!! We almost never saw a sole on it and the water was the most beautiful water I had ever seen in the Caribbean. The club has only 12 rooms and one small cottage all of which are directly on the beach.
The food was very good....I never missed a meal!!! And, the Staff were even better. BTW, the bartenders were terrific,namely Floyd and "Bang Bang"! The dining room staff also were wonderful.
The spa is just a little cottage where one gets a massage...not just any kind of massage but THE BEST MASSAGE given by a petite Balinese woman named Yanni. She is so strong and "adorable" and you leave the massage feeling euphoric!!!!
We ate dinner alone at a table for 2 the first night and that was the last night we ate alone because the guests at the Meridian all got along well and by the time we left we had a whole new group of friends that we never knew before. It felt like one big family. I really hated to leave. It was the most relaxing place and if you need to unwind then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zipperup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Just returned from the TCI and we had a wonderful time. Stayed 2 nights in Provo at the Alexandra Resort and since this was our first time to TCI we did want to explore Provo as well. Great Resort. Next was on to Pine Cay and the Meridian Club. What a wonderful place to unwind, unplug and reconnect. The beaches in TCI are beautiful and the wonderful thing about Pine Cay is that you don't have to share it with many resorts - only one so it is very private. No phones or TV so you get to enjoy nature. The food at the club is awesome. We will be back.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank frgbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2011

My wife and I have very busy jobs and to find a place like the Meridian Club was previously just a dream. The trip from the midwest was remarkably easy and once we arrived on the island and saw the pristine beaches devoid of any people we felt like we stepped off a speeding train! The staff immediately put us at ease and we soon got to know most of them by first name. The amenities and service are simple and typical of island living but cleanliness of the whole island was exceptional and the rooms were beyond comfortable. If you are looking for night life and shopping this is not the place to be but if you are yearning for a relaxing and romantic getaway or a peaceful family vacation where you actually spend time together then look no further. We felt like we owned the place and were all alone but it was magical how the staff was immediately available for the asking. The daily feast of the gourmet meals and fresh breads and cookies were a delight but usually healthy. The security force and isolation of this island put us at ease and the only danger my wife would fear would be from my sailing exploits!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2010

At the end of November 2010, my husband and I stayed at The Meridian Club on Pine Cay. I must admit that we had been anticipating our stay at this resort for quite a few years, so our expectations were high. AND we were not disappointed!

Service & Staff – was beyond reproach, attentive, professional, discrete and friendly! We have been travelling to the Caribbean for more than 20 years and I can easily say that this was the best service, nothing was overlooked and attention was paid to every detail.

Accommodations – our room was spacious, clean and well designed. We had a large sleeping area with a king sized bed, a dressing area with built in shelving and plenty of hanging space; a sitting room, a screened-in porch and an outdoor seating area complete with an outdoor shower. The room was meticulously cleaned everyday with plenty of towels and fresh bedding.

Food – was so very delicious! Breakfast was buffet style with the options of having a variety of hot choices such as omelets, French toast, eggs any way etc. Lunches were set as a buffet with hot and cold choices and homemade desserts too! Dinner on most nights was a la carte, definitely 4 star cuisine; a couple of nights was an outdoor BBQ with at least three different choices. With a pastry chef on staff we were well looked after. Every night from 6 to 7:30 cocktails were served, this was a fun way to meet the other guests.

Activities – daily at 10 a.m. a boat was available to go to the reef for some snorkeling also you could request to be dropped off on Ft-George for some serious beachcombing. Deep sea fishing and bone fishing were also available. Every Wednesday evening a short movie is shown outdoors near the runway, ppl line up their golf carts to watch the show with popcorn. A favorite activity was walking on the pristine 2 mile beach, so very beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepper4prez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Cay
7.3 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 45 in Providenciales
2,367 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
411 reviews
9.5 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Venetian on Grace Bay
The Venetian on Grace Bay
#2 of 45 in Providenciales
227 reviews
5.0 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
560 reviews
5.1 mi away
COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos

Property: The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos
Address: Pine Cay
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Pine Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pine Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meridian Club is a private island hideaway resort in the Turks & Caicos islands of the Caribbean, with two miles of deserted, pristine white-sand beach (just 90 minutes by air from Miami). The property is environmentally sensitive and ideal for those seeking an unspoiled secluded retreat. Founded in 1973, the Meridian Club offers a Caribbean experience the way it was before the appearance of big hotels and condominiums, jet skis and beach umbrella communities. No crowds, no cars, no noise - a step back in time to a simpler, less hectic life. 12 beachfront/premium rooms and the Sand Dollar Cottage are set among sand dunes, sea oats and sea grapes, fronting on the beach. Some of the privately owned homes that share the island are also available for rent. Soothing trade winds ensure comfortable temperatures and low humidity year round while the surrounding waters (averaging a pleasant 75° - 80° Fahrenheit) teem with marine life. Underwater visibility often exceeds 100 feet and there are miles of coral gardens within a five minute boat ride. Ashore, Pine Cay remains a pristine natural haven, a private secluded island with vast open space and seven freshwater ponds, a perfect habitat for the abundant local fauna and flora. Winner of several awards from TripAdvisor, Andrew Harper, Caribbean Journal and Fodors honored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, West Indies and Priceline so you can book your The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Club Hotel Pine Cay
Meridian Hotel Pine Cay
The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos Turks And Caicos/Pine Cay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing