We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice stay overall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Algonquin Lakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oxtongue Lake
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“A nice stay overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

I need to get out of the busy schedule and unplug for a while so I decided to stay here. I am amazed by the service because the service staff is very nice and there are a lot of things that you can do here mostly nature adventures. Overall the stay went well it was just what I needed. I would recommend staying here at Algonquin Lakeside Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    97
    41
    40
    50
See reviews for
55
206
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We booked ahead by phone. Package offered was 2 nights, 2 breakfasts, 2 suppers for 2 people. hen we got there, the guy at the desk was surprised we had booked the pkg - owner hadn't told him. So h was very accommodating - said not to worry, he could cook. Suppers were not bad. Breakfast was awful. "homefries" were actually soggy, oven heated french fries. scrambled eggs were eggs mushed around a pan with a fork. Plus we had to tell him ahead of time what time we were eating although they advertised "all year round restaurant" we were the only ones eating (he sat in the dark on a stool near us while we ate)
Picture shows lakefront Inn - technically it was but here is a major highway bridge right beside you and another hotel right cross the water and its very narrow at that point.
The room was clean and comfortable but had a funky smell. I think if they correct these things it could be a nice spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corrinne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxtongue Lake hotels

Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Last week I visited Algonquin Lakeside Inn with my husband, must say it was indeed a memorable trip. The resort looked kind of newly renovated and had an exquisite lakeside view. It is a pretty convenient location, if you are looking to visit the Algonquin Park and Ragged waterfalls. In addition the staff was real nice and accommodating. The weather was also so good few of those days that my husband and I could enjoy a perfect hiking. Overall it’s a perfect place to be away from home. I told my husband I would definitely like to come back here and recommend it to our friends too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddamani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We went to ALGONQUIN inn last weekend and it became one of our most memorable trip. It was my first time leaving my house and going for a wonderful trip in Canada. After a very busy schedule and in a very long time my friends and I had so much fun. The staff was really helpful as it was our first time. We bought ALGONQUIN park pass for only half price and they also arranged guided moose trip for us. It was an amazing experience for me as well as my friends. We had a great weekend and also we saved a lot of money because the motel was running special 25% off on accommodation and meal. I would recommend ALGONQUIN Lakeside inn to everybody:)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 02sagar95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We booked our accommodation for its proximity to Algonquin Park through booking.com.
It was decent when we pulled up but when we got to the room it was far away from relaxing, and comfortable room! It was Shabby, disappointing and the decor in the room is out of date and housekeeping was horrible. Although the front desk staff was pleasant and helpful, there was no making up for the sad state of the room. Carpet was dirty, food and garbage under the bed, towels were stained and of poor quality and the beds gave us the most uncomfortable night’s "rest" we have ever had as the beds are old and have springs poking through. I've stayed in nicer budget motels.
Breakfast is very limited & there is a restaurant for dinners but was never open, Would not stay there ever again!!!!!
A little research revealed other, nicer motels & cottage resorts in the same price range & location & have more amenities.

Room Tip: find somewhere else, there are lots of other choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank femcat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I stay in hotels on a weekly basis for my work and I have had great service and flat out bad service. I've stayed in Hyatts, Ritz Carltons, Hilton's, etc. and I must say that the folks at the Algonquin Inn were EXCELLENT!
We checked in Valentine's night and were surprised with a free upgrade to a lake front room with a fireplace. Beautiful, rustic room with a clean comfy bed.
Will stay here again for sure!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I booked a weekend away at Algonquin Inn. When we arrived (Feb 14), they upgraded our room for Valentines to a suite with lake view and fireplace. Staff were very friendly and courteous. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxtongue Lake
18.6 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Provincial Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
4.7 mi away
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakewoods Cottage Resort
5.5 mi away
The Lake of Bays Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algonquin Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algonquin Lakeside Inn

Property: Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Address: 4382 Hwy 60, RR1, Oxtongue Lake, Ontario P0A 1H0 , Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Oxtongue Lake
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oxtongue Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Algonquin Lakeside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Algonquin Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Lakeside Hotel Algonquin Park
Algonquin Lakeside Resort
Algonquin Lakeside Inn Oxtongue Lake, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing