We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Horizon Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Blue Haven Resort(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Shore Club(Long Bay Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tuscany(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Club Resort(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal West Indies Resort(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveler rating
156
15
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
15
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmudjin harbordragon caybambarra beachmudjin bar and grillnorth caicosdaniel's cafethe cottagesconch barwild cowsecret beachrental carlobsterbug spraysunset cottagespecial islandsilver palmthe bed was super comfortable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 176 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed a week. It was perfect. We had one windy day, and then it calmed down and the ocean was smooth, warm and clear. We rented a car for two days to explore North and Middle. We found a number of beautiful beaches with no one there but us. You can't beat the beach at Blue Horizon, though. It is just gorgeous. Lindsay and Matt were very helpful. They answered all our questions, gave great suggestions, got us a car, and made the stay just that much better. It's clear that the people who stay at B.H. cherish the quiet and want to be away from the crowds. We ate at the Mudjin Bar & Grill, the Barracuda Beach Bar and Grill and Daniels. The food was excellent everywhere. We especially liked getting a late lunch and enjoying the beach before and after eating. We were in Dragonview, which was fully equipped, had a great screen porch with a view of the ocean, and was very private. There was another cottage right next door, but with the shrubbery, we couldn't see or hear anyone. Folks do come to visit the beach and restaurant, but they don't stay long, and their cars were only there during the day when we were at the beach. If you are looking for a quiet, beautiful, warm getaway, this is the place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed for 5 days late jan to Super Bowl sunday… great beaches and very quiet. We picked up food on the main Island of provo before we came over. Beer is expensive 90 for a case of red stripe. There is a liquer store on Middle that has a good selection at similar cost. Local Turks beer 55 a case. Note the grocery stores on Middle have near to nothing….no fresh meats ( at least at the one we stopped at ) . Weather water temp was amazing. pink sand beach amazing… Staff was great. Food is the only thing that is limited on this island. Mostly fish and Lobster…..We came from maine and have the best seafood in the US so it wasn't overly expressive to us but was good. Water is choppy but I liked it…probably a little ruff for small kids and bugs were not a problem.( but we live in a wood area not a city ). Co op was over priced and didn't have much to buy. Not sure that I would rent a car next time cause Blue Hrizon is by far the best spot on middle and there isn't much to see and the restaurants serve mostly the somethings . Needless to say its hard to find anything wrong with this resort…..we stayed in Dragon view but there is a cabin Tropica that is very close to dragon view ( nobody was there ) but I could see if it was full it could be a potential issue if those guests were loud…..

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

After driving around Provo and North Caicos, we realized that our plan to spend the entire 5 days on Middle Caicos in general and at Blue Horizon in particular was perfect! It is exactly what we were looking for. No loud tourists barking at each other and frying themselves on the beaches here. Just beautiful natural surroundings with crystal clear water and extremely friendly and helpful staff. There are only 5 cottages here so it's impossible to make this a crowded touristy resort. We loved our cottage (Ridgetop) and the amazing view of the ocean from our front porch. We were hoping for a snow delay back in the north east so that we could stay at Blue Horizon longer.

The beach is beautiful, but during our stay in early February 2014 it was very windy and the water was quite choppy, so my plan to snorkel every day for hours at a time didn't really pan out. Bambarra beach was great, although there was not much to see in terms of sea life as the reefs are quite far away. I recommend a snorkeling guide if you're going to Middle or North Caicos to snorkel. We drove to Three May Cays one day only to endure an hour of very bad roads and unswimmable conditions. The waters there were very choppy as well, so I suggest to check with the locals before you head out there.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Pay a little more to stay at the cottages further from the main house. It will give you privacy and bigger accommodations
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malgosia_Gosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at Blue Horizon Feb 3-8, 2014. We had Tropico, one of the smaller cottages. We intended to cook, so ordered our groceries ahead of time (including wine and local-caught fish), and were happy to find the kitchen well stocked with utensils (whisk, cutting boards, etc.) as well as tupperware. Everything was clean, the water was drinkable, though has a strange odor sometimes (you can get a 5 gallon fresh water to drink from, if you do not like the tap water). Matt and Lindsay were always extremely welcoming and helpful. They organized everything for us, including our snorkeling trip, cave tour, cab rides to/from the North Caicos ferry, and even our last day at Provo before our flight.

We ate at the restaurant several times for dinner. The mahi mahi, cracked conch, and grilled lobster were excellent. But the winner really is the key lime pie! A must have! I normally do not like key lime pie, always has some strange, almost metallic taste for me, but this one was perfect.

We also had dinner once at Deniel's Cafe. Dvonn, Daniel's son, cooked for us. We met Daniel, too.

We had breakfast in our patio every morning with the views of the ocean.

We took a tour of the caves with a guide. The caves are very cool, some interesting food chains going on here between giant crabs, birds, and bats. The bats may be scary for some, but they do not bother you. They just fly in and out of the limestone chimneys with sound or light. Oh, and I did get pooped on (bat guano used to be a valuable good, sold as a rich fertilizer).

We went on a snorkeling excursion with Dolphus, who took us to a bunch of spots off of Bambarra Beach. We saw some amazing fish, and even dove for conch, which we tasted raw back on the boat.

The islands have a steady amount of trade winds. I asked Dolphus if the winds die down much, and he said only usually in October, otherwise always windy. The wind makes The short stretch of the Mudjin Beach (between the limestone cliffs by the restaurant and the point at Dragon Cay) calmer than the other side of the beach which gets the full effect of the ocean waves. But if you want real calm, I suggest you visit Bambarra Beach. The reef wall is miles away at Bambarra, so you can see the waves breaking almost at the horizon, and all you get at the beach is maybe some ripples. The water is pristine everywhere, and Bambarra is no exception. Water is waist high (for a short person) at high tide, and knee deep at low tide. Easy to swim, wade, hang out, snorkel... Lots of seashells on the beach and under the water, but mostly the sand is pristine and soft everywhere. Large conches on the beach and under the water. Bambarra beach is also lined with pine trees, so easy to set up your beach towel under the shade of a tree, read, sleep, and go swim in the sunny blue-green waters anytime you want. This makes the beach perfect also for families with babies, which may want more sun protection.

Mudjin and Bambarra were basically empty the whole time we were there. Once there was a group of 4-5 people visiting from Provo, but these groups never stay long (don't understand why not?!) We were either alone on the beach, or there was one more couple. Beaches go for miles, so very easy to avoid all people.

Wireless internet, cable tv all worked well for us in the cottage. We managed to check in online, and watch the winter olympics.

Some tips:
- Lunching at Mudjin Bar and Grill during whale season is great, because then you may be able to spot some whales!
- On your way to Bambarra, check out Flamingo Pond, which usually has several birds staying there.
- There are pelicans who live around Mudjin and Bambarra, so in the morning and afternoon, they will make trips back and forth and pose for photos.
- Renting a car is best if you are going to explore a different beach every day. We wanted a low-key stay, so only rented Matt and Lindsay's truck for two afternoons to go to Bambarra and one night for dinner at Daniel's.
- The locals are great to talk to. Dolphus, Daniel, Dvonn, and some people who work for (and are related to) Dolphus will tell you all sorts of stuff about the islands. Daniel and Dvonn are characters, so expect to listen to non-stop banter about everything from internet dating to shotguns (no kidding!)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluepigeon81080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed in the Sunrise cabin for 4 days over Christmas. It was the exact place we were looking for to get away from our busy lives in Canada. We relaxed and rejuvenated. The managers Lindsay and Matt (also Canadians) are very accommodating and helpful. Great host to the area. You feel like you are visiting friends. The restaurant on site is excellent however not cheap. I recommend like others have to bring food with you or order from Lindsay before coming so you don't have to eat out each meal. Make a trip to Wild Cow Run beach, just spectacular! Also, rent a jeep, you'll need it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hardytrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews