We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Horizon Resort
Nearby Hotels
COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos(Parrot Cay)(Great Value!)
$700
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sailrock Resort(South Caicos)(Great Value!)
$423
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$620
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
East Bay Resort(South Caicos)(Great Value!)
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Haven Resort(Providenciales)(Great Value!)
$730
$599
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Shore Club(Long Bay Beach)(Great Value!)
$484
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$975
$875
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tuscany(Providenciales)(Great Value!)
$775
$752
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Club Resort(Providenciales)(Great Value!)
$269
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal West Indies Resort(Providenciales)(Great Value!)
$434
$364
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
157
15
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
15
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmudjin harbordragon caybambarra beachmudjin bar and grillnorth caicosdaniel's cafethe cottagesconch barwild cowsecret beachrental carlobsterbug spraysunset cottagespecial islandsilver palmthe bed was super comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 177 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Blue Horizon Resort went way beyond our expectations! We have been traveling for 17 years seeking destinations which compliment our love for bone fishing. We have traveled throughout the Bahamas and have discovered some lovely places. Blue Horizon has definitely made our "top favorites" list! Lindsay and Matt along with members of their staff were so kind and accommodating . They made sure our stay was enjoyable and worry free. (We experienced a minor car problem, and within minutes the staff took care of it! Thank you Lindsay and Jackson! )
The beaches, the view, dining and accommodations were definitely Five Star! We have never seen so many flats for bonefish to gather on as well. Thanks to those for pointing out all the possibilities. We needed more than a week to fish each and every one- that's for sure!
As we read other reviews, we noticed that a common concern was the cost of groceries, beverages, gasoline, etc. this is typical of most island destinations. One must consider the cost of having food and supplies shipped in. It is just the way it is, not to be misinterpreted as "overly expensive or over priced." One should not let that be an obstacle in experiencing a visit to Blue Horizon! This was our first visit, but certainly not our last. Thank you everyone for a wonderful stay! We will be back!
Greg and Sandy

Room Tip: Whale Watch provided the best view for sunrises, sunsets, and of course, whales! Very quiet and private, with a lovely breeze.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at SeaWings for a week in Feb, 2014, and had a lovely time. This island is not for those seeking a mega-resort...it is a lot more remote. Once landing in Provo, you must take a cab or rent a car (the cheaper option, believe it or not) to get to the ferry, take a short ferry ride to North Caicos, then pick up a rental car at the dock there and drive about 45 min to Blue Horizon, which is on Middle Caicos. We HIGHLY recommend you stop at a grocery on Provo and fill up a large empty suitcase (or two) with groceries and beverages before getting on the ferry, as there are little to no groceries on either North or Middle Caicos. And on average, entrees at the few restaurants available run $20, and drinks $10, which adds up fast.
The SeaWings cottage is really great, with two nice bedrooms, two bathrooms, a big kitchen open to a large seating area, a screened in porch, a patio with grill, and killer views. It was clean and tidy and well-stocked, and Lindsay and Matt, the managers, were always available and on top of things.
We borrowed snorkeling gear one day and went out with a local fisherman, Dolphus, off Bambarra beach. We rented the resort's kayaks one morning and tooled around the nearby mangroves. We drove around the island a little bit, in our old jalopy rental, checking things out. There's a nice local artisan co-op down the road a hop, in Conch Bar, next to Daniel's Cafe. The locals are really friendly and helpful. We recommend the Barracuda Bar, Daniel's Cafe, The Last Chance Cafe, The Silver Palm , and Mudjin Grill (right there at Blue Horizon). You need to make reservations for dinner at least by 2pm at most places, as there really aren't many people on the island, and they don't automatically open every night.
The limestone cliffs and empty beach at Blue Horizon are spectacular. Most times there were no other people in sight. The water was warm and clear with lovely small waves in which to bob. The sand is white and soft. Lots of small sea shells to choose from, and some beach glass. Geckos running about. Birds: osprey, flamingos, white egrets, herons, warblers, cuban crows, oyster catchers, pelicans, smooth-billed anis, hummers, doves! And of course, bugs, though I only saw one mosquito, there were lots of no-see-ums when the wind died down, and my legs got chewed up. Bring a tube of aloe gel...priceless relief!
A note about SeaWings: it looks like a home will be built btwn the cottage and the ocean in the near future, so you might want to ask about it's progress before you book.
We would definitely stay at Blue Horizon again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cam99753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The cabin was beautiful. Quiet and spacious. Beautiful large screened in porch, where we spent the evenings and mornings listening to the ocean. The beach is also stunning- calm turquoise waters, white sand and beautiful coves and rock formations.

All of the settings were ideal for a deserted island vacation....BUT... between 11am-4pm (yes, all day) there is an endless stream of guided tours that come to this resort and to the beach. Dozens and dozens of people. Many in groups and with tour guides, I guess from cruise ships or day tripping from other islands. This constant stream of people turned the quiet isolated beach, which is the reason we chose to go here, into a pretty dense and populated resort. Not the vibe we were going for when we chose this destination at all.

Also, the Blue Horizon restaurant caters to this traffic, so it became even more of a turn-off. There were long waits for a table at lunch, and really over priced American food. It was very disappointing. Dinner also was pricy and pretty bad.
I suppose if you brought in all your food and cooked in the room, and went to other beaches between11-4 (what we ended up doing) you could have a quiet private vacation here. Otherwise, it was not what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jessie799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHorizonResort, General Manager at Blue Horizon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Blue Horizon Resort and our restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed your cottage and this location, but we are obviously very sorry to hear that you did not have the quiet isolated beach experience you were expecting! February is a peak month for tourism in Turks and Caicos, and Mudjin Harbour has become one of the main attractions of Middle Caicos. As such, we do have “day trippers” from the main island of Provo, and also from North Caicos. They come to the beach and restaurant not only for the beauty, but also to whale watch, as February is additionally the peak season for humpback whale sightings from our property! To clarify, there are no Cruise Ships – thankfully - coming into North or Middle Caicos, just a small ferry service that runs between North Caicos and Provo about 5 times/day. Despite this, Mudjin Harbor and all of Middle Caicos remains a giant, empty and peaceful island.

We do apologize for your dissatisfaction with our new restaurant. Our prices may seem steep but are absolutely on par with our neighboring islands and restaurants. We do serve a few familiar bar and grill menu items, but we always have fresh local island food, such as fish, lobster (when in season) and conch, hand delivered by local fishermen. We hope that you have a chance to visit us again one day, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Lindsay and Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed a week. It was perfect. We had one windy day, and then it calmed down and the ocean was smooth, warm and clear. We rented a car for two days to explore North and Middle. We found a number of beautiful beaches with no one there but us. You can't beat the beach at Blue Horizon, though. It is just gorgeous. Lindsay and Matt were very helpful. They answered all our questions, gave great suggestions, got us a car, and made the stay just that much better. It's clear that the people who stay at B.H. cherish the quiet and want to be away from the crowds. We ate at the Mudjin Bar & Grill, the Barracuda Beach Bar and Grill and Daniels. The food was excellent everywhere. We especially liked getting a late lunch and enjoying the beach before and after eating. We were in Dragonview, which was fully equipped, had a great screen porch with a view of the ocean, and was very private. There was another cottage right next door, but with the shrubbery, we couldn't see or hear anyone. Folks do come to visit the beach and restaurant, but they don't stay long, and their cars were only there during the day when we were at the beach. If you are looking for a quiet, beautiful, warm getaway, this is the place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed for 5 days late jan to Super Bowl sunday… great beaches and very quiet. We picked up food on the main Island of provo before we came over. Beer is expensive 90 for a case of red stripe. There is a liquer store on Middle that has a good selection at similar cost. Local Turks beer 55 a case. Note the grocery stores on Middle have near to nothing….no fresh meats ( at least at the one we stopped at ) . Weather water temp was amazing. pink sand beach amazing… Staff was great. Food is the only thing that is limited on this island. Mostly fish and Lobster…..We came from maine and have the best seafood in the US so it wasn't overly expressive to us but was good. Water is choppy but I liked it…probably a little ruff for small kids and bugs were not a problem.( but we live in a wood area not a city ). Co op was over priced and didn't have much to buy. Not sure that I would rent a car next time cause Blue Hrizon is by far the best spot on middle and there isn't much to see and the restaurants serve mostly the somethings . Needless to say its hard to find anything wrong with this resort…..we stayed in Dragon view but there is a cabin Tropica that is very close to dragon view ( nobody was there ) but I could see if it was full it could be a potential issue if those guests were loud…..

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews