We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glencoe House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Loch Leven Hotel(North Ballachulish)
$220
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$344
$319
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Holly Tree Hotel(Kentallen)
$364
$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Caledonian Hotel(Fort William)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Clan Macduff Hotel(Fort William)
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Croit Anna Hotel(Fort William)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
377
12
6
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
12
6
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubglass of champagnebell towerdining tablehonesty barliving roomprivate terracethe main housebath bombsmaxi barroom barseafood platterthought of everythingsupermarket pricesmini barhuge suitepure luxury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 398 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed her for four days during January,2013 on our trip from Australia.
What can I say but "absolutely brilliant"? Our Suite was huge and incredibly luxurious with top quality Bedding and Aveda products in the bathroom. The Service from Roger, Anne, Connor and Staff was second to none. Breakfasts and Afternoon Teas were fantastic and so fresh. It was wonderful to be able to sit and have these meals in our own personal dining area with views to the Loch and Highlands. Just magical. Roger has fastidiously kept the restoration of Glencoe House in line with the period of the original build, whilst modernizing bathrooms etc to a very high standard. It is truly wonderful.
We found it very hard to leave. It was, by far, the best accommodation on our seven week trip, for both quality and service, and perhaps ever. We have not stopped talking about Glencoe House since we left. The long distance from Australia aside, we would love to return sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Let me begin by sending a personal thank you to our wonderful hosts, they made our stay the perfect start to our married life. I married the love of my life Carol in Kinlochleven village just seven miles from the picturesque setting of Glencoe House. Carol is a local girl and when we were planning our wedding we were delighted to hear of the restoration of the magnificent building that sits above Glencoe village. We knew that it was the only place to stay on the night we got married.
Nestled in historic woodland at the end of a private road, the stately home appears suddenly out of the forest as if part of the local landscape. We felt as if we were coming home as we let ourselves in to the grand hallway. The detail and authenticity was apparent from the minute we crossed the threshold and saw the original fireplace and a beautiful grand piano that takes pride of place in the main sitting room.
Our suite was on the ground floor at the foot of the ornate marble staircase that leads to the floors above. We, again, let ourselves in to the suite through our own private door and found ourselves in a hallway with a beautiful mirror, antique furniture and two doors leading off to the right and left. It was instantly the best welcome to any hotel we had stayed in and, as a matter of fact, the hallway was of a similar proportion to some of the hotel rooms we have booked in the past.
The sitting room was off to the right hand side and my new wife and i couldn't believe the size and luxury of the room. From the huge stone fireplace and the giant wood panelled window frames to the antique writing desk and the brass covered telescope Carol and I felt like aristocracy. We poured ourselves a drink from the well stocked bar (no 'mini' anything at Glencoe House) and settled down on one of the two large sofas to reflect on our perfect day.
The bedroom was magnificent. We had never seen a bed so large and so luxuriously made up with soft pillows and thick sheets and the most comfortable duvet.
The bathroom was a revelation. There is an original cast iron bath that my wife couldn't wait to try out, and enjoyed her long relaxing soak the next day. I thoroughly enjoyed the top of the range shower and we spent the second day in our suite making full use of all the amenities and the utter tranquility that the hotel's location afforded us.
We loved our stay at Glencoe House. It was genuinely the most enjoyable hotel experience we have ever had and we hope to return many times.
Thank you very much,
Mr and Mrs Connor

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I'm terrible at writing reviews, so I will keep this short and sweet. Our experience at Glencoe House was fabulous from start to finish. There is absolutely nothing at all to fault. The only low point was having to leave. As a female who was 'whisked' here for her birthday, I cannot encourage men enough to treat their partners/wives to a stay here. It is beyond luxurious and an experience I won't be forgetting any time soon. I'm already making plans to revisit next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 1. It was larger than our house. Says it all really.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoobzMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

A superb experience from start to finish, our stay at Glencoe House was a memorable one. Greeted on arrival by our welcoming and hospitable hosts then delicious afternoon tea beside a roaring log fire - what more could one wish for? Our room was luxurious and spacious with extras such as a drinks bar beyond comparison; Aveda toiletries and candelabra beside a huge freestanding bath overlooking the loch and Bose music system with music to suit all tastes. Dinner was of the same high standard: seafood platter laden with lobster, oysters, crab, prawns,cockles, mussels all cooked to perfection and a choice of fine wines to accompany. A vast range of choice for an excellent breakfast set us up for the next day and a leisurely walk round the nearby loch completed our memorable stay. We just wanted to stay on longer.....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marie445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

There’s a first time for everything and this is my first ever review on Trip Advisor, but also my first ever stay at Glencoe House, and one which I hope is the first of many.

Steeped in history, and with books which tell you about it, it has been carefully and thoughtfully restored in a way which feels like it does justice to the way it was originally designed. Not only was it excellent in terms of the quality and service, but it was also different to anywhere we have stayed before. It felt that the space was being used for the guests rather than for how many bedrooms they could get out of it.

Sitting grandly on a hill looking down the loch, you get a sense of excitement as soon as you emerge from the wooded drive. We were four siblings and their spouses having a weekend away in this fabulous place and we had the ground floor suites and the garden suite. Our arrival was in to the log fire warmed entrance hall, and an equally warm welcome, soon followed by tea, coffee, scones, cake and shortbread.

Our suite (no 2) - they don’t have rooms! - was superb, the former private rooms of Lord Strathcona, with views to the hills on one side and the sea on the other, another roaring log fire, and a great attention to detail throughout. It was a place you could seriously chill out. But as we were all together for a good catch up, we all decanted for pre-dinner drinks to the double suite, which had plenty room for us all round the fire and then round the dining table – all of these are in the rooms. Then came the food – superb local seafood platters of lobster, crab, langoustine, oysters, mussels, cockles, whelks and razor fish; delicious fresh bread; fine wine, a very interesting cheese board, all served in an unobtrusive way which made you feel the place was your own for the night – except you didn’t have to do anything other than enjoy. After coffee, yes … you guessed, it was back to the fire – this suite has a wood burning stove in it which chucks out the heat - and more crack with the relatives.

A great night’s sleep, and then breakfast of the same high standard – lots of choice by the way, followed by a walk up through the grounds to the lochan, nestling below the rocky hills above, with the first snow visible on the hills. All in all, a great place to retreat to – shame we only had one night. Well done Roger and team, and thanks very much.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews