We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views Most Relaxing Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Horizon Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middle Caicos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Spent 6 fabulous nights at the Blue Horizon Resort. Extremely well run by Christie who makes sure that you are well taken care of...from getting off the ferry, requests for groceries, and making dinner and other reservations. Incredible views of the sea and Dragon Key from every part of the property. As nice a beach as there is anywhere in the Turks and Caicos. This is a quiet place to relax.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jceby2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 173 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2011

We had the dragon view house on top and it was perfect for us. It was my 1.5 yr old, me and my wife (32), my brother (29), and my parents (70). 2 weeks may be too much for many but it wasn't long enough for us. The girls that work here were really amazing! We kayaked, fished (definitely a very fun experience because you catch the fish you see snorkeling and you can snorkel in the same trip), caved, beached, hiked and tanned. It's really secluded, you have to rent the girls car to go to town if for nothing else to buy food and see the other side of the island. There is 1 restaurant within a short drive, we went there once and would not recommend it, just buy your food or fish for it...if you fish early in your stay you can get lots of fish and conch. The colors are probably the best in the world, there are flamingos all over, dragon cay and the beach where you walk down through a cave (really cool) are basically your private beaches along with miles more beaches if you choose to hike, I also recommend the beach right by where the fishing boats go out, there are 3 little islands a good walk out but good snorkeling around them. The negatives are, it's very secluded (which is also a positive), you have to cook breakfast lunch and dinner and bring plenty of booze which is fairly expensive on the island, foliage is short and pokey (there werent many coconut trees), and there are lots of mosquitoes and sand flies so just assume your getting bit.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnymalakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Gorgeous views and beaches; a place to unwind completely. We never saw more than a handful of people per day around the resort, and when we went hiking or driving we had the scenery and beaches to ourselves. As everyone says, Christi is a very good hostess (e.g., she was there on Christmas Eve and Day to help us, whereas other places have had little to no one around for multiple days, and she was kind enough to charge us only for a half-day car rental even though we had planned on taking it the whole day). Be sure to buy fresh fish from her; we couldn't because the fisherman weren't going out, but we bought frozen lobster tails, which were absolutely massive and still great after 20 minutes in the oven. Middle and North Caicos is a great destination, and Blue Horizon is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dont_Stop_Believin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Where to begin? Blue Horizons is simply amazing. Our week in the Sunrise cottage exceeded all expectations. As all the other reviews rave, Christi is the perfect hostess. Christi, Bernadine and Adam, each impart a laid back and friendly vibe while being absolutely accommodating.

We were greeted at the ferry as arranged by the BHR and taken directly to the front door of the Sunrise cottage where we were greeted by Bernadine, Adam, and Grouper (BHR’s lovable potcake). Before even entering the cottage, we were captivated by the view. As other contributors have stated, photos cannot do it justice (not that we didn’t try). We met Christi a little later when she delivered dinner to us from one of the (few) local restaurants.

The sunrise cottage (quite spacious for two actually) was ready for us, simple, beautiful, spotless, with fresh flowers for the perfect touch! The groceries were stocked just as we had asked and the view was simply stunning. Directly out the front window is Dragon Cay and Mudjin Harbor. Spectacular!

For sure, when you visit BHR, follow Bernadine’s advice: don’t climb the dragon (the limestone is sharp) and when you get to the hole leading to the secret beach, don’t think about it, just go down (it’s not really that bad, and the stonework is incredible). The secret beach beyond the “hole” really can be all yours all day if you want. And if the ocean hadn’t been so choppy (thanks to Irene) we could have swam or snorkeled to another little beach beyond that one.

There are also some good snorkeling spots right off the beach about a mile down the road from Daniel’s café (a landmark of sorts) and off of Bambarra Beach. The water is crystal clear and the sand is so fine you just sink into it. With great directions from Christy, we also visited to Passing cow (a.k.a. Naked beach), meaning it really is secluded. Again, the water is unbelievably clear and the colors of the ocean - as they reach the horizon - go through every possible shade of blue.

We were already thinking of when we could come back before we even left. Blue Horizon Resort is everything wonderful everyone else has already described, and really so much more!! It was the private, romantic, fun, sun-filled perfect beach vacation we had dreamed of.

Room Tip: The Sunrise cottage has to be the best view of all - though I can't imagine any of them are bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank djtropicaldreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Blue Horizons is the perfect place for an out of the way, completely laid back vacation. If it sounds to good to be true all I can say is believe it. Christi is a great hostess, she has wonderful villas, a great staff a very cool dog named Grouper and she knows everyone on the island. Of course there are only a few hundred people there but that is the beauty of it. We spent hours and hours on the beaches sometimes going most of a day with seeing another human being. Eat out at one of the little cafes or get some local fish or lobster and cook in. Don't expect fancy restaurants or night clubs, this is the place to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackfromcville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

My husband and I have been visiting the Turks and Caicos Islands for many years. We have stayed at many of the hotels on Prove including: Villa Renaissance, West Bay Club, Regent Grand, Royal West Indies, and Ocean club (both.)

A trip to the islands is never complete (for us) without at least one trip over to Middle Caicos and Mudjin Harbor. It is one of the most beautiful spots imaginable..remote, dramatic, stunning views - nothing like Provo.

We debated even posting this review, as we hate to let our secret out, but if you like to get away from the crowds, this is a spot worth seeing. We usually come over for the day (no lodging available in the past) and bring lunch and lots of snacks. We have talked about the idea of re-doing wedding vows here, as it is a such an amazing spot. It is NOT a place to go if you like crowds, organized activites, and lots of food options. It is very off the beaten path, to say the least We cannot comment on the resort facilities (rooms etc.), but the location itself is stunning. This area also quite close to parrot cay if one wanted to stay at a different sort of hotel and then visit this locale as a day trip. Enjoy

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed in April 2011 with friends. They were in the Sunrise Cottage and I had the Sunset.

Beautiful cottage, beautiful beach and great owners.

We had a great time. My friend really enjoyed the hidden beach. I never made it there because you have to descend a rocky hole in the ground. I was happy just reading on my screened-in porch with the beautiful views.

Hints: 1. Take some frozen food in your checked luggage. We took spaghetti sauce and chili and they were both still frozen solid when we arrived in Provo and we had some nice home style dinners at BHR. 2. It is a HIKE to the beach. If you don't enjoy a long uphill/downhill hike to the beach with all your gear, stay on Provo. My friends liked this resort the best, but I preferred Provo because I could get to the beach without a workout.

Even though I rarely went to the beach this place is magical. Soooo beautiful!! I highly recommend the Sunset Cottage.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeepgirlsomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middle Caicos
23.4 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
24.4 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
544 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Tuscany
The Tuscany
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#16 of 44 in Providenciales
2,020 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
1,922 reviews
24.7 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Resort

Address: Mudjin Harbor, 33410, Middle Caicos
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Middle Caicos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middle Caicos
Price Range: $320 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Horizon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Horizon Resort - Natural Beauty, Adventure and Tranquility. Located on Middle Caicos, Blue Horizon Resort's newly reinvented boutique eco-resort and wedding destination is unrivaled in the Caribbean. Set amidst stunning Mudjin Harbor and Dragon Cay, the scenery and tranquil turquoise waters are dramatic and unparalleled. Five fully equipped Caribbean style cottages and two larger villas are set perfectly into the landscape each with spectacular views. You will find your own private beach paradise at Blue Horizon Resort and all of our activities and excursions have been designed to compliment the natural settings without disturbing our fragile ecosystem. Concierge services are available and include tour arrangements, groceries and any special requests. Enjoy fishing, kayaking, caving and snorkeling. Or, simply relax and take pleasure in the serene beauty of your surroundings. Whether its adventure, romance or tranquility you seek this small intimate resort and friendly personal service will ensure a truly memorable escape. Our restaurant, Mudjin Bar & Grill, offers the best view in all of Turks and Caicos - Patio and indoor dining available - Serving Lunch Daily and Dinner by reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Blue Horizon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Middle Caicos
Blue Horizon Resort Middle Caicos, Turks And Caicos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing