We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place to stay in the area, but it's a good one”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glencoe Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kings House Hotel
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in the area, but it's a good one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

You don't get much choice around here - it's the only place to stay for miles around. Still, you don't get ripped off, and it's actually pretty enjoyable here after a long day of walking.

The decor is a bit 'ski-lodge', which might put some people off but which I rather liked. It looks its age in some places, and the shower is quite weak. Having said that, the bar is great and the food is also pretty handy.

Overall, you'll have a good time staying here, especially if you'd walked a wet 20 miles as we had just done! Avoid the disappointing cheesecake on the menu, and don't worry if the water out of the taps comes out yellow - it's drinkable and just tastes a bit funny.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali_tabari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    252
    128
    67
    33
See reviews for
95
260
63
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
193 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

While it is true that Kingshouse is showing its age a bit, it still is a way cool place to stay. On the West Highland Way, it is such a welcome site after the long day over Rannock Moor. Once you are settled (including doing a load of laundry!), the Hiker's Bar is the place to go. While the other bar/restaurant for guests is nice, it was much more interesting to hang out with the campers and other hikers in the Hiker's Bar while the rain and wind was howling outside. A great breakfast the next morning as well as the deer in the front completed my memorable stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timjstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very nice place in terms of a stay during a hiking trip with a couple of friends. We needed a shower, a meal that could exceed the average bar food level, and a couple of beers. I found myself injured a little and the staff helped me out with some pills, facilities and even a back-up public transport plan. Great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMrBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

And a very fine place to be, too. I stayed at Kings House for three nights in the autumn, and it was really terrific. The food left much to be desired, as did the decor, but the scenery was beyond spectacular. My room---warm, clean and comfortable---faced Buachaille Etive Mhor, and let me tell you, waking up to that view in the morning and going to sleep facing it at night (with the added benefit of seeing red deer foraging at 3 am) is not to be missed. I walked all the way to Glencoe village one day, up the Devil's Staircase another, and into Glen Etive and up the ski lift on the third, and had the best time. October weather was glorious, and no midges! If only the food had been better...

Room Tip: Ask for one facing west to a view of the Buachaille and the glen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurikKaradin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

You can see the kingshouse from about 2 miles away, its a very long 2 miles! The hotel itself is shabby but comfortable, good drying room... Food decent, Breakfast good, the bar was comfy and a welcome rest with a few beers after a long haul over Rannoch Moor, a 20 mile day for us. Staff friendly and helpful, thanks to the wee lady at breakfast who gets you seated and fed for the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The food is good and rooms OK. The decor has been allowed to run down and some would call it shabby. The hotel is the only one at the top of Glencoe and when we were there was full with walkers and climbers. It was friendly and full of atmosphere and there are a number of tame deer who wonder up to the front of the hotel.

They supplied the best pack lunch we had whilst walking the West Highland Way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I have visited the Kings House Hotel four times, including staying a week in 2011. We live near Edinburgh, so we also bring visitors to Scotland there for either overnight or a meal. Everyone has loved the ambiance and the location (super good for photographers). The staff have always been more than helpful - at the bar or at the check-in/out desk. We also enjoy the food there and during the week-long stay, we ate our breakfast and evening meal there every night. The guys really enjoyed the big-man full breakfasts and the Bambi burgers. There was also enough vegetarian choices for me. The first time we ever stayed overnight (back in 2007, I think), there were water and hot-water problems (couldn't take a bath), but if you consider the very remote location that is so much a part of the charm, you must understand that these things happen. The owners were doing all they could to rectify it. On other visits, there were not facilities problems. There was Wi-Fi when we visited last time and that was great, but I didn't go up there to surf the internet - I was there to relax and spend the evenings with a drink, chatting to friends and other residents, and gazing into the roaring fire!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
10.1 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
13.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
11.2 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
13.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Glencoe Inn
The Glencoe Inn
#7 of 13 in Glencoe Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings House Hotel

Property: Kings House Hotel
Address: Glencoe Village PH49 4HY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Glencoe Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Glencoe Village
Kings House Hotel Glencoe, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing