We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the hype!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Horizon Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middle Caicos
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Believe the hype!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Blue Horizon Resort is everything that it is made out to be. The location is stunning, the service is great, the cottages are charming, and the new restaurant has great food! We stayed for one week in Sunrise, and were already planning a return trip while we were there. While the new restaurant give you more choices, I would still recommend cooking some meals for yourself. While the food was fantastic (particularly the Valentine's dinner which was one of the best I've ever had anywhere) it does add up in cost.

We had a jeep for the week, and were glad to be able to move around. We ended up driving back to North Caicos for a day of snorkelling (and to restock on beer at the liquor store) and also visited the various beaches, including two trips out to Wild Cow Run, one of the most beautiful (and empty) beaches in the Caribbean.

I'm sure we'll be back. There's nothing else like this in the world.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Colwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
126
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Richfield, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed one night in Provo to make sure we made the ferry this year.Coming from WI in winter is so unpredictable with snow storms.(We had major problems last year).

When we arrived at BHR we were met by Adam,the Chef in the new restaurant.He helped us out with the Direct TV hookup and was very helpful.We ended up staying in Sea Wings which is very roommy for only two people and we loved it.Its very private and away from the main house but still an easy walk to the beach.

We decided to freeze all of the meat we'd need for the trip and bring it down on the plane.Its much cheaper than buying it in Provo.Thirty six hours after packing it in the cooler and flying down,it was still mostly frozen.

The first few days were nothing but relaxing and doing absolutely nothing.Couldn't have been better.Christi was making a trip to Provo and asked if we needed anything.So she picked up some supplies for us and would meet us later when she got back.We met up with her at the restaurant that night during dinner and convinced us to have a drink while dinner was be served.The best decision we ever made.Christi and her mom(who was visiting)were a wealth of knowledge about Middle Caicos.It made us make plans to kayak and go out and explore.They also had us try the lobster Adam had made.Which was absolutely incredible.We made dinner reservation for the next day on the spot.Looking back on it,I wish we would have not brought any meat down for dinner.Adam is a very creative cook.Everything from the Lobster Mac and Cheese to the grouper was wonderful.I don't ever eat desert,but the three time we had dinner there...I did.Incredible!!!We left our frozen meats in the freezer for the cleaning lady.I highly recommend having dinner at the resort.Next time we are back we won't bother bringing any meat down.Adam is awesome.

Christi had suggested we rent the car one day and drive over to Wild Cow Run.The beach on the East end.Not another person there.Its much calmer there.You can walk out in waist deep water for a long ways.Depending on the tide,you could possibly walk to East Caicos,but it is a ways out.The drive out is fairly easy but does take some time.

We also did the Crossing Place trail going East to Daniel's Cafe.I nice place for a beer and lunch.We did the Crossing Place trail West out of BHR along the Limestone cliffs.I would not recommend this way.It is very rocky and has many holes in the limestone.The vines kept catching my boot laces.I didn't fall,but if I would have,it would have been bloody.Very sharp everywhere.Once you get past the limestone cliffs it does get better.If you do attempt this you must have good trail shoes or boots.You can always take them off when you get to one of the beaches.Sandals or flip flops will not work!I'd suggest driving down to the marker and do the trail starting at the road.

It was a wonderful time at BHR.I would recommend this to anyone.This is definately not the hustle and bustle of Provo,which I liked.Christi was great help with everything down the the last detail.Adam is a fantastic Chef.The natural beauty of Mudjin Harbor is stunning.We will be back!

Room Tip: Sea Wings is a two bedroom but worked great for the two of us.The inside and outside porches are gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Reload12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Paradise found! If you like remote, private, and serene this is the place for you. This was our 2nd visit. Exquisite beach in natural surroundings. Christi (the GM) was very accommodating.
There is a brand new restaurant that should prove to be a great amenity. Try the grouper!

Most enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jceby2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I asked for advice on Tripadvisor on where to go where it is private, few people at resort, breathtaking and romantic. Blue Horizon was suggested and I can't think of any place more perfect to meet all our needs. We were there 7 days and barely saw anyone. We were out hiking around and active, and sat around and relaxed - a little of everything. Stayed in Sunset which is very reasonably priced for the location.

Read the other well-written reviews, we won't repeat the same things. Having groceries delivered is great, and we brought a bag of foods that could travel as suggested by Amy Caicos and that was a really good idea.

Sunset can use a little updating, but it was perfectly fine for us. Definately lots of bugs and critters around, you may want to bring bug spray for the cottage as well. Cannot stress enough to bring bug spray for yourself - they eat you alive!!

Great trip and more wonderful memories to add from our travels!

Room Tip: Sunset was great and very affordable. The screened porch is priceless and you have a great view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you are looking for natural beauty, it doesn't get any more unique than this. We booked three days here but wished for a couple more. I won't describe it, as it's been thoroughly described here, only to say that the real thing is more magnificent than the pictures convey.

Christi and DC do an excellent job of making you comfortable and answering questions.

The new restaurant and deck views are stunning, and can only hope we will get back and have lunch one day. But if in the area, don't miss Daniel's too for a more local experience and very good lobster.

Dragon Cay and Mudgin Harbour are unforgettable and change by the minute, so plan lots of space for it on your camera.

Off the beaten track and so well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daffy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidor, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Blue Horizon Resort from October 23-29 2012. Christi, who is the resort manager, contacted us by email a month before we arrived to see if we needed the grocery service or rental car. Her and her right hand man DC will take care of everything for you if you need it. She set our rental car but since we were staying in Provo a few nights before we went to Middle Caicos we brought our own food. I would highly recommend taking advantage of letting them stock up the food for you. Being our first time to TCI, we had a lot of questions for her before we arrived and she was great about answering quickly. I also highly recommend viewing the TCI forums here on Trip Advisor, the information was invaluable. After taking the ferry over to North Caicos our rental car guy that Christi set up for us was there waiting for us. We opted for a car, but it's worth it to spend a few extra bucks for a jeep. You can also take advantage of renting a cell phone through Christi too. After crossing the causeway to Middle Caicos it's a couple of minutes drive to BHR, very easy to find. As soon as we pulled in Christi came out to greet us and show us our cottage. We stayed in the Tropico cottage and it was very cute and had pretty much everything you'll need besides personal products. There's satellite tv with lots of channels and wifi. The wifi was spotty but no big deal. It's surrounded by foliage and had good privacy but still had a view of the water and some of Dragon Cay. It was windy and rained here and there due to Hurricane Sandy, but there were no problems with that. The wind really helped keep the Mosquitos down and we didn't have no-see-ums until the last night when the wind laid down. They can get through the screens so just use repellant. We brought one bottle of repellant and that lasted the two of us. They were doing construction on the soon to open restaurant and other than the backhoe being noisy a few days it wasn't that bothersome. If you explore the island there are a lot of great things to see but even with a map you can get directions from Christi or DC. Not a lot of street signs or they can be hard to see. We went to the Indian caves just a few minutes from resort, went to Wild Cow Run which is a MUST. We were the only ones everyplace we went. Went to Daniel's Cafe for lunch and had great conch and a great time with Daniel and his son Devon. BHR had pathways to several lookout points and to the secret beach. You could also hike the trail, but we didn't. Lot's of lizards and hermit's everywhere but never in the cottage. We saw some osprey's, flamingos and herons. You'll be warned about leaving food out because of tiny ants and that is no joke, but we just kept stuff put away and they weren't a problem after that. Tried to set up a bone fishing trip but the weather didn't allow. Mudjin Harbor and Dragon Cay are a great place to just float and relax-even saw some barracuda. The resident potcake Grouper came to visit us a lot and we enjoyed his company. The screened in porch was great at all times of day or night and opening the windows and sliding doors was nice and quiet. The amount of stars you can see at night is breathtaking. I've never seen so many. If you are looking for a place that is off the beaten path, not looking for nightlife or shopping or a lot of people, this is THE place. It's a place for people looking to get away from it all. We rarely saw other cars when we went driving around. We loved our time at Blue Horizon and can't wait to go back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank GSDrulez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My son and I did a day trip to visit Middle Caicos. Very beautiful and non-populated island. We stopped by the Blue Horizon resort and the owner was very nice to let us walk around and visit the property. We have not stayed here, but if I want to get away from it all (I know, an overused statement- but in this case really true) in a paradise with no people, I would stay here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank embsellontv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middle Caicos
23.4 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 44 in Providenciales
2,404 reviews
21.4 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 44 in Providenciales
576 reviews
24.4 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 44 in Providenciales
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
814 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#6 of 44 in Providenciales
746 reviews
23.0 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Resort

Property: Blue Horizon Resort
Address: Mudjin Harbor, 33410, Middle Caicos
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Middle Caicos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middle Caicos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Horizon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Horizon Resort - Natural Beauty, Adventure and Tranquility. Located on Middle Caicos, Blue Horizon Resort's newly reinvented boutique eco-resort and wedding destination is unrivaled in the Caribbean. Set amidst stunning Mudjin Harbor and Dragon Cay, the scenery and tranquil turquoise waters are dramatic and unparalleled. Five fully equipped Caribbean style cottages and two larger villas are set perfectly into the landscape each with spectacular views. You will find your own private beach paradise at Blue Horizon Resort and all of our activities and excursions have been designed to compliment the natural settings without disturbing our fragile ecosystem. Concierge services are available and include tour arrangements, groceries and any special requests. Enjoy fishing, kayaking, caving and snorkeling. Or, simply relax and take pleasure in the serene beauty of your surroundings. Whether its adventure, romance or tranquility you seek this small intimate resort and friendly personal service will ensure a truly memorable escape. Our restaurant, Mudjin Bar & Grill, offers the best view in all of Turks and Caicos - Patio and indoor dining available - Serving Lunch Daily and Dinner by reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Blue Horizon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Middle Caicos
Blue Horizon Resort Middle Caicos, Turks And Caicos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing