We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant stay on the West Highland Way!”
Review of Kings House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glencoe Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kings House Hotel
Arundel, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A brilliant stay on the West Highland Way!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We loved the Kings House! Three girls doing the West Highland Way, we had a triple room which had a greatly appreciated bath to soothe our aching joints. Great steak, roaring fire, too much (excellent) whisky and very friendly staff. Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia_Iles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    257
    139
    68
    36
See reviews for
101
268
66
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

You don't get much choice around here - it's the only place to stay for miles around. Still, you don't get ripped off, and it's actually pretty enjoyable here after a long day of walking.

The decor is a bit 'ski-lodge', which might put some people off but which I rather liked. It looks its age in some places, and the shower is quite weak. Having said that, the bar is great and the food is also pretty handy.

Overall, you'll have a good time staying here, especially if you'd walked a wet 20 miles as we had just done! Avoid the disappointing cheesecake on the menu, and don't worry if the water out of the taps comes out yellow - it's drinkable and just tastes a bit funny.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali_tabari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

While it is true that Kingshouse is showing its age a bit, it still is a way cool place to stay. On the West Highland Way, it is such a welcome site after the long day over Rannock Moor. Once you are settled (including doing a load of laundry!), the Hiker's Bar is the place to go. While the other bar/restaurant for guests is nice, it was much more interesting to hang out with the campers and other hikers in the Hiker's Bar while the rain and wind was howling outside. A great breakfast the next morning as well as the deer in the front completed my memorable stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timjstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very nice place in terms of a stay during a hiking trip with a couple of friends. We needed a shower, a meal that could exceed the average bar food level, and a couple of beers. I found myself injured a little and the staff helped me out with some pills, facilities and even a back-up public transport plan. Great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMrBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

And a very fine place to be, too. I stayed at Kings House for three nights in the autumn, and it was really terrific. The food left much to be desired, as did the decor, but the scenery was beyond spectacular. My room---warm, clean and comfortable---faced Buachaille Etive Mhor, and let me tell you, waking up to that view in the morning and going to sleep facing it at night (with the added benefit of seeing red deer foraging at 3 am) is not to be missed. I walked all the way to Glencoe village one day, up the Devil's Staircase another, and into Glen Etive and up the ski lift on the third, and had the best time. October weather was glorious, and no midges! If only the food had been better...

Room Tip: Ask for one facing west to a view of the Buachaille and the glen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurikKaradin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

You can see the kingshouse from about 2 miles away, its a very long 2 miles! The hotel itself is shabby but comfortable, good drying room... Food decent, Breakfast good, the bar was comfy and a welcome rest with a few beers after a long haul over Rannoch Moor, a 20 mile day for us. Staff friendly and helpful, thanks to the wee lady at breakfast who gets you seated and fed for the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The food is good and rooms OK. The decor has been allowed to run down and some would call it shabby. The hotel is the only one at the top of Glencoe and when we were there was full with walkers and climbers. It was friendly and full of atmosphere and there are a number of tame deer who wonder up to the front of the hotel.

They supplied the best pack lunch we had whilst walking the West Highland Way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
13.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
145 reviews
10.1 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
334 reviews
11.2 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,197 reviews
6.7 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
474 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Glencoe Inn
The Glencoe Inn
#7 of 11 in Glencoe Village
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings House Hotel

Property: Kings House Hotel
Address: Glencoe Village PH49 4HY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glencoe Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Glencoe Village
Kings House Hotel Glencoe, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing