We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a special slice”

Daniel's Cafe by the Sea
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Daniel's Cafe is a family owned and operated local restaurant on Middle Caicos, a beautiful unspoiled island in the Turks and Caicos Islands. Located in Conch Bar village, Daniel's Cafe is right on the sea shore, with fabulous ocean views, great sea breezes - and whale watching from the patio January to March each year. WE WILL OPEN on DEC 1, 2016, currently closed, as our renovations are taking a bit longer than we hoped! Daniel's Cafe is Open Tuesday to Friday for lunch from 11am to 3pm...... so come on by - Daniel and the staff will be happy to welcome you!! Catch the LUNCH SPECIAL : choose Cracked Conch or Pan Fried Fish served with home made bread, fresh salad and mouth watering peas 'n rice for only $20.00! Come and relax, listen to great music, enjoy a fabulous local meal on the seashore patio and meet some great local TCI islanders............. While you are here, right next door you can visit the Middle Caicos Co-op for the best selection of handcrafts in Turks & Caicos! Daniel's Cafe is happy to host large groups for special events and custom catering anytime with reservation well in advance. Please visit our website for more information. PLEASE NOTE OUR SEASONAL CLOSURE SEPT 1 - NOV 1 2016 : Extended to DEC 1, 2016!!
caribbean
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Always a special slice”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Island life as it should be. Come here for good original island cooking - and the bread!!!! Conch, conch and more conch! PS the fish is good too!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    54
    6
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We only had the conch for a snack while dropping by the gift shop and to get a drink. We were chatted up as if no one had stopped in days. It was interesting. Still these types of experiences you will remember when you are home from your vacation. If you have time, it's not a bad stop, but don't go out of your way.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evansentourage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Quaint Place”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a place that you have to know and be looking for but it is well worth looking for. The food is good (get the conch) and the service is also very good. The view is excellent. If we come back to this area we will stop to eat here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brackjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Daniel's Cafe made our day!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

If I could add more than 5 green circles to this review I would. My husband and I stumbled upon this place on 4/23 and it was one of the most memorable stops on our trip to Turks and Caicos. After exploring Middle Caicos all the way down to the end of Wild Cow Run, we were searching for a cold beer and perhaps a small snack. Upon finding Daniels cafe, not only was the beer cold, but the staff was even cooler. Talking with Devon (Daniel's son) made our day. People like Devon are the true reason we explore islands like this...genuine. The bathrooms were impressively impeccable and the cracked conch and fritters were the best ever... Even after trying more at other locations back on Provo in the days following. Also, I highly recommend trying the homemade bread(with extra to-go) and the whole red snapper. I ended up taking the snapper back to the hotel and eating it many hours later. It was so amazingly good, I can only imagine how it would be "fresh and hot out the kitchen". This was hands down the best stop of our whole vacation. If for nothing else, taking the ferry over from Provo is worth a trip to Daniel's. Don't miss it! Robert & Melissa.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MoustangB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloway, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Daniel's Cafe”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We reluctantly left Mudjin Harbor and headed to Daniels Cafe for lunch-a top rated Trip Advisor stop. It was easy enough to find (basically because we had made an extra turn in the morning and had already passed by it!) The cook on the day we were there was Daniel’s son Levon (hope I spelled that right) and he kept us entertained with his Reggae music playing, his singing, his jokes and stories. The homemade bread is excellent, the drinks are cold. The food is made to order and it is a one man show so relax while you are waiting for your entree. My husband and I ordered the house special which was a pan fried fish, salad, rice and peas. HIs came with the entire fish and eyes looking at him. Mine came with the head cut off, (thankfully) when Levon was asked why this was the case his quick reply was “Cause ladies don’t get no head!”-good for a laugh. Our companions got fried conch and conch fritters which they thought were as good as if not better than Da Conch Shacks. (which were good!) Levon kept us laughing and eating for a good hour or so, some of his expressions cracked us up like, “My dog, he didn’t turn on the radio” when he was telling us a story of his dog, meaning that his dog didn’t know what was going on (we think...lol). When you finish here you can head next door to the coop for locally made souvenirs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jewelekuhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daniel's Cafe by the Sea also viewed

Middle Caicos, Turks and Caicos
North Caicos, Turks and Caicos
 
North Caicos, Turks and Caicos
North Caicos, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Daniel's Cafe by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing