We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
28
15
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
15
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 43 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2017

This is the most conveniently located lodging place for the dive shop, harbor, whale-watching boats, and restaurants. It lies between the main street (a dirt road barely a mile long known as Victoria Street) and the ocean. Right across the street are the large salt ponds with various wading birds to be seen.
There are five units, and the two end units have small but complete kitchens with high quality pots and pans. The three center units have kitchenettes with an under-the-counter fridge. Our end unit provided paper towels, dishwashing soap, small bars of hand soap, and shampoo, plenty of bath towels. On the spacious screened terrace was a table and chairs, a clothesline, and a small tub of water for washing sand off our feet.
This is a simple and affordable place. There are some signs of age and wear, such as peeling paint, but everything is clean, the bedding is comfortable and seems new, there is enough space for all your stuff, there is plenty of hot water and the showers have good water pressure. If you stay for a week, there is a midweek housekeeping visit. The housekeeper can do a load of laundry for you ($10 extra charge).
The shady landscaped grounds and cross-ventilation made air conditioning unnecessary for us, though some of the other guests used it. Bicycles are included, so we explored the whole island without the need for a golf cart. We did hear noise on a couple of nights when parties broke up and people staggered home on the road right outside our bedroom window.
There may be some fancier and more “polished” lodgings on Salt Cay, but at substantially higher prices, and not as conveniently located. Tradewinds is great for divers and other active people who want to get out and do things. For internet access, go to the Coral Reef Bar & Grill, owned by the same people and just steps away (okay, it’s about the length of a football field away). Even when they are closed, you can sit on their covered deck and use the wireless.
A couple of weeks in advance of arrival, you can request groceries to be delivered your lodgings. I will try to post specific suggestions about groceries on the forum.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurroStation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2016

My wife and I decided to dive with Salt Cay divers for a week and this guest suite is perfectly situated right beside it. It had all the amenities we needed including a kitchen and ample space to dry out our gear.
The apartment also has bicycles that you can use for free to wander around the island. It also is situated right in front of a beach. A grocery store (Nettys) is a 5 minute walk.
What made this place work though is the graciousness of the owner, Debbie, who picked us up from the airport, and drove us to the guest suite herself. On the day of our departure, she also drove us back to the terminal.
Thanks again, Debbie, for the awesome hospitality.

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank lgenec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2016

A clean, comfortable, convenient, safe, and absolutely perfect home base for this solo woman traveler enjoying all the rustic island experiences and unique in-water adventures Salt Cay offers. Debbie Manos and her crew (Tradewinds, Coral Reef, Salt Cay Divers) made everything easy-breezy. Ideal location.

During my week-long stay I explored the whole island on foot alone, immersing myself in the laid-back island vibe; collected a pocketful of lovely shells, a sea biscuit, and sea urchin as souvenirs; greeted each new day relishing dawn over the salinas across the street; savored glorious sunsets from "my" lounge chair on the little Tradewinds beach, just steps from my room; relished the dark nights dripping with stars there too, and watched an incredible fireball (Earth-grazer) streak slowly across the sky, low near the horizon - luckily I had company that particular night, or I may not have believed it myself!; played nature-baby on gorgeous deserted North Beach; snorkeled right from the shore there too; swam quietly with friendly sting rays at Gibbs Cay one afternoon, before the cruise ship hoardes from Grand Turk arrived; went out with Salt Cay Divers to visit with humpbacks twice daily, on both morning and afternoon trips, whenever weather allowed; had utterly soul-shattering in-water swims with humpbacks ten different times!; snorkeled alone near the dive boat, while scuba divers went off as a group to explore the Endymion shipwreck site ... then, on the way back, spent almost 1/2 hour in the water with a new calf and its mother, "Pinball" (identified later by her fluke pattern "fingerprint" - a whale I have seen on whale watch trips, in her summer feeding grounds near Jeffrey's Ledge in New England waters every summer for the past 4 years - how amazing is *that*??); watched whales surface, spout, fluke, and breach often throughout the week, from various spots on the island - on the path to North Beach - many times from the cannon on the hill, from the deck at Coral Reef, and even at sunset while relaxing on the beach outside my room at Tradewinds; shared fantastic meals, cocktails, cold beer, fascinating conversations, tons of laughter, life-altering experiences with our whale guides, boat captain, dive master, locals, ex-pats, other island visitors who all felt like friends from the start - linked by common bonds - a passion for this beautiful world, appreciation for nature's miracles and whimsy, the serendipity of crossing paths with kindred spirits. Experiential memories I will always carry fondly in my heart.

This is probably not your place if you want luxury, room service, golf, tennis, tv, organized activities, artificially enhanced landscape, a Disney-fied experience.

Maybe not right for everyone ... but perfect for me!

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2016 via mobile

This is our second time staying here in 8 months. The place is very simple and relaxing. Keep the screen door closed. If you don't, hermit crabs like to stroll in, or a donkey. We love all the animals that come to visit.

The kitchen area is workable. It has pretty much everything you need to cook and serve a meal. We do bring a fair amount of snacks, lunch foods and liquor to Salt Cay. We usually have dinner at the Reef Bar.

The place is clean and well kept. It's not uncommon to see insects in the place. Look, you're on an island in the middle of nowhere, we expect it. The downside, no tv or Internet in the room/suite. The bed is comfortable but moves easily on the tile floor, that could be a good or a bad thing. We will be back!

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank DiverDave305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splash004, Owner at Tradewind Guest Suites on Salt Cay, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2016

Thanks so very much for coming back. Erin got such a big kick out of the hermit crab carrying his house into yours. Love to have you back again real soon. Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

If you travel to Salt Cay you will have a couple of good options for places to stay. After seeing the other options - we think this one is where you should stay.

Debbie is a welcoming hostess and does her best to ensure you have a great trip throughout - from the moment she picks you up at the airport until she drives you back. The whole staff at Tradewinds is also eager to please and will do what they can to help you when you need it.

If you want a full kitchen, you can have it and it will be well-equipped. It has all the tools and parts you might need or want. But don't miss going to the IGA supermarket in Provo to get all your supplies if you want to cook. The option exists to feed yourself on Salt Cay but only if bring all your food to the island with you.

If you opt to dine out, don't worry, you will be quite satisfied with the choices you have including the 2 most convenient places (Coral Reef Bar/Grill and Island Thyme). But please don't miss going to Miss Pat's for her Island cooking! Well worth the effort!

The Tradewinds is just what it should be on Salt Cay. Laid back. It's best feature is how well located it is and how caring Debbie is. You don't need to rent a bike (Debbie - with Willy's assistance provides them) or a golf cart. The setting is simple and clean and just what our family needed for a lovely dive vacation. It's a really good home base.

Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews