We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit, won't be the last!!”
Review of Kings House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glencoe Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kings House Hotel
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“2nd visit, won't be the last!!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just returned from our second stay at the Kings House Hotel, had a great time.
We received a very warm welcome, the food is good and not expensive, especially appreciate breakfast being served on hot plates. The location is stunning and staff are helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: lovely views from rooms 9, 11 and 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayneWoroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    255
    135
    68
    36
See reviews for
98
267
63
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I first had a pint here over 20 years ago, and now, fat and 40, and still loving a walk in the mountains, I was delighted to stay here again. Visit nearly every year. Great atmosphere, great food that you'd want after a day on the hill, very friendly staff - good laugh and very hard working. there is always a good mix of people staying too, generally chirpy and chatty after a day walking or climbing.

Rooms are always very clean, very reasonably priced, and many have great views.

Love it, looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Now the rooms are very basic and the midges can be awful but don't let that put you off because: the location is second to none (we had a deer wandering around the hotel grounds), the food is hearty and not too expensive, there is good banter in the bar (I was there the night of the England v Scotland game), and it is cheap to stay.

Room Tip: Remeber to ask for en-suite. And book ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeorasMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is a welcome sight for hikers coming off Rannoch Moor on the West Highland Way, with little choice as to where to stay. What a lovely spot! My single room may have been modest, small and a tad shabby but it looked out onto the mountains of Glencoe and a deer wandered past my window. The hotel has a funky "Climbers' Bar" out the back where they serve the restaurant menu. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWBBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

After a day touring around we saw the hotel sign food served all day and went to check it out. Was not sure what to expect as on first appearances it looks pretty tired but once we were inside we were greeted but friendly bar staff who took our food and drinks order. The menu is good and the food came quickly. It was all very nice and we ended up staying for another drink once we finished. Free wifi in the lounge area. The friendly staff & good food at a reasonable price more than makes up for it looking tired in fact this only adds to the charm. When we left we had a short walk around outside and saw the deer they must love it there. The Skyfall location is about 10 mins drive from the hotel and worth the drive its a stunning location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russell n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My favorite Hotel on the WHW. Given a nice welcome by the bar man who checked us into our room which was nice and clean as was the bathroom. The hotel had a great atmosphere and friendly staff . The food was great and well priced. There were quite a few Deer wandering about next to the hotel which was a great photo oportunity. The location is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Unbeatable location in the very heart of Glencoe Valley. Surprisingly big and nicely decorated rooms (the hotel is indeed historic, dating from 17th century), good restaurant with local food. Wi-fi reception is limited only to hot-spot area (somewhere near the kitchen, so you will get full of haggis smell for the rest of your life!:) ).

Deer coming to the hotel doorstep as a natural tourist attraction! And by the way, Skyfall (latest James Bond) was also filmed somewhere around.

Room Tip: Have an extra from WHW and go take the chair lift of the Glencoe Skiing Resort for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V0lta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
13.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
132 reviews
10.1 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
311 reviews
11.2 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,167 reviews
6.7 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
463 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings House Hotel

Property: Kings House Hotel
Address: Glencoe Village PH49 4HY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glencoe Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Glencoe Village
Kings House Hotel Glencoe, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing