We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and Close to Algonquin Provincial Park”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oxtongue Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oxtongue Lake
GreenLeadersBronze level
NW of Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and Close to Algonquin Provincial Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We are just back from a great 5 night stay at Parkway. Nicely situated off the highway (thought there is still a little road noise), our little cottage #5 was clean, newly renovated and nicely equipped for the two of us. We would definitely return with our children as well. The beach was sandy and well kept. There were plenty of canoes to use as well as kayaks and paddle boats. Great access to Algonquin Park and a nice canoe ride to Ragged Falls (Oxtongue River). Really good value for comfortable, simple, cozy cottage.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all cottages have been renovated, so I'd recommend inquiring before you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelkook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    21
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
32
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Unless you enjoy small, smelly and dirty little cabins, with unfriendly if not hostile staff, you won't like this place
The "beach" is so small, muddy and unattractive, it goes hand in hand with the rusting "children's playground" partially camouflaged by the overgrown weeds. There is little here to find attractive, except the other resorts visible from the lake

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mund00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkwaycottages, Owner at Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
This review is total fiction and I would suggest malicious. We have over 200ft of sandy beach on Oxtongue Lake, We do not have a children’s playground only a set of swings (wood) and a basket ball net on the mown lawn behind the beach.
Our cottages are well maintained, one is three bedroom, others are two and one bedroom, they are certainly not dirty or smelly and there are many around the lake far smaller than ours. We do however have rules that are in place to ensure that the majority of our guests enjoy their stay with us. Some people obviously do not like being told that they cannot arrive before our 3pm check in time, annoy other guests or have drunken parties. These are rules that we will continue to enforce even though a disgruntled minority will try to harm our thriving resort with this kind of review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

This place is very nice. The owners are very friendly. It is close to Algonquin park. Some of the facilities need a bit upgrade. The room is cold at nights. So, we needed to turn on the heating. It was warm but the heater makes some kind of annoying noise. Hope they will fix it in the future. The rec room needs some attention. Perhaps. With a bit of cleaning do it may keep you busy when it is heavily raining....table tennis, dart...etc..
Had a great time. Definitely, will go back again!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gargamel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

Anyway we arrive at our log cabin accommodation just after 2 pm and it’s a great place to escape. Thick ceilings, wooden outdoor deck looking towards the big lake called Ox Tongue Lake, still semi-frozen over and huge. We are met by the Parkway Resort owners, Colin, Brenda and James. They are originally from the UK and have moved out here to be nearer the wilderness. They are really helpful and offer plenty of advice. They lend us a park permit and a guide on the park for a while. They even call ahead to see if the visitor centre is open – it’s not open as it is still officially winter here. I mention that I am going to make a fire and Colin drops some logs off at the fire pit. These guys are really kind and are service is definitely a word that comes to mind. Very friendly, responsive to e-mail and a pleasure to have stayed there. Very clean, very private and a great setting.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventuredon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2007

My family has been staying here every summer for over ten years, and we just love it. The accommodations are not luxurious, but the location is just beautiful.

The place changed ownership three years ago, and the new owners have been gradually upgrading the cottages. The new 3-BR cottage that they added is positively gorgeous. The older cottages are a little rundown, and some of them have issues (heavier-set people should stay away from #4, or expect some problems using the facilities - though I understand they plan to replace that cottage in the near future).

The real draw of the place is the beautiful setting on Oxtongue Lake, with easy access to Algonquin Park (5 km from the west gate on hwy 60) and to the town of Huntsville and Dorset (both about 20 minutes away). The fishing is great.

There are several cottage resorts on Oxtongue, and Parkway is not the most luxurious, but it is also far less expensive than some of the others. The setting is also somewhat more secluded than some of the larger outfits. We consider it an excellent value.

  • Liked — Location, location, location.
  • Disliked — Older facilities could stand an upgrade.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mad-Scientist42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxtongue Lake
18.7 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Provincial Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
4.7 mi away
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
#2 of 2 in Oxtongue Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Dwight Village Motel
Dwight Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Dwight
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakewoods Cottage Resort
5.6 mi away
The Lake of Bays Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post

Property: Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post
Address: 4412 Hwy 60 | Dwight- muskoka, Oxtongue Lake, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Oxtongue Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oxtongue Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkway Resort borders Algonquin Provincial Park with 8 one, two & three bedroom lakeside housekeeping accommodations, along with it's own Trading Post & store. Parkway Cottage Resort is located 6 minutes fro Algonquin Parks west gate and 30 minutes from Huntsville Ontario. We are Situated on the beautiful Oxtongue Lake off of hwy 60 and set in a wooded 7 acres. The lake shore cottages offer a wonderful view and we are the closest housekeeping resort west of the Park. NOW WITH FREE WI-FI IN REC HALL. 2016 Rates plus tax Cottage 1 $109.00 Daily $680.00 Weekly studio MAXIMUM 2 PEOPLE Cottage 2 $109.00 Daily $680.00 Weekly studio MAXIMUM 2 PEOPLE Lodge 3 $212.00 Daily $1,340 weekly 3 bedrooms MINIMUM 5 PEOPLE MAXIMUM 6 Cottage 4 $153.00 Daily $955.00 Weekly 2 bedrooms MINIMUM 4 PEOPLE MAXIMUM 5 Cottage 5 $142.00 Daily $840.00 Weekly MINIMUM 3 PEOPLE MAXIMUM 4 Cottage 6 $153.00 Daily $955.00 Weekly MINIMUM 4 PEOPLE MAXIMUM 6 Cottage 7 $153.00 Daily $955.00 Weekly MINIMUM 4 PEOPLE MAXIMUM 5 Cottage 8 $153.00 Daily $955.00 Weekly MINIMUM 4 PEOPLE MAXIMUM 5 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post Oxtongue Lake, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing