We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salt Cay Return - Different lodging; GREAT!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Cay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Villas of Salt Cay
Long Island
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Salt Cay Return - Different lodging; GREAT!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Managed to fit in one last long weekend on Salt Cay and we tried a different place to stay and it was great!!

The VoSC are ideally placed so that this time we did not need to rent a buggy.
just a few hundred yards from the dock and Debbies great bar & grill!!

We walked around the salinas and enjoyed sunset drinks on the patio,
dinner was at Debbies for the freshest, tastiest grouper ever!! Sunday night was the world famous BBQ ribs night!!

After being in the sun, sea & sand all day, one major plus is the pool here - very refreshing!!

The room was clean and very comfy, a small fridge and stove meant we could be self sufficiant if we wanted.

Would higly reccomend!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Husby-Amp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Homestead, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Visiting Salt Cay is a way to forget about city life. If you like Diving or snorkling it is the place to go.
The people are friendly. It is a very out of the way Island. You should be prepared to bring cash and rent a golf cart (buggy).
We stayed in the house at the Villas and it is beautiful. George the owner is hospitale and want you to be satisfied with the accomodations.
Be prepared to be on a desolate Island. There are two restaruants we went to Debbies and Porters both are excellent.
I suggest you bring snacks and even water with you, although you can get water a a local store.
This is a primative place so be ready to relax, dive swim and eat well. We did have wifi and tv.
Take along your shampoo toothpaste and sundries.
Richard the DiveMaster is wonderful. You will enjoy a trip with him.
Best of Luck.

Susan and Sharlene

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanL980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I just returned from an 8 night stay at the Villas of Salt Cay. It was one of our best vacations ever. We chose to go completely device free, no phone, no internet and no t.v.! We completed 16 dives in 7 days with Salt Cay divers which I will review separately.

We were pleasantly surprised when we got to our cabana room. Usually pictures on the website look better than reality, but in this case it was the opposite. The room was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. It had a comfortable bed with soft sheets. The furniture looked like new and we had plenty of storage for our clothes and other items. The kitchenette was well furnished and stocked with appropriate dishes and utensils and plenty of storage space. The bathroom had storage under the sink and a small medicine cabinet. The shower was hot and the water pressure was fine. It also had THE SOFTEST towels I have ever felt!

We had beautiful views out both sides of the room, one to the east looking at the salt ponds and sunrise and one to the west looking at the ocean and sunset. The patio had a table with chairs and loungers. There was a wall between the patio and small beach which was sandy to a point and then rocky the further out you got and the rocks were slippery too.

There is a pool with tables/chairs and loungers.

We were able to fix breakfast and lunch in our room and ate dinners at Debbie’s Coral Reef and Porter’s Island Thyme, both were excellent and I will also review them separately. We were able to pick up simple basics at the 3 small stores on the island. If we needed something they didn’t have, Debbie offered and would try to get it elsewhere for us.

The location was central. We rented a golf cart from Candy to get us around. I am glad we did as I feel we were able to explore more of the island.

We had a couple issues which Debbie and Richard resolved the very same day, I was very impressed. Richard lives on site at the Villas and is available for any questions or issues. He is always service with a smile!

After touring around the island I am very happy with our decision to stay at the Villas of Salt Cay. We both decided that upon a return visit to Salt Cay, this will most likely be our accommodation of choice because of the amenities, location and service provided by Debbie and Richard.

Room Tip: The rooms are basically all the same. The only differences I could see were the colors on the walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrinkldogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasOfSaltCay, Manager at The Villas of Salt Cay, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks so very much for coming to stay at the Villas of Salt Cay. I am so glad you enjoyed the Cabanas as your choice of accommodation. We sure enjoyed you and your husband, and hope you come back to visit us again on Salt cay in the very near future. Have a great rest of the year.

-Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the 3 bedroom main house. Unlike the previous poster, we were charmed by the accommodations. 2 of the 3 bedrooms had ensuites and the water pressure was just fine! The house itself is right on the beach and was an easy stroll or golf cart ride to everywhere and anywhere. Each night we were lulled to sleep by the lapping waves and treated to a beautiful sky full of stars. The house was well stocked with all the appliances one could want, if you wanted to cook, and had the most luxurious bath towels that rivaled any 5 star hotel. There is also a small pool for guests' usage.

Debbie set all of this up for us. We had multiple emails, explaining our bedroom requirements and our preference to be close to "the action" (ie the restaurants and dive shop!!) and she was always helpful and prompt in her replies.

We had a lovely time and wanted for nothing in this lovely island house and would not hesitate in recommending Debbie and the Villas of Salt Cay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasOfSaltCay, Manager at The Villas of Salt Cay, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so very much for your stay at the the Villas of Salt Cay. I truly appreciate your kind remarks and I'm so happy you found the house to be as wonderful as you did.
I look forward to your return to stay at the Villas and experience lots of whales, diving, and calm seas.

Best regards,

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at the Viillas of Salt Cay from Dec. 20th -29th/12. The location was good, close to "downtown" by golf cart. The good ends there. We were in the main house. We could only use one bathroom, as the second bathroom had no light and no water pressure. We told Debbie about this our second day there, yet nothing was done. We even found a ladder in the shed on the property and tried to change the light ourselves but it was corroded and impossible to remove in order to change the bulb. The bedroom downstairs had no lights or power outlets that worked. The fridge conked out and all our meat defrosted. The kitchen had barely any cookware, not even a strainer. The cookware that was there was old and barely functional. There were no outside lights, so good luck getting in at night or trying to use the barbeque outside in the dark. The back porch was covered in broken glass.There was a TV screen with no hookup to any cable, satellite or anything. The entertainment system downstairs had a picture thrown in front of it, because of course it didn't work either. The phone was unplugged, and then we found you couldn't even use it to make a local call. My wife's earring fell under the bed, and the dirt and filth under there was deplorable. Keep in mind this house is in the middle of nowhere! $200 a night if it was in perfect working order would have been fair. This is a neglected property that needs a ton of work to even be rentable. $500 a night has got us magnificent properties in any of the other islands we have visited. This place was listed for 595 a night originally. And forget the Koi pond, long dead and gone. No mats for your feet, so we had to keep towels there to wash the salt off. This property is a complete and utter ripoff and misrepresentation, so save your money and go anywhere else.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikeycanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasOfSaltCay, Manager at The Villas of Salt Cay, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at the Villas. First and foremost, I am so sorry that you were disappointed. Other than the light fixture, I wish you would have shared these issues with the caretaker so they could have been addressed while you were here. Several of the problems you mentioned were miscommunication, and our lack of giving you a more thorough orientation to the house, as well as some of the more interesting quirks of island living. My impression upon your departure is that you and your family loved Salt Cay, and we hope you give us another opportunity to show that we took your comments seriously. All of your concerns have been resolved and more. Hope to see you in Salt Cay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We enjoyed staying at the Villas during our visit to Salt Cay. The location is easily accessible to "downtown" by foot, bike or buggy (local term for golf cart). Though on the island's main street, it is a relatively quiet location and enjoys cool cross-breezes from the ocean. As with any international destination, be sure to check on the details and amenities before you arrive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cfillio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasOfSaltCay, Manager at The Villas of Salt Cay, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

The Villas are lovely and in the perfect location - right on the main road that connects one part of Salt Cay to the other, with the salt ponds on one side and the ocean on the other, and are close to everything you'd want to get to. All the rooms front on the ocean side, so they're very quiet except for the sound of the surf. The rooms are very comfortable (not luxurious, but clean and nice), and cross-ventilation ensures a nice temperature. Our room had a kitchenette, which is great if you wanted a few do-it-yourself meals. There's a deck running the full length of the Villa rooms, which was a great spot to read and watch as whales passed by (if you're lucky). The Villas also have a swimming pool, along with gardens and a koi pond. Debbie (the manager, see Salt Cay Divers and Coral Reef Bar and Grill), did the airport transfers and went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable. Be sure to arrange for a buggy or bicycle before you arrive because they can be in high demand and you'll want transportation to get around. The Villas also had free high-speed internet a plus for ensuring you're reachable from home in an emergency.

Room Tip: Choose one of the Villas if you're a couple. The Main House is best if you're a large group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msprinzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasOfSaltCay, Manager at The Villas of Salt Cay, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Villas! Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Cay
22.8 mi away
East Bay Resort
East Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in South Caicos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
10.0 mi away
Osprey Beach Hotel
Osprey Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grand Turk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
10.3 mi away
Turks Head Inne
Turks Head Inne
#2 of 2 in Cockburn Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Bohio Dive Resort
Bohio Dive Resort
#1 of 2 in Cockburn Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
23.2 mi away
Sailrock Resort
Sailrock Resort
#2 of 3 in South Caicos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
10.4 mi away
Grand Turk Inn
Grand Turk Inn
#2 of 4 in Cockburn Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas of Salt Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas of Salt Cay

Property: The Villas of Salt Cay
Address: Victoria Street, TKCA 1ZZ, Salt Cay
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Salt Cay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Salt Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Villas Of Salt Cay Turks And Caicos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing