We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay in the highlands”
Review of Glencoe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glencoe House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencoe Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Lord Strathcona may be gone, however, you can still live like the Lord in his beautiful home in the Scottish Highlands thanks to the hospitality of Roger and his professional staff. The house and the surrounding highlands could not be more beautiful. Staying at Glencoe House was amazing as the suite we had encompassed nearly a full wing of the magnificent mansion. For a truly amazing getaway to the highlands, Glencoe House cannot be beat. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernest W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much here at Glencoe House. Our suites are extremely spacious so you do get that sense of living in a historic house. It also lets you put your feet in peace a quiet if you want... Your Highland getaway is waiting your return!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 384 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just came back from a short break at Glencoe House Hotel it was fantastic Roger Anne and team could not do enough for us the service you receive from these people is absolutely brilliant.
Breakfast is the best I have ever eaten in Scotland, once they have wi-fi and satellite tv in the rooms there will be no beating this Hotel the only unfortunate thing is that they don't serve evening meals which is such a shame because if the breakfast is anything to go on there meals would be fantastic too.
Thanks again Roger and Anne

Room Tip: We stayed in suite one which is great if you have dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieK254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you (and your dogs!) enjoyed your stay. As you may know we are currently installing wifi in all the suites and this will be completed by mid November 2013. Installing wifi has been more challenging and expensive than expected due to the age of the building and the 90cm thick granite walls! We are also seeking to respond to guest requests for evening meals. We have been testing out the popularity of 5 course in-suite dinners at a price of 40 pounds per person over a few weekends. The guest feedback has been very positive and as a result we are introducing our daily dinners served in the privacy of your own suite as of January 2014. This new menu will be in addition to the ever popular Seafood Platter we already offer. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

By far the most wonderful and luxurious accommodation I have ever enjoyed in Scotland. We stayed four nights and had a two bedroom suite, with wonderful views; spacious and beautifully appointed rooms, lovely toiletries, stunning bathroom, sumptuous breakfasts - everything has been thought of to make your stay a truly memorable one. A very warm welcome from Roger and Judith and the glass of champagne was a nice touch. They and their wonderful staff display true Scottish hospitality, and a genuine interest in your day to day doings. Will definitely return when we next visit Scotland. The house is set in an area of great natural beauty - wonderful walks, and to top it off, some good fishing too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaye06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are really glad that it was a memorable trip and that you enjoyed your stay here at Glencoe House so much. Your feedback on the service in particular means a lot to us as the team love meeting new people and we hope that it comes across! We hope to be able to welcome you back soon and the champagne is on ice!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Luxurious bedroom suite; you couldn't expect anything more. Large and beautifully furnished living room, bed room, and bathroom. Roger and staff provide great personalized service. Roger is knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfasts are fantastic and served at the dining table in your room. Service is perfect. It is a good base to see beautiful scenery and restaurants in the area were off-the-charts for seafood. Glencoe House is worth the money and a good value compared to a luxury hotel. You won't find anything like it in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob94010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for giving us this feedback. We are seeking to provide warm hospitality along with well appointed and luxurious accomodation so our guests can retreat from the everyday routine and the breakfast in at your own dining table is part of that! We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Difficult to add to what others have said . The enthusiasm of Roger and his staff is reflected in the accommodation and the service. Slightly dodgy directions to the little loch to the east of the hotel but even that resulted in an unexpected and special view of Loch Leven. A very special experience.

Room Tip: We had suite 4 which had great views of loch and countryside alike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterscottis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The feedback is really important to us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much with us. We are lucky to have spectacular views of Loch Leven and with the Scottish weather the view is always changing! We hope to be able to welcome you back to Glencoe House in the near future.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Judith and Roger are creating a highland gem of highland luxury. Seven luxurious suites with all the accouterments needed to create the illusion of Edwardian England with the reality of Twenty-First century internet service. Breakfast was a treat every day - in part because they offered wonderful kippers that I enjoy - especially if they are cooked on someone else's kitchen. When we wanted to take a day trip, Roger and Judith arranged a nice car and lovely driver (Peter) to take us to the spa and then Oban (where the chocolate factor is not to be missed).

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms seem to be the most decorative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for posting a review. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We completely understand your comments about the kippers - taste lovely but best cooked in someone else's kitchen..! We were very happy to organise a day trip for you so can have exactly the holiday you want. We hope to see you again at Glencoe House.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at Glencoe House with my husband and sons (13 & 9) for two nights recently and it was far and away the highlight of any accommodation on our recent trip to Scotland.
We received a warm welcome from Roger along with a glass of champagne which was a lovely touch. Our two bedroom suite was more than we could have expected. A huge main bedroom with a super king bed, expansive sitting / dining room, a twin room for the children, a stunning bathroom with two large tubs and walk in shower, luxury toiletries and high quality linens throughout.
Everything has been thought of, including a selection of spirits and wines, dvd's, books and magazines, coffee machine and tea station.
We enjoyed an in room dining experience that was exceptional with a chef preparing and delivering direct to our suite, a five course meal that was truly delicious.
The breakfast offering was also extensive and to enjoy it within your own suite was a real treat.
There are beautiful forest walks, great views, local attractions, and to stay at Glencoe House which is set in some of the most spectacular scenery Scotland has to offer, I can't imagine a better holiday.
We will definitely be back, but next time we will schedule a longer stay. 2 nights was not nearly long enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review and give us some feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. You obviously experienced our new in-suite 5 course dinner option which is currently on trial but your feedback encourages us to offer a daily menu, which feel it exceptional value for money for 40 pounds per person. We are waiting here with a glass of champagne to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
3.4 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
183 reviews
11 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
635 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
3 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
738 reviews
18.1 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencoe House

Address: Glencoe House, Glencoe Village PH49 4HT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencoe Village
Price Range: $515 - $1,207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glencoe House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glencoe House offers 5-star luxury suite accommodation in the heart of the Scottish Highlands. The hotel comprises thirteen generous private suites (from 75-148 sq. metres) and contains two distinctive concepts. Firstly, The Glencoe House Suites that are located in the mansion house and have a wealth of period features together with sea or mountain views. Secondly, The Bell Tower Suites which are located 50m from the mansion and are more modern in look and feel and garden views; all have private walled gardens with hot tubs. Regardless of your choice, Glencoe House offers elegant but relaxed and sumptuous suites, with the space and privacy to really kick your shoes off and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glencoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glencoe House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing