We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Location, Friendly Hosts, Great Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Callart View Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glencoe Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Callart View Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location, Friendly Hosts, Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Callart View B&B was an amazing location for our accommodation in Glencoe, Scotland, of the John O'Groats to Lands End cycling challenge. We had three rooms booked at the B&B and we were thankful of the accommodation when we arrived. The view across the Loch was beautiful and provided a fantastic backdrop when I woke up before a long day of cycling ahead.

Geoff & Lynn were very helpful not only on the day but in the run up to the booking, and gave me plenty of information that I needed. We asked if we could have an earlier breakfast prior to arriving, so we could get on our way with the cycling for day three. The porridge was amazing and the full Scottish breakfast was the best I had tasted so far. During breakfast Geoff was very chatty and gave us information on the day's cycling route which was very beneficial indeed.

This was a perfect place to stay for us as a cycling group, as it provided everything we needed to relax for our cycling challenge. The hosts were ever so friendly, the bedrooms were extremely comfortable and the cost of the rooms was extremely reasonable. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone completing the John O'Groats to Lands End cycling tour and anyone looking for a fantastical, stunning setting in the Scottish Highlands.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRHallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    24
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
120
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this rustic B&B. Our room had a beautiful view of the mountains and the loch. Our host, Lynn, was extremely friendly and helpful and made a reservation for us for dinner at a local seafood restaurant (which was excellent!) Delicious full breakfast. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask Lynn about the seafood restaurant on the opposite side of the loch. I've forgotten the name...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jarh1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were very well looked after at Callart View for 4 nights in August. We took 2 rooms across the landing from each other ( a double with beautiful views over the loch and a twin looking over the back for our children aged 11 and 9). We were made to feel very welcome and Lynn cooked the best breakfasts of our entire trip to Scotland. We particularly appreciated the fresh fruit and the real Scottish cooked breakfast. Our son managed to leave a cable behind in the room and Lynn very kindly offered to post it back.... very good service all round!

This is a beautiful place to base yourself to explore the local area. Our highlights included
> climbing Ben Nevis (we left our car at the Glen Nevis visitor centre and walked for 6 hours)
> visiting the Glen Coe visitor centre - really interesting explanation of history, geology and wildlife of the area and then walking in the area (signal hill )
> visiting the Glenfinnan monument and site of the viaduct where we watched the Jacobite steam train pass by (and then follow it along its route to Mallaig), driving back via the beautiful ruined castle of Tioram.
> ice climbing at Kinlochleven indoor centre (largest ice climbing centre in Europe... great for the children!)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank trailgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Callart View deserves its excellent reviews/ratings. It's a lovely house in an idyllic location, the breakfasts are well above the average, and Geoff & Lynn couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. We'd love to revisit Glencoe one day, and if we do, we know where to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank straight_outa_balham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our visit to Scotland. Wow, what a magnificent location overlooking the loch. Our room overlooked the loch and was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was great and hosts, Lynn and Geoff were magnificent. Would definitely stay here again. All the best to Lynn and Geoff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieAnn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here for the second time and loved it. Our room looked on to the loch. Room and bed was very comfortable with everything that you would want in a B and B. the breakfast was great, you have to try the porridge with raisins, almonds and whiskey. I don't even like whiskey but loved this combination! The scrambled egg and smoked salmon was also lovely. And finally, what makes it for me - real coffee! Very friendly hosts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buntyScotland_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean Va
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our experience at Callart View was similar to many other reviewers. Friendly hosts, clean rooms, outstanding breakfasts (and yes, the porridge is really good and it is not just the booze). Dinners are also available, but we didn’t get a chance to try. We consider this B&B to be an excellent value

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nelway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
0.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.1 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
3.0 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Glencoe Inn
The Glencoe Inn
#7 of 13 in Glencoe Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callart View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callart View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Callart View Bed & Breakfast
Address: Callart View 863 Kinlochleven ROAD | Glencoe, Glencoe Village PH49 4HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Glencoe Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Callart View Bed & Breakfast Glencoe, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing