We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glencoe Lochan

Glencoe Lochan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magnificent setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

What a stunning little place this is, so secluded and private with a great walking path around the lochan. Interesting history to this lovely part of the world and so romantic.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaggieAnn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    39
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwood Middlesex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A stunning and tranquil place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

A short walk from Glencoe House and a lovely 30-60 minute walk around it, it really is the most amazing place. On a still day the reflections in the water give superb photographic opportunities.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JonBrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lochan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very beautiful and peaceful walk. Easy walking and lake with ducks great. Within easy walking distance from the village.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank annev377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holybourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have travelled to or through Glen Coe and Glencoe village every year for 30 years and I have to confess I had never heard of Glencoe Lochan until I saw the brown tourist sign. Having a couple of hours to kill I decided to visit. It was early evening on a lovely Saturday in June.

There are numerous trails starting from the large car park and it is suitable for children in pushchairs and those with wheelchairs. This isn't my usual highland adventure as I prefer the high peaks but I was taken aback by the beauty of the place.

I was on foot having walked from the village (it is that close) and to the left of the approach road near Invercoe House are some large lily ponds - worth a visit in their own right. Moving up to the car park I took a left (clockwise route) through woods and came to a "surprise view" of Beinn a' Bheithir across Loch Leven. Moving on, this track is something of a rollercoaster but there is nothing difficult.

After a short while, the Lochan is approached and your breath is taken away. The first and probably most dramatic view of all is The pap of Glen Coe and its reflection in the mirror calm water. Photographers will go into overdrive here - with every turn is another compelling view or subject waiting to be shot. The level walk around the lochan is easy and relaxing and there is a large shelter at the car park end to escape a shower. Don't miss this gem.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Do not miss this gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

An easy walk from Glencoe village, the Lochan is an incredible place, especially if you're into photography. perfect reflections of the beautiful trees all around are just a treat in any season.

You can also spot various birds here.

Recommended!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank chaitdesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glencoe Lochan also viewed

Glencoe, Scottish Highlands
Glencoe Village, Glencoe
 
Glencoe Village, Glencoe
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Glencoe Lochan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing