We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Horizon Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middle Caicos
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Spot”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed for 5 days late jan to Super Bowl sunday… great beaches and very quiet. We picked up food on the main Island of provo before we came over. Beer is expensive 90 for a case of red stripe. There is a liquer store on Middle that has a good selection at similar cost. Local Turks beer 55 a case. Note the grocery stores on Middle have near to nothing….no fresh meats ( at least at the one we stopped at ) . Weather water temp was amazing. pink sand beach amazing… Staff was great. Food is the only thing that is limited on this island. Mostly fish and Lobster…..We came from maine and have the best seafood in the US so it wasn't overly expressive to us but was good. Water is choppy but I liked it…probably a little ruff for small kids and bugs were not a problem.( but we live in a wood area not a city ). Co op was over priced and didn't have much to buy. Not sure that I would rent a car next time cause Blue Hrizon is by far the best spot on middle and there isn't much to see and the restaurants serve mostly the somethings . Needless to say its hard to find anything wrong with this resort…..we stayed in Dragon view but there is a cabin Tropica that is very close to dragon view ( nobody was there ) but I could see if it was full it could be a potential issue if those guests were loud…..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
126
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

After driving around Provo and North Caicos, we realized that our plan to spend the entire 5 days on Middle Caicos in general and at Blue Horizon in particular was perfect! It is exactly what we were looking for. No loud tourists barking at each other and frying themselves on the beaches here. Just beautiful natural surroundings with crystal clear water and extremely friendly and helpful staff. There are only 5 cottages here so it's impossible to make this a crowded touristy resort. We loved our cottage (Ridgetop) and the amazing view of the ocean from our front porch. We were hoping for a snow delay back in the north east so that we could stay at Blue Horizon longer.

The beach is beautiful, but during our stay in early February 2014 it was very windy and the water was quite choppy, so my plan to snorkel every day for hours at a time didn't really pan out. Bambarra beach was great, although there was not much to see in terms of sea life as the reefs are quite far away. I recommend a snorkeling guide if you're going to Middle or North Caicos to snorkel. We drove to Three May Cays one day only to endure an hour of very bad roads and unswimmable conditions. The waters there were very choppy as well, so I suggest to check with the locals before you head out there.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Pay a little more to stay at the cottages further from the main house. It will give you privacy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malgosia_Gosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at Blue Horizon Feb 3-8, 2014. We had Tropico, one of the smaller cottages. We intended to cook, so ordered our groceries ahead of time (including wine and local-caught fish), and were happy to find the kitchen well stocked with utensils (whisk, cutting boards, etc.) as well as tupperware. Everything was clean, the water was drinkable, though has a strange odor sometimes (you can get a 5 gallon fresh water to drink from, if you do not like the tap water). Matt and Lindsay were always extremely welcoming and helpful. They organized everything for us, including our snorkeling trip, cave tour, cab rides to/from the North Caicos ferry, and even our last day at Provo before our flight.

We ate at the restaurant several times for dinner. The mahi mahi, cracked conch, and grilled lobster were excellent. But the winner really is the key lime pie! A must have! I normally do not like key lime pie, always has some strange, almost metallic taste for me, but this one was perfect.

We also had dinner once at Deniel's Cafe. Dvonn, Daniel's son, cooked for us. We met Daniel, too.

We had breakfast in our patio every morning with the views of the ocean.

We took a tour of the caves with a guide. The caves are very cool, some interesting food chains going on here between giant crabs, birds, and bats. The bats may be scary for some, but they do not bother you. They just fly in and out of the limestone chimneys with sound or light. Oh, and I did get pooped on (bat guano used to be a valuable good, sold as a rich fertilizer).

We went on a snorkeling excursion with Dolphus, who took us to a bunch of spots off of Bambarra Beach. We saw some amazing fish, and even dove for conch, which we tasted raw back on the boat.

The islands have a steady amount of trade winds. I asked Dolphus if the winds die down much, and he said only usually in October, otherwise always windy. The wind makes The short stretch of the Mudjin Beach (between the limestone cliffs by the restaurant and the point at Dragon Cay) calmer than the other side of the beach which gets the full effect of the ocean waves. But if you want real calm, I suggest you visit Bambarra Beach. The reef wall is miles away at Bambarra, so you can see the waves breaking almost at the horizon, and all you get at the beach is maybe some ripples. The water is pristine everywhere, and Bambarra is no exception. Water is waist high (for a short person) at high tide, and knee deep at low tide. Easy to swim, wade, hang out, snorkel... Lots of seashells on the beach and under the water, but mostly the sand is pristine and soft everywhere. Large conches on the beach and under the water. Bambarra beach is also lined with pine trees, so easy to set up your beach towel under the shade of a tree, read, sleep, and go swim in the sunny blue-green waters anytime you want. This makes the beach perfect also for families with babies, which may want more sun protection.

Mudjin and Bambarra were basically empty the whole time we were there. Once there was a group of 4-5 people visiting from Provo, but these groups never stay long (don't understand why not?!) We were either alone on the beach, or there was one more couple. Beaches go for miles, so very easy to avoid all people.

Wireless internet, cable tv all worked well for us in the cottage. We managed to check in online, and watch the winter olympics.

Some tips:
- Lunching at Mudjin Bar and Grill during whale season is great, because then you may be able to spot some whales!
- On your way to Bambarra, check out Flamingo Pond, which usually has several birds staying there.
- There are pelicans who live around Mudjin and Bambarra, so in the morning and afternoon, they will make trips back and forth and pose for photos.
- Renting a car is best if you are going to explore a different beach every day. We wanted a low-key stay, so only rented Matt and Lindsay's truck for two afternoons to go to Bambarra and one night for dinner at Daniel's.
- The locals are great to talk to. Dolphus, Daniel, Dvonn, and some people who work for (and are related to) Dolphus will tell you all sorts of stuff about the islands. Daniel and Dvonn are characters, so expect to listen to non-stop banter about everything from internet dating to shotguns (no kidding!)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluepigeon81080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed in the Sunrise cabin for 4 days over Christmas. It was the exact place we were looking for to get away from our busy lives in Canada. We relaxed and rejuvenated. The managers Lindsay and Matt (also Canadians) are very accommodating and helpful. Great host to the area. You feel like you are visiting friends. The restaurant on site is excellent however not cheap. I recommend like others have to bring food with you or order from Lindsay before coming so you don't have to eat out each meal. Make a trip to Wild Cow Run beach, just spectacular! Also, rent a jeep, you'll need it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardytrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights early in January. We loved it.

The management, Lindsey and Matt, are perhaps the nicest we’ve ever met. Prior to our arrival, they came up with any number of suggestions for how they could help -- they lined up our car rental for us, they offered to stock the fridge, etc. Their helpfulness and friendliness continued throughout the trip. (They even spotted us some extra citronella candles.)

The cabins are very nice; ours had almost a full-size kitchen, air conditioning, lots of space, with a large screened-in porch looking out toward the sea. The beach is a five-minute walk away from the cabins, along a paved path down past the limestone bluffs.

The beach at Dragon Cay is breathtaking -- there were between zero and fifteen other people there at the times we were there, along a half-mile stretch. There are large limestone bluffs with hidden beaches tucked away between them. The views -- of the ocean, of the bluffs, of the expanses of empty beach -- were jaw-dropping.

Tips:
Bring plenty of high-DEET bug spray, and some calamine lotion. The hotel is not the problem -- the cabins are designed very well, and are as effective at keeping the mosquitos and flies out as any I’ve seen -- but the island is absolutely rife with bugs. The limestone bluffs are covered in vegetation that is, apparently, extremely hospitable for certain types of insects. Plan accordingly.

Definitely rent a car. The island is large, with plenty to go see. And there’s no traffic -- so its a piece of cake getting around.

Eating in Middle Caicos can get expensive; had we stayed more than three days, we would have looked into having the hotel stock the fridge with some groceries, to help keep costs down.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 303Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I didn't realize I had not left a review after my stay there last year. We were there in January of 2013. This place is awesome and Kristy and her Mom were excellent hosts. We stayed in the cottage pictured here and it was lovely. If you are lucky you may get a visit from Grouper. The restaurant had not been open to the public yet but they served the guests at the resort. We ate one dinner there and it was delish. The area is the most beautiful place I've ever been with very few people there. If you want to get away from it all, this is it. If I ever make it back to T&C again, we will have to stay here. Thanks Kristy!

Room Tip: All rooms have to be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank localgal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Blue Horizon a few years ago because we wanted an adventure outside of Provo and we loved it so much we went back AND it was even better the second time!

It was definitely quieter than Provo but that was perfect because some days it felt like we had the beach to ourselves. We did a few hikes that weren't flip flop friendly so bring some shoes!

This was my third time to Turks and each time I was eaten alive by mosquitos. This trip was no different. No matter where I go, those little buggers love me. So either be prepared to be bitten or go with someone like me (apparently they're all attracted to me and left others alone). There are also sand flies but they didn't bother me at all. We went at the end of November so the nights were a little more chilly than you would expect but coming from Canada it wasn't anything that wasn't welcomed. Just wore jeans and a light sweater and I could sit out all night.

The restaurant on the resort is new from the last time we stayed there and it's a welcome change! The place is gorgeous and the servers were so great! The view was amazing!!! The food was spectacular!!! We ate there on a few occasions and everything that I had was great. I would recommend the lobster bites, conch fritters, fish and chips, and lobster tail. Lunch was open daily to the public so you could just drop in but for dinner you have to make reservations.

The accommodations were perfect for me and my husband. I'm a city girl and I like nice things so "roughing it" isn't my thing. These accommodations had everything I needed. First off, they were super clean. The sheets, towels, all the kitchen stuff we had, even down to the locally made soap, was perfect. The managers, Matt and Lindsay, just amazing people that were so friendly and helpful, made our trip that much more better!

I would definitely return and recommended Blue Horizon Resort.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickyandhonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middle Caicos
23.4 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
24.4 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
21.4 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Inn
Caribbean Paradise Inn
#22 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
24.7 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Resort

Property: Blue Horizon Resort
Address: Mudjin Harbor, 33410, Middle Caicos
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Middle Caicos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middle Caicos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Horizon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Horizon Resort - Natural Beauty, Adventure and Tranquility. Located on Middle Caicos, Blue Horizon Resort's newly reinvented boutique eco-resort and wedding destination is unrivaled in the Caribbean. Set amidst stunning Mudjin Harbor and Dragon Cay, the scenery and tranquil turquoise waters are dramatic and unparalleled. Five fully equipped Caribbean style cottages and two larger villas are set perfectly into the landscape each with spectacular views. You will find your own private beach paradise at Blue Horizon Resort and all of our activities and excursions have been designed to compliment the natural settings without disturbing our fragile ecosystem. Concierge services are available and include tour arrangements, groceries and any special requests. Enjoy fishing, kayaking, caving and snorkeling. Or, simply relax and take pleasure in the serene beauty of your surroundings. Whether its adventure, romance or tranquility you seek this small intimate resort and friendly personal service will ensure a truly memorable escape. Our restaurant, Mudjin Bar & Grill, offers the best view in all of Turks and Caicos - Patio and indoor dining available - Serving Lunch Daily and Dinner by reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Blue Horizon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Middle Caicos
Blue Horizon Resort Middle Caicos, Turks And Caicos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing