We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kings House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Glencoe House(Glencoe Village)
$985
$514
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$407
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holly Tree Hotel(Kentallen)
$219
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Leven Hotel(North Ballachulish)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballachulish Hotel(Ballachulish)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Croit Anna Hotel(Fort William)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (736)
Filter reviews
736 results
Traveler rating
219
263
146
69
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
263
146
69
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest highland wayrannoch moorgreat atmospherevenison burgerdrying roomwelcome sightremote locationbedroom windowthe publong walkdouble roomstunning locationstayed one nightfantastic viewsfull scottishdeerwalkers
Filter
Updating list...
425 - 430 of 736 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

like so many other guests, we were walking the west highland way and were well pleased with our night's stay here. What a view! Glen Coe and 360 degree mountain views. The evening meal was good old pub grub but it was fine. Our room had everything we needed and we had a good night's sleep. Breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day's walk ahead. What more could we ask?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemaryu_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A group of us were walking from Bridge of Orchy to Rannoch so stayed overnight at Kings House Hotel. Rooms simple but clean and very comfortable. Great wine, good pub grub - some of us had venison burgers which were delicious and all such good value. A roaring fire welcomed us when we arrived. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Enjoyed a great cooked breakfast the following morning - stunning location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We chose to stay at the King House Hotel primarily because of its stunning location. It is nestled amongst the mountains and hills of Glencoe, a breath-taking introduction to Highland scenery. You can tell you've hit the Highlands when you arrive at Glencoe. It feels very remote because all you can see in every direction is unspoilt, mountainous terrain. Many people describe seeing wild deer visit the grounds of the hotel; we missed out on this, probably because we only stayed one night. The decor inside the hotel was traditional, but probably could have done with a little upkeep and work in places. Rooms were clean with magnificent views outside your windows. Food was good, hearty 'pub-grub' style with a home cooked feel. The cajun chicken was fantastic and there was Haggis on the menu for those wanting to go traditional Scottish. Two real ales on tap but they weren't fantastic. There was however an excellent selection of Scottish Single Malt Whiskies though these where a little over-priced compared to other Highland pubs and restaurants we would visit as we continued our journey north. We settled in to a small lounge area with an open fire with a drink. Before long we'd kicked our walking boots off and felt very comfortable and relaxed, like we were in a friend's living room. The atmosphere was very relaxed; guests were walking around in their socks and you could take your drink outside, to the lounge or even back to your room. When it came to going to bed, you could tell the hotel is old: floorboards were creaky, the beds squeeky and you could hear every sound. Overall, I was quite happy with the Kings House Hotel and would visit again for the location and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanKaishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here during our walk on the West Highland Way and loved the place. The weather was great which made a big difference as the scenery looked fantastic and we could sit outside with the deer. We ate in the bar and enjoyed the venison burgers especially. The staff were very friendly, our room was comfortable with a very welcome bath to sooth aching muscles and the breakfast was very adequate to fuel another day's walking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

After walking 18 miles from Tyndrum we were happy to arrive at Kingshouse. This hotel is picture perfect and makes the most of the surrounding views of Bucaillie Etive Mor.

From previous visits to the bar we knew the quality of the food was great and it certainly did not disappoint this time. I had the venison casserole and my partner had the 3 bean casserole and both were delicious.

The room we were given was small but not cramped. Like the hotel, it has bags of character and immediately won us over. It was easily the best hotel room of our entire trip and the matress was perfectly firm.

The staff at the hotel were attentive, friendly and easy to engage with. They made us and our dog mac feel very welcome and served us breakfast in the lounge which had the most spectacular views.

Though we didn't make use of it, it was also good to know it had a proper laundry and drying room.

Overall this place is fantastic and I'd highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mercutio58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews