We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Diving. Nice vibe. An island apart.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Salt Cay Divers

Salt Cay Divers
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Salt Cay
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Diving. Nice vibe. An island apart.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Salt Cay is a place you come to to get away from the hustle-bustle of the world. And to dive. And for Debbie's delicious meals! And diving! It is a quiet island which you can meander around on bike or golf-cart. There's a gorgeous raw beach ideal for a picnic and also a fantastic point at the tip of the island where the waves frolic majestically collide. We loved spending a couple of hours there... in between dives:)

And the whales can be seen from Debbie's waterside resto. We knocked off a few days of scuba diving with an extremely amicable crew. Absolutely loved the proximity to our dive locations as it allowed us to spend our time between dives on the island.

This is an island to get away from the chaos of the world...and dive! Turtles, Nurse Sharks, giant crabs, and if you're lucky, a whale... we didn't get our whale this time...but maybe next time! Just a great diver's vibe!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheExpeditioners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splash004, Owner at Salt Cay Divers, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Roberto, thanks so much for your kind review. We loved meeting you and hope you come to see us again. We had a spectacular season with lots of in-water Humpback whale encounters. Sorry your one trip was not as successful but happy you got in some great dives with dolphins! Come mid Feb as there are lots of opportunities then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    5
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“can´t go wrong with Salt Cay Divers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked a whale watching trip with SCdivers and it sure was worth the while.
We got picked up in at the local airstrip by Debbie who was waiting for us, and she tooks us to dock where the boat was ready.
After about 1 1/2 hour on the boat searching for whales, we came upon a mother and her calf plus a male escort. We also had the opportunity to snorkel with the whales and snap some pretty cool pictures.
After the boat trip, it was time to relax in the local restaurant/beach bar with some nice lunch.
The overall atmosphere was very relaxed and very friendly. The service was excellent and if I ever came back to Turks & Caios I would book a trip to Salt Cay and go on a whale watching trip with Debbie and her partners.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tsb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splash004, Owner at Salt Cay Divers, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks so very much for your review. We had an excellent whale season and fantatic whale researchy regarding snorkelers in the water with humpback whales. So happy you both were able to experience this thrill of a lifetime. Hope you come back to Salt Cay Divers for further adventures. Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a fluke 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We will never forget our swimming encounters with the whales... nine times swimming with the whales over three days. We have continued to show the video footage of our soft encounters to everyone we talk to. Salt Cay is truly an amazing place to visit and we will always be grateful. Debbie was wonderful to work with as was all of her staff. We enjoyed the remote island experience complete with donkeys and cows wandering down the roads. Our diving experiences were fantastic in the clear waters close to the shore. There was not one thing we would change.. and we will definitely be back. Grateful for every minute we were there. Thank you!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splash004, Owner at Salt Cay Divers, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks so very much for sharing your valuable vacation time with us and our Humpback whales. The whales are an experience of a lifetime and so happy you were able to get in the water with them. Can't wait for you to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Weather, Whales, and Diving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I felt I had to respond to the 2 recent less than stellar reviews of Salt Cay Divers. I have been coming to Salt Cay for five years and enjoyed my visits so much that I built a house here. The weather in the Carribean in winter can be wonderful or not. Northers can blow in and affect the seas from time to time. In fact, Undercurrent recently published an article concerning diving and weather issues in the Carribean in winter. Mother Nature cannot be controlled.

I am surprised that people in Provo told guests that March was not a good time to see the whales; in fact it is an excellent time and this year has been especially fruitful. That being said, whale watching and encounters are not a given. It is like fishing. Some days you have wonderful luck and other days you don't.

I hope you will give Salt Cay Divers another chance as they are trying to do the best they can with matters that can be out of their control, like the weather.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank balena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splash004, Owner at Salt Cay Divers, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks so very much for comfirming that whales are truly here in March and that it is nature in its finest hour. We have had another 6 full days of in-water enclunter so far this month and then today, even though the weathr is wild, we saw three huge breeches from Coral Reef cafe. On land and sea, we still are seeing plenty of whales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what I expected”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were met on the island by Debbie who immediately gave us the bad news that our whale watching excursion was not going to happen....the sea was too rough to go out, so instead we can explore the island and or watch the whales from shore - Debbie told us just yesterday they could be seen from the restaurant breaching. An hour later we were met by lee the marine biologist who said we can go out if we don't mind rocky waves....we were all in for the adventure!! Unfortunately we didn't see any whales but had a great time, at least we got to go out!! Once we returned to Provo we were told by another dive company that the whales have already left and there was no way that we would see any whales, and that a trip was not recommended, we were shocked and felt cheated. Is debbie not telling guests the truth? Even when we returned from our outting debbie was surprised that we didn't see any whales and even went as far to say that we were the only party that went out and didn't see any whales. She generously gave us a discount! Lol. The highlight of our trip was the plane ride and the near death experience trying to make it back to shore. Bottom line, we trusted the experts and were let down, felt that these excursions are carrying on longer into the season then they should be. P.S. Don't go in march!!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splash004, Owner at Salt Cay Divers, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
I am so sorry you did not get what you expected.I feel so terrible when people are disappointed, but it is not because anyone mislead you. We are the" experts" in Salt Cay and can tell you that every day since your visit we have been in the water with whales.Whoever told you that the whales are gone, were very mistaken. They might have stopped the trips in Provo, but the whales are still very active in Salt Cay.March historically is an excellent time of year to come see the whales.Please check more Trip advisor reports in the next few weeks to see all the activity and happy customers we have had since your visit.
Please trust the fact that the only one that cheated you was the weather. I hope you give us another opportunity to get you up close to the whales next year. We just can not gusarantee anything that deals with wild life and weather. I hope you enjoyed the island despite your disappointment regarding the whales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Cay Divers also viewed

Salt Cay, Turks and Caicos
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
 
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
Cockburn Town, Grand Turk
 

Been to Salt Cay Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing