We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good!”
Review of Porter's Island Thyme - CLOSED

Porter's Island Thyme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Porter's Island Thyme on Salt Cay will close March 31, 2017.
Long Island
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Always good!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Have been to Porters numerous times now and always make a point of heading there when on Salt Cay.
Friday Pizza night is a great night with locals and expats enjoying the freshly made pizzas.

The dinner menu is extensive and there's always plnty of beer flowing!

A great time to be had - everytime!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Husby-Amp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwiii, Owner at Porter's Island Thyme, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
It delights us that we continue to live up to your expectations!

There is always something going on at Porter's Island Thyme. We always recommend stopping by when you arrive on Salt Cay to see what is happening during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    12
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delightful Time with Great Food”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

On the small island of Salt Cay, there is no better ambassador for it than Porter, the namesake of Island Thyme. The jovial Porter will make you a great drink, tell you some history of the island and serve you a great meal. The almond crusted snapper was perfect, and the deserts served up by Lolla and Pat were amazing. When on Salt Cay make sure you stop and try anything on the menu. Island Thyme also offers karaoke night on Wednesday night, Poker Tournament on Saturday and Pizza on Friday night. All of which are well attended. Finally, be sure to tell Porter & Heidi you would like to be a zoo keeper. Fun will surely follow!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Todd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwiii, Owner at Porter's Island Thyme, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are elated that you enjoyed your Island Thyme "Experience". We always recommend guests check with us when arriving on Salt Cay so that they will know the "happenings" on island during their stay and get a Welcome Packet.

Thanks for the great review and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good times & Good food at Island Thyme”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I just returned from an 8 night stay on Salt Cay. We enjoyed a few dinners at Porter’s Island Thyme.

Porter and his wife Haidee have a wonderful Restaurant/Bar. They are wonderful hosts and make you feel like you belong there. They have created both an “upscale” dining experience if you want it, and/or a relaxing and casual experience. Their food is delicious and well prepared. We really enjoyed the pizza night. I loved Porter’s/my mojito’s. I say Porter’s/my because he made me do the “muddling” and he did the rest. My husband had the Lobster fest and said it was very good. I had a filet and it was also very good, surprising because we live in Texas and I didn’t expect much from the little island in the middle of nowhere, put I was very pleasantly surprised. The banana bread with ice cream should not be missed! I went back one evening just for it. On our last night the local band was playing and the quiet little island just came alive.

One evening Haidee did a talk on turtles and the next morning we went to look for hatching baby turtles at 5am. Haidee is a wealth of information on turtles, it was great listening to her and talking with her about them.

Thank you Porter and Haidee for helping to make this one of our best vacations ever from the minute we arrived until the minute we left.!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wrinkldogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwiii, Owner at Porter's Island Thyme, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for the great review!

Humpback whales are being seen everyday now in their annual migration.

We look forward to having you back on Salt Cay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, MT
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Porter is quite a character!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We loved the ambiance, food and service at Island Thyme. We participated in a pig roast, which was excellent and had a second dinner here as well (scallops)--very yummy!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gemBozeman_MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwiii, Owner at Porter's Island Thyme, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We always have "Events" at Porter's Island Thyme. When you get to Salt Cay always stop by to see what is happening while you are on island.

Thanks again for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in the Caribbean!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Porter & Haidee's "Island Thyme" is the hub on Salt Cay for almost anything! Make it your first stop after you arrive. As soon as you walk into their gorgeous restaurant/shop, you can feel the warmth of their hospitality and feel at home right away. Have an incredible meal, get advice on anything you could need or want on Salt Cay, or peruse the best selection of gifts/keepsakes on the island. Haidee's local "Salt Works" gifts were definitely the perfect gift to bring back home (and we got a big bottle for ourselves too)! They have special nights throughout the week including lobster night...oh so tasty! They also treat their employees really well, which is great to see. Porter & Haidee have certainly done it right with this spot. It truly is a hidden gem and I hope more people realize that Salt Cay is the place to visit in the Turks & Caicos!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwiii, Owner at Porter's Island Thyme, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are elated you enjoyed your Island Thyme experience! Our team appreciates the great review and we look forward to your return to our special piece of paradise.

Please sign up to follow our Blogs so you will receive the latest information on "happenings" on Salt Cay.

Thanks again for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porter's Island Thyme also viewed

Salt Cay, Turks and Caicos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing