We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little laid back hideaway.”
Review of Daniel's Cafe by the Sea - CLOSED

Daniel's Cafe by the Sea
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Daniel's Cafe is a family owned and operated local restaurant on Middle Caicos, a beautiful unspoiled island in the Turks and Caicos Islands. Located in Conch Bar village, Daniel's Cafe is right on the sea shore, with fabulous ocean views, great sea breezes - and whale watching from the patio January to March each year. WE WILL OPEN on DEC 1, 2016, currently closed, as our renovations are taking a bit longer than we hoped! Daniel's Cafe is Open Tuesday to Friday for lunch from 11am to 3pm...... so come on by - Daniel and the staff will be happy to welcome you!! Catch the LUNCH SPECIAL : choose Cracked Conch or Pan Fried Fish served with home made bread, fresh salad and mouth watering peas 'n rice for only $20.00! Come and relax, listen to great music, enjoy a fabulous local meal on the seashore patio and meet some great local TCI islanders............. While you are here, right next door you can visit the Middle Caicos Co-op for the best selection of handcrafts in Turks & Caicos! Daniel's Cafe is happy to host large groups for special events and custom catering anytime with reservation well in advance. Please visit our website for more information. PLEASE NOTE OUR SEASONAL CLOSURE SEPT 1 - NOV 1 2016 : Extended to DEC 1, 2016!!
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Daniel's son is now running the small little restaurant. They at known for fish, conch and rice and beans. Daniel was a one man show and belted out singing while working in kitchen and delivering food. Everyone pitches in to keep it moving by cleaning up table. Nice folks and pretty good food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BKKDEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 171 of 232 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Yes, the fried conch was the BEST I've ever had! Fresh, tasty, not rubbery. Our dining companions had the fresh fish, which was equally fabulous. But add in the local charm of a casual place next to the ocean; the humor and story-telling of Daniel, and the cute locally made goods in the co-op next door, and it becomes a special afternoon. Then venture up the road to the deserted and gorgeous Bambarra Beach and it becomes a glorious afternoon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DianeT418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stopped at Daniel's after a day of touring Middle Caicos. What a wonderful hidden gem. Everything about Daniel's was fantastic. We had the lunch special - one with the fried fish (snapper) and one with the fried conch. Both were outstanding and the "peas and rice" were great. That along with a couple of cold beers made for the perfect end to our day on Middle Caicos. Daniel came out to introduce himself to us and shared a bit about the place. He and his son are both very nice and make you feel right at home. It was the best meal we had during our week at TCI!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WorldIsWaiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a great time eating cracked conch and fish for lunch at Daniel's Cafe. Devon and Daniel are wonderful host and you easily spend 2 hours eating, listening to the music and chatting.
Middle Caicos is an interesting and intriguing island to visit, with these ghost settlements from where people seemed to have fled leaving everything behind and beautiful Bambarra beach all to yourself if you're lucky. Lunch at Daniel's should be part of everyone's experience while on Middle Caicos.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Xpat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

During our stay in T.C.I. North Caicos we rented a car and ventured all over, inlcuding heading across the hurricane smashed causeway to middle Caicos. Our ulitmate destination was Mudjin Harbour for some snorkeling, but we stopped at Daniel's along the way for lunch. Literally the highlight of that island, Daniel and his son are so friendly and awesome that I wanted to stay and wash dishes just for some more time there. Conch fritters are the best anywhere, Pan fried fish (served head and tail included) with rice and salad was demolished by yours truly in a matter of minutes! I admit, washed down with Coors Light was cheating a bit, but Daniels son Devon took in my tattoos, piercings, and genuine enjoyment of the real side of life as I anihilated his fish masterpiece, called me a warrior, and we instantly were buddies. Of course, he told us about a place of the road we could sneak away for some solitude, snorkeling, and shade all to ourselves. No where like it on Earth - before you die, go here. Bucket list number 48, check!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SusieSlaughterhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daniel's Cafe by the Sea also viewed

Middle Caicos, Turks and Caicos
North Caicos, Turks and Caicos
 
North Caicos, Turks and Caicos
North Caicos, Turks and Caicos
 
North Caicos, Turks and Caicos
North Caicos, Turks and Caicos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing